We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“enchanting”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining room with ocean views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room with ocean views.
Custom fully equipped kitchen. Living room with ocean views. Internet TV only, DVD library and music player.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Dining room with ocean views.
Custom fully equipped kitchen.
Living room with ocean views. Internet TV only, DVD library and music player.
Open floor plan is ideal for family vacations.
Wood burning stove is centrally located.
All custom tiles patters and stair railing metal artwork.
Living room with some local artwork. All metal sculptures were created by the owner.
Winter Sunset in the Dining Room
Dining Ocean View.
entry
Pacific sunset from deck Ocean View
Dining Room sunset
Living Room view north
foggy winter sunset view from deck
above the fog view from the deck
Hammock Hallow
Studio
Studio Ocean View
Studio sunset from the deck
Studio Kitchen/Dining
Studio View from Dining
Studio Bedroom Area
Studio Bath and Shower
Studio
Studio
Second bedroom.
Master bathroom with granite, tiles and jetted bathtub.
Master bedroom has a fold out Euro Lounge for additional sleep options.
Master bedroom has a view of the ocean from the bed, and an en suite bathroom.
Lower level suite with extra fold out Euro Lounge for more sleeping options, and views of the ocean.
Lower level.
Lower level.
Lower level sleeping area.
Right door is a private full bathroom with bathtub.
Lower level.
Lower level.
Main house bathroom with granite and tile.
Porthole window looks from shower to ocean view!
Custom tiles in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Big Sur, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn W
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enchanting”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Spectacular views of the ocean, better than advertised. Many nice amenities (very well stocked pantry complete with great variety of herbs and spices, and even coffee beans; jetted tub; pandora; free wi-fi; interesting books and games). We would definitely love to return. The hosts were invisible but in touch to make sure all our needs were met. Nice. Downsides: We're hikers and local walks on the road were discouraged. The road up was challenging but with a reasonable car it is not a problem. In essence we loved Bella Vista.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita C
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an amazing place”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Bella Vista is a perfect vacation rental. The house is beautiful, has a well stocked pantry and the views are amazing. We traveled with 3 children under 5 and they had a wonderful time as did the adults. The beach about 20 minutes away is really nice with nice tidal pools. I was concerned about the drive up tot he house based on previous reviews but we had no problems at all. The only things I would love to have had were binoculars to look at the birds flying around and an umbrella on the deck to shade the hot sun so I could still sit outside and look at the beautiful view. Highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Bella Vista Big Sur.

Until recently, Bella Vista had two pair of binoculars. One pair broke and the other pair disappeared. We haven't replaced them yet. Our apologies, Anita.

Regarding the sunny deck: Bella Vista has two decks, both available to all guests. Yes, the upstairs deck is usually in the sun, especially at sunset. The other deck is covered, usually in the shade, with an ocean view, a hammock and a bench. Hammock Hollow also offers three hammocks, in the shade with an ocean view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munster
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burlingame
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ca
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda P
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magic on the Mountain”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

To stay in this house, magic
To see the fog, the birds, the sunsets, magic

We actually cancelled some reservations we had made for dinner because we wanted to cook in this fabulous kitchen and watch the weather happen right in front of us.

This home was lovingly and artistically designed and we cannot wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: That we had to l eave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfmp48
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Died and gone to Heaven”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Thank you to CW and Ellen for creating this amazing place and we are so grateful to have enjoyed the space for three days. this rental is unique and each element has been so carefully and artistically designed; plus it has just a spectacular view, beautiful plantings, wonderful birds and I cannot decide whether I preferred watching the fog roll in or watching the glorious sunset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the way this home was designed
Liked least: The drive up the mountain can be daunting but well worth it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing