We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the town close to beach and everything”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a great spot. Nice hotel that is clean safe and in the town - hotel zone. I really don't like all inclusive hotels and prefer to be in the towns though this is more touristy that the main town near the highway. This place is close to everything you would need inthe town. Walk to restaurants and tours. Our big simple room had AC and was on the second floor looking over the pool. No fridge. Go to roof for vista of whole area. Small breakfast but ok. Small pool but clean. A few lounging chairs. Nice staff. Go a few steps to the north (left out the door) and between 2-4 get a really cheap and big margarita (they all speak English and you'll see the sign for happy hour).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Spent six nights in late December, including Christmas Eve and Day. I will definitely stay here again. The spotless rooms and the happy, friendly staff make this a keeper. Plus, the breakfasts available make this a very convenient location from which to begin your day. Not that there is a whole lot to do in Puerto Morelos, but this is centrally situated to City Centro, and the beach. About the only negative we found with Posada el Moro was the bar across the street, but we learned it is closing due to lack of business. This hotel should never lack for business, however. It is a great choice if you love things clean, simple and easy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeadedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My girlfriend, our dauther and I stayed at this beautiful clean hotel in Dec 2011. We were on the 3 rd floor in room 36. WE didn t want our 9 month old baby waking up other guess. WE ended up to be awaken for a good part of the night by dogs and a rooster from the area while my dauther kept quite... .Apparently it is a common thing near the city square...oh well.
Friendly staff, breakfeast was serve early so we could start our adventures. Excellent snorkling close by, and a great book store at the city square and relax coffee shop to chill.
Beautiful small swimming pool and a nice mini library in the main living room at Posada EL Moro.
Average price .

Room Tip: Be nice on you....do not take a room on the street side, too noisy.Apparently on the first floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poirierstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent a week here in October. Great place run by Miguel and his staff who are friendly and very responsive. The room was very clean and pleasant. The hotel is close to everything in town and only a block from the beach. The town has a number of very good restaurants. Minor problem with the roosters next door waking us up in the morning. We used the hotel as a base for visiting Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and the other Maya Riviera sights. This place needs to remain our secret, don't tell anyone about it. ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Secutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have stayed here several times and always had a perfect experiance. Miguel and staff are very friendly and helpful. The security is excellent. Location is right. very inexpensive. We are going back again in Dec. They recently added a roof-top palapa with excellent views and nice breezes.
Don't tell anybody,,,its a perfect hideaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderingOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Clean, attractive, well maintained, friendly and helpful staff, inexpensive, great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drorul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Very nice hotel in this little town. Clean rooms, good AC, TV, small pool and a very friendly staff!

The hotel is close to the beach (one block away), main square, dive shops, restaurants, etc.

Negative: poor breakfast, more european (fruit and bread only), not the classic mexican breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#18 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#26 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £68 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing