We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, clean and beautiful pool/garden areas.”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
nanoose bay, bc
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quaint, clean and beautiful pool/garden areas.”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Four of us stayed in 2 seperate rooms on the top floor of this little hotel in town. Both rooms were very clean, and really cute. Very traditional in their style. It was just around the corner from the zocolo, but was very quiet at night. The small but beautiful pool/garden area was a nice surprise, and even though we were only there for one night, we made sure to have a quick dip and enjoy the advantage. They served a light continental breakfast included in the rate. We would definately recommend this hotel, and will use it again if needed ourselves. One note.... the stairs up to the above ground floors are steep. It was not that easy to haul all our luggage up and down.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    107
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
51
159
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Miguel and staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a fruit lovers dream. Rooms are airy and bright, and your only a block or so from the pier and beach. Snorkeling out on the reef is great with rays, barracuda, turtles and fish galore.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We just returned from a short stay in PM and was very pleased to have stayed with Miguel at his wonderful little Hotel. Ed from Cantina Habanero suggested we try it
because it was very well maintained and close by.
Posada el Moro was far better than I expected.The staff was very friendly and a continental breakfast was included.The coffee was excellant .We stayed in the new wing and had a patio level room. There was a table and chairs
right outside of the door,perfect for enjoying our coffee in the morning.
On a couple occasions we used the small pool and hammocks.
The garden-like setting was very quiet and restful.
The location is another draw, 200 feet from the town square.In the opposite direction
is my favorite cantina in all of Mexico. Win-Win.....we will definately be back OG.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Very friendly place, rooms are clean, mexican style, bathroom was clean, we were staying on the 2nd floor, it was quite and safe.
We arrived by bus and taxi, you can take a bus from Cancun Airport to Puerto Morelos, and it is only 2km to the village. Taxi is cheap and it is worth of taking a taxi.
The Posada El Moro is 100 m from the main square of Perto Morelos, very nice and cheap resteurants with local cusine, the beach is 5 minutes walking, if you want to stay it typical friendly place it is good choice

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed for 5 nights and had a Junior suite on the 3rd floor front of the building.Since I am older with health problems , a downstairs room will be better for me on my next trip. The view of the sea and reef were great.Could be a bit noisy in high season, but really nice place. Our room had 2 queen beds and a great kitchen fully equipped., tv AC and lovely bathroom with LOTS of hot water.The hotel was busy ,but there was still plenty of hot water, which sometimes can be hard to find in Mexico. Miguel and his wife are really helpful with any thing you need.Great value for money, will be staying there again at some time in the future.So go to Posada el Moro and Puerto Morelos, this is my 3rd visit in 2 yrs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I travelled to Mexico solo this time and decided that Puerto Morelos would be a good place to stay for a few days as I wasn't keen on the hustle and bustle of Cancun or Playa Del Carmen. It turned out to be a good base for tours with quite a few attractions of its own such as the Botanical Garden, the reef (Meso-American barrier reef is the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world) and a with a good selection of restaurants too. The zoo I found to be a little too expensive though.
Found Posada el Moro in a guidebook and was curious to see if it would live up to its good write up. El Moro refers to the Stone Crab which is native to this part of the world. I stayed in one of the cheaper rooms with fan (can't stand aircon anyway) which fell neatly within my budget after a little bargaining. I was very happy with my stay here. Miguel (who runs the place) and his daughter always found time for a friendly smile and a hello or a quick chat when I walked by. This also goes for the rest of the staff (they were all very friendly) and it felt like a home away from home to some extent.
The rooms were cleaned daily. Mine was spacious and airy with plenty of space for hanging clothing. A good size balcony and small swimming pool downstairs, though being that close to the beach the sea was far more inviting. The breakfast was not too bad for being included with the price. It is simple fayre consisting of toast (with a choice of spreads), sliced fruit and coffee/ juice. In the Mexican heat this is pretty much all you need to start the day in my opinion. Next time I come back to Puerto Morelos I will definitely bring my girlfriend however as it is a good place for couples. Would definitely come back here as Miguel was friendly, his English was excellent and my stay at Posada el Moro was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globalnomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Loved the location and the room was nice and clean. Had to send a few emails to get a response about reserving it but it was all ok. Owner moved his car so we could park ours (the town was packed for a fishing comp), which was much appreciated. Our one gripe was with the girl who served breakfast. She made it quite clear that she didn't want to be there, banging plates and pretty much grunting at our 'gracias'es. Minor quibbles were the fact that the wifi wasn't free (the only hotel in mexico we stayed at where this was the case) and that the breakfast was melon and toast (although the price of the hotel is cheap enough to mean that this is not really an issue).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiffslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
387 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,540 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,870 reviews
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#18 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Property: Hotel el Moro
Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing