We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really cool, very close to Cancun”
Review of El Meco Ruins

El Meco Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
El Meco and Puerto Juarez Private Photography Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“really cool, very close to Cancun”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We didn't want to drive all the way to Chichen Itza, cuz we were travelling with a 9 month old. El MEco was fabulous -- not crowded, very pretty, all the iguanas anyone could ever want. And it cost 4 pesos to get in! No touristy stuff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betsyknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    62
    20
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
451 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is our 27th year visiting Cancun and we just discovered El Meco, a hidden gem of Mayan ruins. Part of the allure of Yucatan for us is fascination with the history of the Mayan people and the ruins that cover the area.

So close to downtown Cancun, it is a pleasant ride to El Meco and an opportunity to explore ruins without the massive crowds in the larger venues. The day we were there, we were the only tourists!

As in many of the ruins, you are unable to climb them but wandering around the landscaped area is pleasant. There is a small fee to enter to maintain the area. There are benches spaced throughout and the restrooms are well maintained. The road is parallel to the main highway leaving Cancun.

I would especially recommend this for visitors that may have difficulty walking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ZZMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful small ruins”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had visited El Rey ruins when staying on the Cancun Hotel zone so wanted to visit El Meco while staying at Villa del Palmar. It was a 30 minute walk from the hotel, but worth the visit. Entrance was 42 pesos per person. Lots of foundations, columns and a substantial temple structure. Climbing on the structures is forbidden by all but the iguanas. A bonus for us was a stop at the Flamingo restaurant on our walk back to Villa del Palmar.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ruinas El Meco...”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very Nice Place in Cancun, we had excellent experiencie, the hospitality was excellent, they do have parking lot and you can stay there eating some lunch with your family, Enjoyed!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniomiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small ruins but still awesome!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We always stay on Isla Mujeres and are always looking for new things to do when we are there so this year we added El Meco (and combined it with a visit to El Refugio del Pirata Morgan which I am reviewing separately) and it was well worth the stop. While they are smaller, Mayan ruins they were still really cool to see and an added plus is that we were the only people there. Jesus is the caretaker and he was so friendly. There was a 42 peso/person entry fee and we took about 45 minutes to look around. There were tons of iguanas but oddly enough we didn't see one mosquito. We thoroughly enjoyed the stop and recommend it as a fun day trip. As for transportation, you can take a combi (picture below and way better and cheaper than a taxi), which run very often from Puerto Juarez to El Meco for 6 pesos/person but do be aware that the combis don't really have specific spots. You have to yell a little ahead of time when you want to stop or just tell the driver when you get on where you are going. It took about 5 minutes or so to get from Puerto Juarez to El Meco. To get back to Puerto Juarez from El Meco just stand out front and wave a combi down when you see it. If you are looking for a fun, easy day trip, check out El Meco!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JAM1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Meco Ruins also viewed

 
Playa Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Meco Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing