We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back!”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I stayed at Posada el Moro for four nights in Jan 2010. I had room 1, ground floor just past the office. The room was large an comforable, with tv, ac, and refrig. Location plus was that wifi was available in the room - mostly it is just available in the lobby and breakfast room. Downside was a bit of noise from passersby. It was$75 per night, and easy to reserve via email. Breakfast was fresh fruit, juice, coffee, cereal, yoghurt and toast. (included in the price). This is the type of place where you strike up conversations with perfect strangers, which was great for me as a solo traveler. It is very convenient to a nice beach and a number of restaurants. I saw both young families and several baby boomer couples. The only negatives were a bit of noise and once the water died. I found that more than balanced out by the nice room, and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubysuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hotel el Moro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

This place is just nice. It's clean and the rooms are spacious. Our room had a mini fridge which was really helpful. The location is also great - just one block off the main plaza. Everything is in walking distance. The bed wasn't that comfortable but not many are in the places we stayed! For the price it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laewagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I look forward with pleasure to returning to Posada el Moro for the month of February 2010. I have been a guest there numerous times, both winter and summer, and have no wish to explore other hotels in the area. This is the best! The staff are regulars, kind, courteous, and always helpful. Make your arrangements with Miguel, the manager, by e-mail and all will be ready for you on your arrival. The rooms are spacious and clean, all the outdoor areas are beautiful and well kept, with lots of lounging areas inside and outdoors. A good breakfast is provided, with hot coffee early in the morning! And the hotel is convenient to the beach and the town square. This is my Mexican home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank laurierippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed here a few days before Christmas. The first room we were given hadn't been cleaned and there were still dirty towels on the bed!?
The second, more expensive room, was quiet attractive and spacious. All set, right?
Sure, until the latin dance party started next door. There was blasting music until past 2 am. The music was so loud, there was no sleeping to be had. It was as if we were at the party.
There wasn't any hot water, either.

The upshot - a nice breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We loved this place and this town. For those that are bored with the resort-scene. The hotel is basic but very comfortable. All is within walking distance: the beach , many great restaurants, shopping and a great mexican experience. The owner, Miguel, speaks English fluently and is ready to help with any aspect of your vacation. We also met some interesting guests at the hotel that might not have happened at the larger resorts. The hotel staff was wonderful. Miguel and staff are the selling point here. The hotel and the small town are very low-key and my experience was the perfect relaxing get-away. I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaches102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Unlike some busy resorts on the Yukatan, Puerto Morelos is a quite, sleepy little village, a perfect place to relax and get away. And the perfect spot in Puerto Morelos to kick back and escape is Posada El Moro. We celebrated our 40th Anniversary there, a time of late night Caribbean swims, afternoon snorkeling, long walks and short, side trips to the exquisite cenotes and ruins, shopping, dining, and peace. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cenotehombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My girlfriend's brother got married over at Excellence Cancun Riviera--super fancy pants stuff. However, we didn't want to pay the $450 or so per night (even if it was inclusive). My sister stayed at Posada el Moro 6 months earlier, and gave it the green light.

We payed about $55 or $60 per night, and Miguel put us up in a king bed w/ Fully functioning A/C on the top floor, which was extra quiet. Miguel was SO nice. Perfectly accomodating, and very friendly. Our room and bed was cleaned daily, and Miguel was helpful in answering our questions about the area. Our room was colorful, and clean, and the bed was comfy. I have not a single qualm about the room.

The location is right there in the central part of Puerto Morelos, 2 minute walk to the beach, along w/ some very nice and funky restaurants.

One thing to note is if you're driving down from cancun or the airport, there is no traffic light to turn into Puerto Morelos. The whole highway is under construction, so it was pretty easy to just take the "Retorno" (U Turn), and then a right down the road leading to Puerto Morelos. A quick left at the end of the road, and you'll see it on the left-hand side just a little ways down.

I really liked what I saw of Puerto Morelos in general, and was very pleased with the exceptional care Miguel gave us. I noticed as we were leaving that he was welcoming some returning customers--from France, whom he greeted warmly.

If I'm ever down in that part of Mexico again, I will make sure to stay at Posada el Moro. You can't beat it for the price...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BklynCellarDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#23 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
887 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,945 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £66 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing