We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend staying here”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The staff were very friendly and the rooms were spatious and spotless. We had a lovely breakfast every morning and the hotel is superbly located. Highly recommend snorkelling off the coast of Puerto Morelos, lots of turtles to see. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snakeyb4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Snakeyb4me:
Indeed there are plenty of opportunities to experience nature around Puerto Morelos and the Riviera Maya. From great snorkelling on the national Reef Park, to cenotes, botanical garden, Crococun (crocodile zoo) and the Mayan ruins of Coba, Tulum and Chichenitza, you can enjoy adventurous and exciting vacations.
Thanks you for your preference and for let us be part of your nice vacations.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Hptel Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed in two rooms at this hotel, one on the ground level in the front building and one on the third floor of the back building (both Junior Suites). The first was next to a walkway and the pool and didn't feel that private; we also worried about security. The room itself seemed a bit old and could use some freshening up. The second room was much nicer; more airy with lots of light since it was on a corner. There is a lot of effort put into room decor, but this doesn't extend to the bathrooms, which seem to be an afterthought. They are tiny and cramped and could really use some updating; they look nothing like the pictures on the website.
The manager and his nephew were great; very friendly and accommodating. The nephew even stayed overnight to make sure we woke up for our 4 am taxi to the airport. The restaurant staff were also very pleasant (there is a simple breakfast included).
This hotel really deserves 3 1/2 stars and with better bathrooms they could go even higher.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCJuicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear MCjuicy:
Thanks for your kind words for our staff in Posada El Moro. Miguel, Josue (who helped you in the morning) Vicky and every single employee are the best asset in our organisation.
Although we planned for full comfort in our rooms, we realised after their construction, that our bathrooms need extra space. The good news is that we will have a second chance to learn from the experience and in our next rooms, which will be in construction next year, here we will incorporate more spacious bathrooms and keep the same friendly staff.
Thanks for your comments and your time to write them.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

this place is a true gem and I almost don't want to review it to keep this place to myself...too late..this is the place everyone stays and keeps coming back.you don't have to know a thing about Puerto Morelos, just get here and the other guests will tell you everything you need to know..or go in to the dive shops and make friends with the owners and they will help you out..even if you don't dive,rent your snorkel gear or a bike from one of them. my husband and I rented a master suite and it was still soooooo very affordable.if you don't need or want a kitchenette..you can get by with a junior suite or a basic room. The food is affordable here and a continental breakfast is included in your nights stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank only works to travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear only works to travel:
We all at Hotel Posada El Moro feel good when our guests are satisfied with their stay with us and even better when you indeed come back year after year to visit us.
Thanks a lot for your comments and the time to do them.
Hope to see you soon in Puerto Morelos again,
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I had always wanted to stay in this hotel which is very central to the town square , and is a well kept sort of landmark hotel near the town square - which is where the action is so to speak
Often though i come at peak times so I am not able to arrange this within my budget
This time I was able to swing a couple of days before the real annual seasonal peak worked in.
Highly recommended.. Nice room , nice staff - friendly and helpful. The room was more upscale than i normally get.
I must admit its a lot nicer and more convenient being near the action than being in the boonies and walking back and forth many times a day.
There was also one thing that kept me from staying at the hotel previously and also limiting my stay. It was the reputation of the famous rooster who crowed at all all hours - especially in the middle of the night ( as opposed to only daybreak) waking up guests.
Apparently the rooster has flown the coop - he is nowhere to be seen .
I had no interrupted sleep or sleepless nights from this infamous character.
Its very nice to be located more conveniently near the Puerto Morelos town square with all its activity and personalities.

Room Tip: depends time of season you stay some staff very good English
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Frank Dowling:
I am glad that you had finally the chance to stay with us. The tile of your review gave me some concern, but then a good reason to laugh. Thanks. Although we tried, we could not get rid of the rooster. We talk to our owners, offer to buy the it, or send him to a nice farm where he could enjoy being a rooster. Finally, we had to buy the property from my neighbours and then rid of the singing bird. We are rooster free for the time being, but do not be surprise if another one appear somewhere close to the hotel. That is part of being in an authentic Mexican town.
We hope that you have time to come and visit us again. If so please make your reservation via our web page to be sure that we can offer you a room and to take advantage of our weekly discounts and season offers.
Thanks for your review and for the time to write it.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We travel to P.M. several times each year and have watched Posada el Moro grow and become a real "Must Do" place to stay. The ambiance is perfect,the staff is very friendly and accommodating and always have smiles on their faces. The recently added rooftop palapa has wonderful views of the ocean and is always breezy and cool.
Keep up the great job,Miguel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Wandering OG:
Thanks you for your continue support and nice review. As you may remember, we started business with six rooms then we added another 4 and then 8 more to our current 18 rooms. Our continue growth as been thanks to our great customers like you, that reciprocate with their preference our best effort to offer a quality service. Based on that, the growth continues!! We recently acquired the property next door to increase our service capabilities keeping of course the same friendly, clean, comfortable and personal service to our great customers.
We all hope to see you in Puerto Morelos and again in Posada El Moro as it has been in the last 5 years.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Posada el Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. This is my home away from home. The staff is very friendly and do everything possible to make your stay memorable. This the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The maids come in every day and clean it from top to bottom. The food is excellent and modestly priced.

Sue in Livonia Michigan

Room Tip: There are no rooms that are not great. You can choose a room with or without A.C. Some rooms have mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Suzan C:
Thanks you so much for staying with us and for considering Posada El Moro your home in Mexico. We hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

After yearly day trips to Puerto Morelos we decided to stay overnight for 2 nights at the end of our trip. I wanted a small hotel to match the charm of Puerto Morelos. Well I found it at Posada el Moro. A warm welcome awaited us. We were early so we left our bags with the front desk without hesitation and relaxed at the nearby beach. When we enter our rooms they exceeded our expectations. Clean,nicely decorated, and lots of natural air flow. We were on the second floor of the front building overlooking the pool and garden. Nice outdoor seating area to enjoy a beverage, play cards or read a book. The continental breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, coffee and toast is a nice start to the day. All of the staff was extremely welcoming and friendly. You can't beat the location. A pleasant and quick walk to the main square and beach, as well there are quaint places to eat or have a drink right outside the hotel doors.
I would and will stay here again without hesitation.
Thank you Posada el Moro. Your hotel represents Puerto Morelos very well .

Room Tip: Front building facing the garden/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebelsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear RebelsFan,
Thank you so much for staying with us. It is reviews like yours that make us love what we do and we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write it. We're glad you found Puerto Morelos as charming as we know it to be. We hope to see you again at Posada El Moro.

Sincerely,
Gloria Morelos
Posada El Moro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#23 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
902 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
9,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £67 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing