We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, cosy with mexican style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“clean, cosy with mexican style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Very friendly place, rooms are clean, mexican style, bathroom was clean, we were staying on the 2nd floor, it was quite and safe.
We arrived by bus and taxi, you can take a bus from Cancun Airport to Puerto Morelos, and it is only 2km to the village. Taxi is cheap and it is worth of taking a taxi.
The Posada El Moro is 100 m from the main square of Perto Morelos, very nice and cheap resteurants with local cusine, the beach is 5 minutes walking, if you want to stay it typical friendly place it is good choice

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    106
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
159
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed for 5 nights and had a Junior suite on the 3rd floor front of the building.Since I am older with health problems , a downstairs room will be better for me on my next trip. The view of the sea and reef were great.Could be a bit noisy in high season, but really nice place. Our room had 2 queen beds and a great kitchen fully equipped., tv AC and lovely bathroom with LOTS of hot water.The hotel was busy ,but there was still plenty of hot water, which sometimes can be hard to find in Mexico. Miguel and his wife are really helpful with any thing you need.Great value for money, will be staying there again at some time in the future.So go to Posada el Moro and Puerto Morelos, this is my 3rd visit in 2 yrs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I travelled to Mexico solo this time and decided that Puerto Morelos would be a good place to stay for a few days as I wasn't keen on the hustle and bustle of Cancun or Playa Del Carmen. It turned out to be a good base for tours with quite a few attractions of its own such as the Botanical Garden, the reef (Meso-American barrier reef is the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world) and a with a good selection of restaurants too. The zoo I found to be a little too expensive though.
Found Posada el Moro in a guidebook and was curious to see if it would live up to its good write up. El Moro refers to the Stone Crab which is native to this part of the world. I stayed in one of the cheaper rooms with fan (can't stand aircon anyway) which fell neatly within my budget after a little bargaining. I was very happy with my stay here. Miguel (who runs the place) and his daughter always found time for a friendly smile and a hello or a quick chat when I walked by. This also goes for the rest of the staff (they were all very friendly) and it felt like a home away from home to some extent.
The rooms were cleaned daily. Mine was spacious and airy with plenty of space for hanging clothing. A good size balcony and small swimming pool downstairs, though being that close to the beach the sea was far more inviting. The breakfast was not too bad for being included with the price. It is simple fayre consisting of toast (with a choice of spreads), sliced fruit and coffee/ juice. In the Mexican heat this is pretty much all you need to start the day in my opinion. Next time I come back to Puerto Morelos I will definitely bring my girlfriend however as it is a good place for couples. Would definitely come back here as Miguel was friendly, his English was excellent and my stay at Posada el Moro was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globalnomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Loved the location and the room was nice and clean. Had to send a few emails to get a response about reserving it but it was all ok. Owner moved his car so we could park ours (the town was packed for a fishing comp), which was much appreciated. Our one gripe was with the girl who served breakfast. She made it quite clear that she didn't want to be there, banging plates and pretty much grunting at our 'gracias'es. Minor quibbles were the fact that the wifi wasn't free (the only hotel in mexico we stayed at where this was the case) and that the breakfast was melon and toast (although the price of the hotel is cheap enough to mean that this is not really an issue).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiffslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights here, before moving down the beach a bit to another location. We found the place to be a great spot to get to know the town and get ourselves oriented for our day trips to Mayan ruins etc. The rooms were clean, and we lacked for nothing. Of course, its not a Four Seasons, so expectations need to be adjusted. But for us, it was a perfect Mexican stay.

The morning breakfast on the patio was very nice, with a warm, morning sun shining....... bring a book. Enjoy a light breakfast with some coffee and juice before starting out. The location is perfect if you're just spending time in the town, close to everything, with the beach only 3 minute walk away. If we had only planned to stay in the town, we'd have never needed a rental car.

And finally, the town/village of Puerto Morelos was absolutely a great experience. Places like these reaffirm my belief that money does not equate to happiness or contentment. Quite evidently a poor town, but the people were happy. Kids playing everywhere, most with no shoes. Dogs wandering around. Families with kids playing in the town square.
We never once felt threatened. The beach was amazing, the food and small bars were very welcoming. Get the whole fish, cooked on the beach from the guy with the crazy hair. I think his name was Antoni. I think it was 80 pesos for one meal, plus he ran to the store and bought us a large beer to share with him. He also pushes the snorkeling trips, which we didn't do. There's also a small kitchen selling cooked chickens, right behind the 7/11 in the town, on the corner. Run by a group of ladies. Great chicken, and reasonable. We also shopped in local markets and small grocery stores. All safe, and wonderful experiences.

We'll be back for sure.........

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JoefromStCatharines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
215 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Posada el Moro is conveniently located 1 short block from the town plaza and 2 short blocks from the beach. It has about 30 rooms. It does not have a parking lot, but we never had a problem finding parking on the street.

Our room had a queen bed and a futon that folded out into a double bed. It had a sink, toilet and shower. Storage was ample as there was a dresser, and a nook with a luggage rack, a clothes rod with hangers, and several large shelves. It had a/c and a balcony w/ table and chairs. We did have to climb 3 flights of stairs to get to our room, so if you have accessibility issues, you should ask for a room on the ground floor. Just one more flight of stairs took you to the roof where you could get some beautiful sunrise pictures of the beach, the lagoon, the new lighthouse, and the town.

The free continental breakfast was a large plate of fresh fruit, coffee or juice (about three fresh squeezed/made juices were available each morning such as orange, papaya, melon, and watermelon), and toast with butter and homemade jam. You could also order a full breakfast such as an omelette, very good French toast, or pancakes, for a reasonable fee. The restaurant was also open for lunch and I believe dinner, but we only ate there for breakfast.

The courtyard and pool were very inviting and out of all the places we stayed, I think our kids liked the pool there the best. Manuel, the manager, speaks very good English and is always available.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

We were only here for one night as we were on our way further south along the coast. It was a great value in a great location (if one does not need to be right on the beach). We opted for no a/c and were very comfortable in January. Although we stayed in a standard double room, we peeked into one of the rooms with kitchen facilities, and these would be marvelous for a longer stay. There was an adequate continental breakfast included, so what else could one ask for? If we are back in the area, we'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juliest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Property: Hotel el Moro
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing