We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great oceanfront view hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great oceanfront view hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights in September '13. We stayed on the second floor. The columns you see in photos are actually spiral staircases down. The room was a nice size and clean. It was just my wife and I, so there was enough glasses, forks, etc. There were 2 skillets and 1 large pot for cooking pasta. A blender, toaster, and coffee maker were also available. We cooked every meal at our condo, since I'm not a fan of food preparation in Mexico. Almost everyone will tell you the little store in town has all you need. Not necessarily true. So I got a taxi to take me to PDC and wait while I shopped. All for $35. There were quite a few ants in the bathroom and the hotel tried to clean them up. They kept coming back. Not too big of a deal. We were the only people there a few nights, so we had the beach to ourselves. On the weekend, it seemed some people would come over from the public beach access and use the hotel palapas. Not a lot of effort to keep their private beach area clean. I also noticed they clean the sea grass off the beach in Puerto Morelos, but stopped about 100 feet from our hotel. Not the hotel's fault. All in all, it was a great experience. The bed was large and firm, just the way I like it. Warm water worked. Flat screen in the bedroom with about 85 channels to choose from. AC worked great and 2 ceiling fans in the unit. A very large, covered balcony with stairs down to the beach access. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burns Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Good things about the suite: it is clean and a good size, the bed is comfortable, the staff is great and it is on the ocean!

Not so good things about the suite: living room and dining room furniture are extremely outdated, the kitchen lacked decent cookware (one pot and one pan) and flatware, the glasses were plastic, and the dinnerware was mismatched.

In all, we enjoyed our time at Arrecifes and were very thankful the bed was comfortable; however, it it time to take the decor out of the 80's/90's!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms may have better furniture, ask to see photos of the specific suite you will be ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adrienne772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland Bc
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

On our arrival, we were surprised to see that the ocean view suite lacked many things we take for granted; such as kitchen utensils, toaster, blender, frypans and so on. We did manage to get some of the utensils when we asked for them. Water pressure is non-existant,and we had to buy some vinegar to clean the shower head so we could get a bit more of a shower flow.
After a week in the one bedroom waterfront unit we had to move to a studio suite(B) for two weeks. The studio suites are located at the back of the building on the roof with a view of the back alley. Again we had to ask for kitchen utensils and use vinegar to clean the shower head.
All that being said, the staff did the best they could to keep us happy,and the units are clean.. .

Room Tip: The Studio Suites are at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Whynemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellow_seahorse, Manager at Hotel Arrecifes Suites, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
All units have basics utensils to cook, a microwave, coffee maker, and a dining ware for 4 persons. But we have more utensils for the kitchen (extra dishes, pots, pans, etc.) or the bedroom (extra pillows, towels, etc.) in our storage area and we gladly provide them to our guests when they request more items.
About the shower head, we will be more careful with the cleaning. As we are right in front of the beach, the salt damages all the items made of steel very quickly and we have to replace them very often.
We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you are looking for affordable accommodations with an ocean view, you cannot beat this place. The average age of occupancy is usually 55+ with several suites occupied from 1 to 5 months by returning guests every year. We stayed one month from Feb 24 - Mar 24 and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The suites are older, with the very basics for cooking, very large in size, but not so big on comfort. Each of the 12 suites have similar furniture, but ours had no back cushions on couch or chairs, so if i were returning I would take a few with me. I would also pack your most favorite knife for cutting (one supplied in suite couldn't cut anything). Maids come in once a week only. Kitchen has 2 burner gas stove top, coffee pot, microwave and toaster oven which all worked well for basic cooking in suite

As is usual in mexico, tiny ants inhabit the kitchen. I bought vinegar at the grocery store and wiped down the counter tops daily which seemed to control them. The balconies are spacious but furniture again are all plastic with no cushions. Beach loungers are old and breaking, but this winters guests are hopeful that they will get replaced for next year. The private beach area was lovely with palapas for shade.

The walk to town was about 4 blocks which we walked daily for suppers. There are some very good restaurants in town at very good prices. David Lau's, Al Chimichuri's, Spagettino's to name a few.

If you're looking for night life you'd best look elsewhere. For those looking for a quiet relaxing holiday on a white sand beach that offers plenty of swimming and snorkeling opportunities - this is a good choice. We would return.

Room Tip: there are only 12 suites with ocean view and a few bachelor suites with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MtnMamma54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We rented two weeks at the arrecifes suites during our xmas vacation. The rooms are very clean and comfortable ans you have everything you need as well as an outstanding ocean view. The hotel itself is a little old and could use maintenance. The maid service is excellent and Leila is very helpfull when you need something. Puerto Morelos is a very nice little place to go around and enjoy. It is very safe and there are so many excellent restaurant around. The arrecifes is a 10 min. walk to the center of the town which is excellent. There is a lot of activities to do around, we went to the jungle spa (excellent), siete bocas cenote, dive inn puerto morelos and tulum. We usually go all inclusive but this year we really enjoyed the freedom and relaxation we got at arrecifes and puerto morelos. When we were there, it got really noisy because of construction all around but that was not the hotel's fault, they did try to accomodate us by providing a different room but it was still noisy on the beach. Also, some other guests there did get noisy also at times but again, not the hotel's fault. I remember reading something about probably the same family staying there around new year's before... Hopefully if we go back next year, the construction will be over and we will be around respectfull guests the whole time! Overall, the location , the service and the room is awesome. I am not afraid to recomment the arrecifes and puerto morelos for your mexican stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mylenebessette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This was our first night in Mexico. At check-in, a note informed us that one of our oceanview studios had been upgraded to a suite ("more spacious"), which was nice. Our cost was $75 USD per accommodation for the night. There were very few other hotels guests. Since it was our first view of the sea, we were obviously ecstatic with the surroundings.
That said -- a) it was difficult to figure out where the hotel actually was from the information on the website. Finally found it by getting out of our car and wandering. b) in the suite, the tv kept going on and off during the night. c) this was our introduction to "don't flush your waste paper, put it in the garbage container" toilet routine, so that was an adjustment. d) there is little or no attention paid to interior design, the rooms were functional/sparsely furnished. e) air-conditioner was noisy but we were glad it worked! f) nice beach chairs and of course that view of the sea; g) the suite had a very large bathroom; the studio had shower stall on one side of the room, the toilet stall on the other side of the room, with the kitchenette area in between.
I felt it was adequate for one night, but it is not a very romantic or atmospheric place. That said, we did meet a couple from Toronto who are staying there for five months and obviously happy with their choice.

Room Tip: Specify actual beach FRONT because our studio had a "view of the beach," but was not reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twincitiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b.c.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I took my 23 yr old daughter with me for her 1st Caribbean vacation. We stayed for a week over New Years. What a great experience! We found that the Hotel lived up to all the great reviews. The employees could not be more accommodating and helpful. The rooms must have been 800 square feet and looked exactly like the photos online. Our bottom floor suite led out to a green lawn and then down a couple of stairs to the white sandy beach. The only 2 problems we had were immediately taken care of. 1) the rail on the fridge door broke breaking 6 bottles of cervesa which was cleaned up pronto and the beer replaced by the hotel. 2) an ant trail suddenly appeared off our little porch and another employee sprayed them and cleared up that mess pronto. Clean bedspeads appeared midweek which proved they did not eternally leave 'that scary hotel bedspread' as many top hotels chains do. Beach towels were provided along with any other requests large or small. One night I decided to cook up a pot of stew and half way through discovered that the pot provided was no where near large enough to hold all the fixings I had chopped up. The young fellow on duty ran back and forth with different pots until I received a good size one. Like I said, accommodating. We enjoyed ourselves so much that I have booked a month for next Dec/Jan. Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
23.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
25.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,692 reviews
21.6 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
20.8 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arrecifes Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arrecifes Suites

Property: Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Address: Supmza 2 Mza 14 Heriberto Frias Lote -7, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arrecifes Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suites Arrecifes, 14 beach front suites with king size or dbl. beds, large living area, kitchenette equipped, garden, and beautiful beach! 3 star complex 5 blocks from main square of Puerto Morelos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arrecifes Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arrecifes Puerto Morelos
Hotel Arrecifes Suites Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing