We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monarchs in November”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plaskett Creek Campground
Ojai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monarchs in November”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We camped here at the beginning of November, mid-week, and got a great campsite (#13) w/o booking a reservation. We had sunny, warm weather and clear, starry nights. The few other campers were mostly in tents so it was a quiet, peaceful experience, complete with Monarch Butterflies fluttering everywhere-- so pretty! I walked our dog off leash on the cliff walk above Sand Dollar Beach each morning. We did have to walk on the highway to get to the beach parking area but we found a well-worn shortcut that cut the highway walk in half. We love this campground!

Room Tip: Campsite #13 is on the perimeter with shrubbery on both sides for complete privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OjaiKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon. UK
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

What a brilliant place to stay, and what an amazing host (Rhonda). She was such a help to us, and someone for the owners to treasure. Someone in her position can make or break your stay, and she did everything right. The place is clean, and plenty of choice - if you book early enough. I do suggest booking the outer circle of you want to avoid the family campers who can be letting off steam.

I thought Sand Dollar beach was a real disappointment with brown sand, a million flies, and not worth spending any time on. In the right conditions (and a wetsuit) it works for surfers.

I have a tip for you. When visiting, head south to Treebones (a few miles), and take the left turn up the unmade road. You are on Los Burros Road, and the climb up will reward you with great views and real heat in the day and a warmer night camp. We couldn't get in one night at Plaskett, and headed up this road to camp / park for the night. There are plenty of places to pull in.

No Police bothered us (as they had done on the Old Coast Road). It was quiet, and the view of Martin Rock stunning. It was also free!

We went at the end of the season and the road quality was OK, but in the rainy season should probably be avoided.

Room Tip: Book the 'outside' of the ring for a quieter night and day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Relaxing experiance. If you want to be away from the crowds, pick sites 32 or 33. 32 does have a bit of a slopewhere the tents can be put but so beautifull and there is green grass for the kids to play. Group site 1 is the most private but no view of the ocean. Walking distance to the beach was so nice and we stopped by the big sur school house playground a couple of times. It is one more hour from Big Sur proper if you are coming from the North, but away from the crowds!

Room Tip: Sites close to road can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantanasWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildomar, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We didn't actually stay at the campground, but we visited friends who were staying there. The campground was clean and well maintained. Bathrooms were clean too! There were a variety of campers, some with tents, others with trailors, and RV's. Everyone was nice to each other and appeared to be having a good time. It is very quiet and comfortable - no cell phone service though. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedCouple92595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Quiet enough at night to hear the surf gets 4 stars. I had to laugh at the RV review! Heaven forbid there were ONLY two RV's! How unsafe with only tents around! And all we want to do is socialize! Make us all happy and go to a $100 a night campground and leave these places to us unsafe tenters PLEASE!

As with most campgrounds there are great sites and there are OK sites but none seemed horrible. Get there early for the best selection, its a small campground. The bathrooms are average for state/national campgrounds, they get the job done but I wouldn't want to lay down on the floor! It did have mostly families/groups but everyone settled down early.

I thought it was all first come first serve but a lot of sites were reserved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerWithFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I do a lot of camping, and this place really stacks up with some of the nicer places I've stayed. It was quiet and the campsites on the perimeter were spread apart and somewhat private. The site we had ( #32 ) was on a bit of an incline but had lots of soft grass to pitch a tent on and was very clean. Sand dollar beach is right across the street and within walking distance. I really enjoyed falling asleep listening to the waves. Wood is available at the campground for 8 bucks a bundle. Only drawback was there weren't any showers, but that wouldn't stop me from staying there again.

Room Tip: Stick to sites on the perimeter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garden grove
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I was looking for a place to camp while trolling up the PCH. I knew I wanted something impressive, not a dirt lot in the middle of nowhere. I called some of the private owned places to the north (like Big Sur Campground) and there were expensive! The state/federal campgrounds are half the prce, but yeah.... no showers. The bathrooms are nice enough. Not porta potties.

Anyway, the campground was super chill. The aforementioned dog needing to cross to get to registration is the sweetest German Shepard ever. The camp host was so awesome too! The campground was very quiet, everyone minding their own business. I got to set up in the middle of the grass area which is huge and th stalls are not physically seperated, which gave it an open feeling. I could see the water. There was an unofficial trail a tiny bit south of the grounds that was life changing.

On the way north I checked out all the other campgrounds I could find in big sur, and Plaskett is better because it's large and wide open and beautiful. All the other grounds have seperated stalls and crammed in. the private places have too many kids.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scienceguy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
27.5 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,130 reviews
12.2 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
27.0 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
305 reviews
29.2 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
476 reviews
31.0 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaskett Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaskett Creek Campground

Property: Plaskett Creek Campground
Address: Hwy 1, Big sur, Gorda, Big Sur, CA
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Plaskett Creek Campground Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing