We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best small hotel we have ever stayed at in Mexico - in the best village.”
Review of Hotel el Moro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Moro
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We decided to check out Puerto Morelos on a tip from a colleague, and I found this hotel on TripAdvisor.com. Last year we spent time in Tulum (the village) and loved it, and were wondering how this place would hold up.

First of all, we LOVED Puerto Morelos. It's so laid back, non-touristy (in comparison with other places) and the beaches were amazing. The restaurants were amazing, the square was alive with a festival of some kind (live music!) and the people were all so kind.

Second of all, we were so incredibly thrilled with this hotel. It's location is awesome (a block from the beach, a few steps from the town square), it's super clean, has an awesome little restaurant (and fantastic simple breakfast included), the staff are all so nice and helpful - I couldn't believe our luck. The room was beautiful - so clean and bright, high ceilings, a closet for your stuff plus a futon - i was just blown away. the pool/garden area was just gorgeous and we felt so lucky to have found it.

The bed was a bit small but we didn't mind. The only, ONLY downside was barking dogs, but not much they can do about that. We had a room with a fan so we had the windows open to get the nice fresh air, so we just shut the window and turned up the fan.

The dive shop adjacent was also fantastic and Ramona was really helpful. it was nice to rent bikes (which were well maintained) and cruise around - be sure to check out the boardwalk (ask Ramona!) We did a snorkel trip with them as well, Manuel was a great guide. Loved every second of this hotel and Puerto Morelos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InteriorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

We found a treasure just outside of Cancun, called Puerto Morelos, and stayed at a cute boutique hotel,called Posada el Morro, just off the square. It was clean, nicely decorated, had a beautiful garden and small pool.
Debbie and Dave
North Vancouver,
Canada

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D-squaredU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Four of us stayed in 2 seperate rooms on the top floor of this little hotel in town. Both rooms were very clean, and really cute. Very traditional in their style. It was just around the corner from the zocolo, but was very quiet at night. The small but beautiful pool/garden area was a nice surprise, and even though we were only there for one night, we made sure to have a quick dip and enjoy the advantage. They served a light continental breakfast included in the rate. We would definately recommend this hotel, and will use it again if needed ourselves. One note.... the stairs up to the above ground floors are steep. It was not that easy to haul all our luggage up and down.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Miguel and staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a fruit lovers dream. Rooms are airy and bright, and your only a block or so from the pier and beach. Snorkeling out on the reef is great with rays, barracuda, turtles and fish galore.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We just returned from a short stay in PM and was very pleased to have stayed with Miguel at his wonderful little Hotel. Ed from Cantina Habanero suggested we try it
because it was very well maintained and close by.
Posada el Moro was far better than I expected.The staff was very friendly and a continental breakfast was included.The coffee was excellant .We stayed in the new wing and had a patio level room. There was a table and chairs
right outside of the door,perfect for enjoying our coffee in the morning.
On a couple occasions we used the small pool and hammocks.
The garden-like setting was very quiet and restful.
The location is another draw, 200 feet from the town square.In the opposite direction
is my favorite cantina in all of Mexico. Win-Win.....we will definately be back OG.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Very friendly place, rooms are clean, mexican style, bathroom was clean, we were staying on the 2nd floor, it was quite and safe.
We arrived by bus and taxi, you can take a bus from Cancun Airport to Puerto Morelos, and it is only 2km to the village. Taxi is cheap and it is worth of taking a taxi.
The Posada El Moro is 100 m from the main square of Perto Morelos, very nice and cheap resteurants with local cusine, the beach is 5 minutes walking, if you want to stay it typical friendly place it is good choice

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed for 5 nights and had a Junior suite on the 3rd floor front of the building.Since I am older with health problems , a downstairs room will be better for me on my next trip. The view of the sea and reef were great.Could be a bit noisy in high season, but really nice place. Our room had 2 queen beds and a great kitchen fully equipped., tv AC and lovely bathroom with LOTS of hot water.The hotel was busy ,but there was still plenty of hot water, which sometimes can be hard to find in Mexico. Miguel and his wife are really helpful with any thing you need.Great value for money, will be staying there again at some time in the future.So go to Posada el Moro and Puerto Morelos, this is my 3rd visit in 2 yrs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#25 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#18 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
11,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | Sm-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. Our mission is for you to feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing