We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Meco, oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Meco Ruins

El Meco Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
El Meco and Puerto Juarez Private Photography Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“El Meco, oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

El Meco mayan ruins are not as big and impressive as the better known ones, but this site is peaceful and full of birds and iguanas. Jesus and Marbella, the staff, are super friendly and helpful. They have clean bathrooms, but no food or souvenir shops. Admission is 43 pesos (about $4), and you can spend as much time as you want wandering the shady gardens. It's a great place for birding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank outdoorgalDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    61
    19
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
topdeck5
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“El Meco Ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Id like to make a special review re guarding this site as they are rare and need our support this archaeological site is still work in progress. It was just 10 mins walk down the road from our hotel Sea Adventure, and is well worth the visit. although ruins the main mian pyramid is still virtualy intact its said to be an ancient fishing settlement and as an interesting history. its set in a nice quiet woodland area just off the road. ideal for photographers. there are Iguanas everywhere and there is a family of Coatis a strange little animal Lemur/badger like and they eat anything it seems that we eat chips and sweet things. Well worth a visit. it is only a small site and does have a visitor centre. and im sure the nice man at the centre will answer any questions he can he speaks very good English. Its mainly grass walk ways but i think you could manage a wheel chair if need be the site is fairly flat. they have a website im sure all relevant info will be there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank topdeck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This site is perfect for a quiet exploration of some ruins without all the crowds or any venders. While we stopped as part of a Dancer cruise tour, it is just a short distance from the hotel district of Cancun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JFFTraverseCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing ruins in Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

First time finding these ruins. They are just down the road from the ferry to isla mujeres. We paid the small fee to get in and spent a great afternoon with the ruins and iguanas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DW8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“really cool, very close to Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We didn't want to drive all the way to Chichen Itza, cuz we were travelling with a 9 month old. El MEco was fabulous -- not crowded, very pretty, all the iguanas anyone could ever want. And it cost 4 pesos to get in! No touristy stuff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betsyknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Meco Ruins also viewed

 
Playa Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Meco Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing