We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really relaxing place”
Review of Rancho Sak-Ol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Sak-Ol
Ranked #5 of 20 Puerto Morelos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really relaxing place”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The staff here are really nice and helpful. They were very flexible in changing our booking when our travel plans unavoidably changed. The whole place is really quiet and low key - it just doesn't seem to attract the drunken party goer types! It is just couples who enjoy a bit of peace and quiet.The buffet breakfast is excellent and it has free bikes.

Puert Morelos itself is only half an hour from the airport so is very convenient. It is not however Isla Holbox. You can't walk into town on the beach as there is a big shipping container depot in the way, you have to go round it. Access to the sea for swimming by the hotel is not impossible but a bit difficult due to rocks but it is nice to walk on the beach. It was perfect for us for a couple of days prior to flying home and would be good as an initial crash out on flying into Cancun - if you had longer there are nicer places to go in Yucatan than Puerto Morelos. But Rancho Sakol itself is excellent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DRK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    64
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you prefer to enjoy nature and avoid tourist crowds this is the place where you want to be! It is a hidden place off the road, and sometime when it rains there is a water on road, so you have to drive bit carefully, just like any other road in Mexico. During our stay we saw the management pumping out the water, so it is not a problem. Regardless, it's an easy access, but still it was good that we came in during day light to check in where you can clearly see where you driving.
We have best sleeping experience with the sound of waves that hypnotized us immediately :) Breakfast is simple and delicious (even for vegans like us there was plenty of food),design of the room and building is beautiful it makes you don't want to leave.
The owners are very warm, good to talk to and they appreciate your privacy. The owner is a retired archeologist and he gave us very good tips for our visits of Mayan ruins.
It is A good place to start or end your trip through Mexico or just to stay there entire time. 5 minutes by car is Puerto Morellos center, a real Mexican town experience, great restaurants and souvenir shops. We loved it so much we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We chose the Junior Suite since it was the only available room at the moment, and it turned out to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksandarSRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you are looking to be "pampered", this is not the place for you. But it is a small pleasant place, with a lot of privacy. I found the breakfasts to be good, and the view of the pier did not bother me at all. True, it is not on a broad long clean beach, but that can be part of the charm. I would note two caveats: 1) The bathroom is separated from the bedroom only by a swinging half door (like in an old west saloon), so any privacy is purely symbolic. I would not want to share a room with anyone that I wasn't fully comfortable sharing bodily functions with. 2) If you are a light sleeper, you might want to request a room as far from the main building as possible. The owner keeps his two dogs chained behind the main building, and thus next to the living quarters, and you may hear an occasional bark during the night or early monring at, the owner told me, a passing raccoon or snake. I agree with Daniel J that a sign to the place on the main road would have been nice. The owner did seem to be a bit testy -- maybe the stress of the flooding?

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side border the small parking area; ask for a room inland to avoid the barking do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Frankly, I'm astounded that this place has such high reviews on TripAdvisor. Our stay (or rather, aborted stay) was one of the most humiliating, frustrating experiences I've ever had.

To begin with, not only is the hotel almost two kilometers from town, but there isn't even a sign on the main road to tell you to turn. The access road was partly flooded, and at the hotel entrance, the water was over a foot deep across the road.

Since we didn't want to ruin our car, we called the hotel to see if they could ferry us across. At first, they were merely dismissive, but then the owner got on the phone and told us that if other cars had gotten through the water, so could we. When I refused he finally consented, except he didn't listen when I told him we were at the entrance to the hotel and drove off in the opposite direction.

After waiting about ten minutes for the owner to return, we discovered the service entry and tried to get in that way. Since there were no warning signs, we heard the muffler scrape over some rocks and suddenly realized we were in the middle of the cabins.

Thankfully the car wasn't too damaged, but as we were checking in, I heard someone yelling outside. I went out to find the owner scolding the guy who had driven us for not using the official entrance. When I joined the conversation, he started to scold me for not telling him our exact location. When I pointed out that we didn't know the area, he only got angrier.

I was so disgusted that I demanded our deposit back, and we left. From the receptionist's reaction, I imagine this happens quite frequently.

The hotel itself isn't anything special. The rooms look pretty small, and there is a scum-filled fountain in the courtyard. Also forget about using their bikes to get to town, as the access road is in terrible condition. You are also surrounded by swamp, where crocodiles live, so don't let your children wander off too far.

I enjoy adventures, but being treated like scum by an arrogant hotel owner is not something I call fun. My advice: stay away!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed at the Rancho for just one night before an early morning flight out of Cancun, and enjoyed the short stay a lot. At first I was a little surprised that the place was a little further away from town than I had expected, but taxis are cheap and quick. The distance is also walkable but we had some issues due to flooding! The beach right out front of the property is beautiful, and if a beach is important to you then this is the place to stay in PM. Another plus is the great host who creates such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere that you just want to stay longer. After she heard that we would both be leaving early in the morning to catch a flight and wouldn't be able to have breakfast, we were offered some fruit and bread rolls the night before. This is the first time anybody has offered me a "breakfast to-go" when I was leaving early, so I was impressed. The rooms where nice and of the regular funky beach style, and clean. We were there during a cold spell and the room came equipped with warm blankets, another sign for a well-run B&B and a thoughtful host. I would love to come back here and stay for longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsaretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I don't know what the reviewers who wrote Terrible or Poor reviews. If you want a Five Star resort, book a Five Star resort. This is a small, funky place that I am going back to again next week. I thought it was wonderful. I thought the owners and staff were great. The rooms are spare but clean, the breakfast and coffee were very good. It did take me about five minutes to find it the first time and some of the surrounding real estate is not photogenic but once you get there, it is an oasis and comfortable. It is about a 15 minute walk to the town square. The beach is pretty but rocky, so I would not swim there. We did have fun walking up the beach about a mile.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent an amazing stay, very relaxing, all the staff is very nice and the owners are very welcoming and do everything to make your stay agreable.
The snorkeling is great, we enjoyed the hamocs on the terasse with see view, we loved the suspending bedplayed with the dogs, enjoyed the fresh orange juce and fruits at breakfast, went to town with the borowed bikes and enjoyed two restaurant in particular the merkadito del mar cevishe and playita for the fryed fresh fish.
A great place to relax ! Thank you very much Hilda and Valentin ! We wil come back !

Room Tip: 2nd floor is great with see view ! enven if no AC the ceiling fan do the job :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,688 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Sak-Ol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Sak-Ol

Property: Rancho Sak-Ol
Address: Manzana 01 Lote 03, Calle en Pryecto del Fundo Legal de Puerto Morelos | por avenida el CID, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Sak-Ol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho, a beach side B&B, is the perfect place to relax in a warm, tropical environment where you can stroll along the white sands and crystal waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a siesta in a hammock right on your patio, or bask under the sun in this tropical paradise. Located in an authentic Mexican fishing village, 25 min. south of Cancun airport makes it a very convenient gateway or home-base to explore the Mayan Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rancho Sak-Ol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Sak-Ol Hotel Puerto Morelos
Rancho Sak-Ol Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing