We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Sea View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Affordable Sea View”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you are looking for affordable accommodations with an ocean view, you cannot beat this place. The average age of occupancy is usually 55+ with several suites occupied from 1 to 5 months by returning guests every year. We stayed one month from Feb 24 - Mar 24 and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The suites are older, with the very basics for cooking, very large in size, but not so big on comfort. Each of the 12 suites have similar furniture, but ours had no back cushions on couch or chairs, so if i were returning I would take a few with me. I would also pack your most favorite knife for cutting (one supplied in suite couldn't cut anything). Maids come in once a week only. Kitchen has 2 burner gas stove top, coffee pot, microwave and toaster oven which all worked well for basic cooking in suite

As is usual in mexico, tiny ants inhabit the kitchen. I bought vinegar at the grocery store and wiped down the counter tops daily which seemed to control them. The balconies are spacious but furniture again are all plastic with no cushions. Beach loungers are old and breaking, but this winters guests are hopeful that they will get replaced for next year. The private beach area was lovely with palapas for shade.

The walk to town was about 4 blocks which we walked daily for suppers. There are some very good restaurants in town at very good prices. David Lau's, Al Chimichuri's, Spagettino's to name a few.

If you're looking for night life you'd best look elsewhere. For those looking for a quiet relaxing holiday on a white sand beach that offers plenty of swimming and snorkeling opportunities - this is a good choice. We would return.

Room Tip: there are only 12 suites with ocean view and a few bachelor suites with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MtnMamma54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We rented two weeks at the arrecifes suites during our xmas vacation. The rooms are very clean and comfortable ans you have everything you need as well as an outstanding ocean view. The hotel itself is a little old and could use maintenance. The maid service is excellent and Leila is very helpfull when you need something. Puerto Morelos is a very nice little place to go around and enjoy. It is very safe and there are so many excellent restaurant around. The arrecifes is a 10 min. walk to the center of the town which is excellent. There is a lot of activities to do around, we went to the jungle spa (excellent), siete bocas cenote, dive inn puerto morelos and tulum. We usually go all inclusive but this year we really enjoyed the freedom and relaxation we got at arrecifes and puerto morelos. When we were there, it got really noisy because of construction all around but that was not the hotel's fault, they did try to accomodate us by providing a different room but it was still noisy on the beach. Also, some other guests there did get noisy also at times but again, not the hotel's fault. I remember reading something about probably the same family staying there around new year's before... Hopefully if we go back next year, the construction will be over and we will be around respectfull guests the whole time! Overall, the location , the service and the room is awesome. I am not afraid to recomment the arrecifes and puerto morelos for your mexican stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mylenebessette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This was our first night in Mexico. At check-in, a note informed us that one of our oceanview studios had been upgraded to a suite ("more spacious"), which was nice. Our cost was $75 USD per accommodation for the night. There were very few other hotels guests. Since it was our first view of the sea, we were obviously ecstatic with the surroundings.
That said -- a) it was difficult to figure out where the hotel actually was from the information on the website. Finally found it by getting out of our car and wandering. b) in the suite, the tv kept going on and off during the night. c) this was our introduction to "don't flush your waste paper, put it in the garbage container" toilet routine, so that was an adjustment. d) there is little or no attention paid to interior design, the rooms were functional/sparsely furnished. e) air-conditioner was noisy but we were glad it worked! f) nice beach chairs and of course that view of the sea; g) the suite had a very large bathroom; the studio had shower stall on one side of the room, the toilet stall on the other side of the room, with the kitchenette area in between.
I felt it was adequate for one night, but it is not a very romantic or atmospheric place. That said, we did meet a couple from Toronto who are staying there for five months and obviously happy with their choice.

Room Tip: Specify actual beach FRONT because our studio had a "view of the beach," but was not reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twincitiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b.c.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I took my 23 yr old daughter with me for her 1st Caribbean vacation. We stayed for a week over New Years. What a great experience! We found that the Hotel lived up to all the great reviews. The employees could not be more accommodating and helpful. The rooms must have been 800 square feet and looked exactly like the photos online. Our bottom floor suite led out to a green lawn and then down a couple of stairs to the white sandy beach. The only 2 problems we had were immediately taken care of. 1) the rail on the fridge door broke breaking 6 bottles of cervesa which was cleaned up pronto and the beer replaced by the hotel. 2) an ant trail suddenly appeared off our little porch and another employee sprayed them and cleared up that mess pronto. Clean bedspeads appeared midweek which proved they did not eternally leave 'that scary hotel bedspread' as many top hotels chains do. Beach towels were provided along with any other requests large or small. One night I decided to cook up a pot of stew and half way through discovered that the pot provided was no where near large enough to hold all the fixings I had chopped up. The young fellow on duty ran back and forth with different pots until I received a good size one. Like I said, accommodating. We enjoyed ourselves so much that I have booked a month for next Dec/Jan. Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at the Suites Arrecifes from 12/24/2009-1/9/2010. The suites are very roomy. Sheets are nice and the bedspreads got changed often.
They had 2 double beds in the bedroom and a couch that made into a bed in the living room. I had a scheduling overlap and Liala offered to put a rollaway in the living room for 2 nights. The living room is big enough I could have done it if I had needed.
There is air conditioning in the bedroom only and we needed it every night. It worked well. We got a nice cross breeze going during the evening but once you closed the beach side slider, it was to hot to sleep in the living room. The toilets flushed well and the water pressure was good in the shower. The staff was very friendly and we each spoke enough of English and Spanish that we got along fine. There is a water dispenser in your room. The first 5 gallon jug is free, after that they are 30 pesos a piece. It is a half mile walk to town center but the main street is well lit. We walked it many times after dark without any problems.
I would recommend the Suites and will be going back again next year. Thanks to Laila and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
292 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here for our anniversary and were looking for somewhere secluded and inexpensive. Beforehand, the hotel was helpful answering questions about directions and accommodations in English. Once in Puerto Morelos, we realized the directions were completely wrong and no one working at the hotel spoke fluent English the entire time. We had to rely on our little Spanish. The room was not fully air conditioned, only the bedroom had a/c, so about 1/3 of the suite had a/c. That meant the living room, bathroom, and kitchen were very hot and you had to leave the doors open to get any air flow. It had a beautiful view and was inexpensive; however, on the weekends and holidays locals swarm the beaches and are there in large groups crowding the beach. Many locals vacation here. The family beside us in a one bedroom suite consisted of 11 family members all staying in the room who were loud and could look into our suite while on their balcony and the stairs - not very private. The lack of a pool and lounge chairs were also huge negatives. There were lounge chairs, but they were snagged early in the morning with towels from other people staying there, even though they were not used by the family most of the time. Next time, I will spend the money to stay at an all-inclusive. There are a few inexpensive restaurants, but most are nearly U.S. prices and it would have been more relaxing to be at an AI with a fully air-conditioned room, pool, and drinks and food closer and included. For the price, I think we would've even saved money getting an all-inclusive. The staff was nice and tried to be helpful, but the limited English really was a minus.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellow_seahorse, owner at Hotel Arrecifes Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2010
Thanks for your comments, because it gives us the opportunity to identify our areas of opportunity and keep improving.
We are now specifying in our room´s description that a suite has air conditioning in the bedroom and a fan in the living room, and we recently acquired more beach lounge chairs for our guests.
On the other hand, the maximum capacity of a suite is 5 people, and perhaps when you saw more people could be friends from another room who were meeting there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I stayed at Arrecifes in November and again at the end of a longer stay in March. It's a 2 story apartment hotel located a few blocks north of the zocalo (town square) along a white sand beach. It's quiet and very clean. There are about a dozen units that face the water with a covered patio and a couple more on the street side that are studios. The larger units face out on a lovely lawn ( a rarity in these parts) edged with tropical plantings. All are well-equiped with cooking utensils, a 20 litre bottle of purified water, refrigerator and cook top range. The units are well described in other reviews and I will agree rather than repeat it all. The beach is fine white sand with the reef in sight. Each morning early risers are treated to a magnificent sunrise on balcony and in the living room. There's a nice walk left (north). Within a hundred yards is a stretch of mangroves with interesting birdlife. The town is half a kilometer to the south past a series of private homes and small hotels. Between a 5 and 10 minute walk, beach or street; half that by bike.
The desk was open ~9-9 in November before the high season started and someone was there around the clock during March. It's an understatement to say they were helpful. They provided unusual care, included computer and cell phone help, keys-locked-in-car rescue and a ride across town with all my belongings.
Walking south, toward town, is some of the best snorkeling with a dozen or so coral heads and a variety of fish, rays and turtles. The best part: it's all reachable with a swim from shore by anyone who is an average to good swimmer. Partner up with one of the daily swimmers along the beach to learn the best spots.
This hotel is an outstanding value. A large fully-equipped apartment on the beach for under a hundred usd/ night. For me it has the perfect mix of access to town and amenities and the right amount of quietude in a natural setting.
If you're looking for night life, wild times and raucous fun, stay on the bus; Arrecifes isn't for you, nor for that matter is Puerto Morelos likely to be your cup of tea. Head to Cancun or Playa. On the other hand, if you're looking for some sun, solitude, or a place to write the great American novel, give this economical small hotel a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MPCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
23.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
25.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,682 reviews
21.6 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
20.8 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arrecifes Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arrecifes Suites

Property: Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Address: Supmza 2 Mza 14 Heriberto Frias Lote -7, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arrecifes Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suites Arrecifes, 14 beach front suites with king size or dbl. beds, large living area, kitchenette equipped, garden, and beautiful beach! 3 star complex 5 blocks from main square of Puerto Morelos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arrecifes Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arrecifes Puerto Morelos
Hotel Arrecifes Suites Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing