We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast waiter in town!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast waiter in town!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Good rooms, very clean and tidy, get any agreement about length of stay etc in writing to avoid any confusion...
Some rooms have cooking facilities others just a fridge - a few meals cooked "at home" more than makes up for the extra expense if you're staying a few days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blusea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear blusea3:
We all at Hotel Posada El Moro thanks you for help us with your review, observations and for staying with us. Although we have seldom complains about confusion with reservations and agreements of staying, we are sorry that you are one of them. I hope that you had a good vacation despite this incident. We are working on a new web page that will include on-line reservation and payments that will help us avoid these problems. It will be launched in August of this year.
Thanks for point out that we have rooms of different dimensions and services. Indeed master suites have fully equipped kitchen and dining room so that people can stay comfortable for longer periods and cook their own dishes.
Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again at Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    106
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
159
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and my adult son and I have stayed in several condos in Puerto Morelos. This year we wanted to be closer to the square so we chose Posada el Moro after talking to several who have stayed there. We arrived on January 21, 2014 and intended to stay a month. After five days, I received a call that my brother had a heart attack and passed away. We had some difficulty arranging a flight back to the states as most spoke Spanish and we are not fluent in the language. Don Miguel helped us arrange a flight home. Totally unexpected was that he also refunded much of the unused time of our stay.

This is the standard for the rest of the staff, always friendly,diligent, and efficient from the maids and grounds keepers to the cook and wait staff. They understand what keeps people coming back to this little bit of paradise. Physically the hotel is beautiful in the courtyard with all the trees and plants. The rooms are large enough to be comfortable (we stayed in a master suite) and amenities, a/c, wi-fi, hot showers, refrigerator and cooking area added to our stay.

I am sorry we didn't get to stay longer, but you can bet the next time we are in Puerto Morelos we will be booking the Posada el Moro.

Room Tip: Get a master suite if you plan to stay more than a week, we enjoyed cooking fresh fish and lobster f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear bill w:
We all at Posada El Moro thanks you for your time to write this nice review of our services. We also feel sorry for your lost. Hopefully we can see you again in Puerto Morelos and Posada El Moro in a better time. Miguel and his great staff will be happy to see you again.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My friend and I traveled to Puerto Morales in March 2013 and stayed at Posado el Moro for just over on week. We found our room spacious with enough room for a sofa, galley type kitchen, dining area, two large beds and dresser, large closet, sink and bathroom as well as a deck. The breakfast served each morning was plentiful and included fresh fruit. The location of this hotel is great with restaurants on either side as well as across the street. We only had a couple of blocks to the beautiful beach and the town square was only a block away. At the town square you could find taxi service and bus service as well as entertainment and a weekly market day. While we were in PM there was also a "garage sale" held in the market square with proceeds going to a school...
The hotel did have a few issues, however nothing that would stop me from returning. I'm a relaxed traveler so the music from the bar and restaurant next door until 11pm just added to the great atmosphere. The trouble with the toilet flushing properly reminded me that I wasn't at home or at work - Thank Goodness! The one small problem that was a tad concerning was the door lock...we did wonder if it actually worked, however we also knew that the hotel staff were around.
The hotel grounds are lovely, the stairway fabulous and common balcony area calming and cool.

Room Tip: We had a top level room with balcony at the front so could sit and look out over the street (great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyKettle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear HeyKettle01:

Thanks you for your review and glad to hear that you had a good experience during your vacation in Puerto Morelos. Thanks also for letting us know about the areas in which we need to improve. Be assured that we take action on all complains and suggestions so that we improve our service.

At Hotel Posada El Moro our main concern is that our guests spend their vacation days with us in an atmosphere of comfort, cleanness and most of all safety. This year we have made some improvements in that area. Now all rooms have safety box big enough so that our visitors can store a Lap top and all their valuable belongings. We installed safety locks inside the doors and check that all of standard locks function properly. We have constant vigilance around our open spaces (e.g., garden, corridors).

Thanks again for your review, input and hope to see you again in Posada El Moro and Puerto Morelos.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at Posada el Moro the past 2 times we have been to Mexico, and we will continue to do so on our future trips. The hotel is beautiful and clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious and cool, and the location is great. Also, the pool is clean and clear, not always true in Mexico. It's close to everything and a short walk to the swimming beach or to the pier where the snorkel and fishing tours take off. It's also close to all the restaurants and bars. In the past they used to have a more breakfast options for purchase, but on our most recent trip we were only offered coffee, fruit and toast which we were perfectly happy with. The hotel is a great value for the excellent rooms and the location. The only negative is that booking is tricky and it can be difficult to get confirmation from the owner that you have your reservation. Keep emailing until you get a response and print everything and bring it with you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Megerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Megerl:
We all at Posada El Moro thank you for your review and continues visits. We feel satisfied when we see that our clients have a well deserved rest and nice experience during their vacation and that we are part of it. In the coming weeks our new web page will have the opportunity to do your reservation and payments on line. As well we hope that you can check in your next visit our recently opened restaurant that has a whole menu of breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Again thanks for your time writing this review and we all will be happy to see you at Posada El Moro again.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

posada el moro is a wonderful hotel. it's not new, fancy, luxurious or all inclusive. it's not for someone who wants to stay within the hotel grounds and eat at a buffet for two weeks. el moro is right in the center of everything.....one block from the plaza and the beach, and within walking distance of absolutely everything. my husband and i hate a master room with two queen beds, an amazing shower with very hot water (a luxury), a complete kitchen, a futon and the best air conditioner we've ever had in any hotel, no matter the price. a continental breakfast is included and the staff couldn't be more attentive or helpful. mexican hospitality is beyond description....every single person i encountered said "buenos dias" with a big smile and if i needed directions or i had a question there was such a feeling of warmth and generosity. the food in puerto morelos is delicious....Tacos.com, La Terraza, El Sabor de Mexico, Chiles, La Pirata, La Panaderia.....excellent and reasonably priced. If you want to take spanish lessons, then Puerto Morelos is the perfect place. Go to the SpanishLanguageCenter and ask for Marilu or Victor. We are already planning another trip in August and will definitely stay at Posada El Moro......thank you Don Miguel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear foxeym:

Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel! Nothing makes us happier than hearing we helped make somebody's stay in Mexico a little bit more special. We try very hard to keep our small town feel whilst still maintaining a high standard of quality and service.

As you mentioned, we are lucky enough to have amazing staff and we will pass on your kind words to them.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Gloria Morelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Located very centrally in Puerto Morelos beside restaurents and near the beach. The rooms (we had a junior suite) were fine, best shower we had in Mexico! There were mosquitos in the room the first night but we bought Raid and that didnt happen again! Breakfast was fine though a little dull if you are there for long. The courtyard and pool were nice and there is a great palapa on the roof where a yoga class is held a couple of times a week (with the excellent Julia as teacher, well worth it).
The only downside was that it was the least friendly small hotel we have stayed in Mexico. It wasnt unfriendly or anything just not at the same very high standard of the other places we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level which was fine unless some guests dont respect noise levels at night or...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DerryNike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DerryNike:
Thanks for your review and your staying with us during your vacation. Mosquitoes are a fact of life in this tropical environment. Although we do our best to keep them away from our premises, some find their way to our rooms. We are glad that you find a way to get rid of them in your room. At your request, our service staff are also ready to help in any way to assure your comfort and satisfaction. We hope that you visit us again to try our new restaurant.
Thanks again from all of us at Hotel Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We came upon room availabity by accident during high occupancy period over NY holiday. El Morro is well managed, clean and reasonably priced nice place in quaint fishing village Puerto Morelos. Despite the fact that all inclusive places are popping up in the neighbourhood of the village like there is no tomorrow, they are missing laid back feel of the centre of the village where time stands still, you will be treated with trustworthiness and friendliness of the hotel staff managed by Senor Miguel Angel Garcia Rosas and his wife, as well as town merchants and restaurants satisfying simple needs in life. My wife, my daughter and I were impressed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Milan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Milan V:
Thanks for your time to write this review and for let us be of service during your staying in the hotel Posada El Moro. We are happy when our guests have a nice experience during their vacation and when we are part of it. We hope to see you and your family back in Puerto Morelos and at the hotel Posada El Moro.
Sincerely,
Alejandro Morelos
Hotel Posada El Moro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Property: Hotel el Moro
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing