We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins are Cold”
Review of Big Sur Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Sur Lodge
Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cabins are Cold”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It's a state lodge so don't expect personal service. The cabins, at least mine had a big fireplace that without a fire sucked out all the heat or with one, smoked up the room causing the smoke detector to go off several times. It had a small heater in the corner of the room but it didn't come close to warming the room. There were two extra twin beds in the room so I was at least able to load on more covers. The bathroom was always quite cold. I mostly had food prepared for our conference, which was plentiful and just a tad above average. The lettuces were fresh with lots of baby greens and I enjoyed the fish. If you want gluton free or vegan you'll find it challenging. And... when I had a craving for really good chocolate there was none to be found. They sell moose droppings in the lobby and just commercial grade sugar candy in the gift shop. So come prepared with your own stash of gourmet chocolate and healthy snacks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skylar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
skylar60- Thank you for visiting us this December during your conference. There was an unexpected cold and freezing spell in early December that hit the entire Monterey Peninsula including Big Sur. Very cold weather is highly unusual and unexpected in Big Sur. We are very sorry if your room heater and fireplace did not provide enough warmth during that cold spell. Thank you for telling us about your experience, so we can correct this situation.

The food provided through your conference program did offer gluten-free and vegan choices including the pasta entrees. We will make sure to communicate the menu items in your welcome packet the next time you come to a conference with us. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    192
    104
    41
    41
See reviews for
169
184
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We looked at several places before landing here! The ones we wanted were "no vacancy" or stupid expensive, offering NOTHING for the crazy rates! THIS PLACE WAS GREAT! right in the middle of giant redwoods... quiet... wood burning fireplace (they ALSO provided us with a bundle of wood each night!)... clean... cozy... BY FAR the best value and we supported the park system! This is where we got engaged and it will always be special to us!

Room Tip: choose the cabins with the fireplace... SO WORTH IT!!!!!! and the food in the lodge was great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyajunemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
tanyajunemoore-Thank you for “searching and searching for a great place” and finding us! What a nice compliment to us! Thank you. We are happy to hear that you liked the location, being “in the middle of giant redwoods”, the quietness, the wood burning fireplace, your complimentary bundle of wood each night, your “cozy and clean” room, and the value for the price. Congratulations on your recent engagement! We do weddings here at Big Sur Lodge, should you need a wedding venue! Please come see us again soon. Thank you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Our family, with two boys, stayed in one of the cabins. Very comfortable, surrounded by amazing redwoods and all sorts of animals ... Deer, wild turkeys, and these mammoth birds (buzzards? Pterodactyls? Not sure). Great trails for hiking. Note for early risers/east coasters - restaurant and/or local grocery stores don't open until 8 (cafe at 7:30). Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NiskyFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
NiskyFam-Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us here at Big Sur Lodge and for recommending us to travelers. We are glad that you enjoyed the “beautiful and peaceful” atmosphere, the hiking trails, the redwoods, and the wild life. The large birds that you are referring to were probably condors as the Ventana Wilderness Society reintroduced them to Big Sur and they can be seen in the trees and skies above. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a very nice place. The most wonderful thing is that there are NO TELEVISIONS in the rooms! Who needs a TV at this place? It is very rustic in the redwood forest, with an excellent dining room. The lack of TVs keeps a certain type out, and those who go can just enjoy the quiet and solitude.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ptolemy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
PtolemyA-Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the “no television” atmosphere, the quietness and solitude, the “rustic setting” in the redwoods, and the dining room. Thank you for your excellent review. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We made our reservations at the last minute, and this was the only place still available. I was a little worried, but it turned out to be a fabulous place to stay for what we wanted to do. We hiked up to Pfeiffer Falls, went to see the Colonial Redwood Tree, the largest redwood on the property, and we also hiked the Valley View trail, all by just walking out the door of our room. The hikes were great, not too strenuous, but with lovely views. And right outside our door we saw deer munching on the grass and turkeys strutting around. It's a wonderful place to stay to experience Big Sur. Easy jaunt south to Julia Pfeiffer Burns SP, and not far from Nepenthe for lunch, and of course, the elusive Pfeiffer Beach!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room, in a small building. It was quiet and a lovely walk through redwoods to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtn2gulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
joycejohnmarco Thank you for choosing Big Sur Lodge and thank you for letting us know that it turned out to be a “fabulous” experience for you. We are glad that you liked the hikes, the views, the deer, the turkey, and seeing the Colonial Tree. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in early November. Our bedroom was generous in size and the bathroom adequate.The gas room heater soon took any evening chill off the room although the daytime temperature was warm and the weather dry.The beds were roomy and comfortable and we think the accommodation was fairly priced.A couple of niggles;
The room was dark and gloomy.No ceiling lighting and the ceiling painted in a greenish hue so poor light reflection.Other cabins had roof lights and even from outside could be seen to be bright and cheerful.
There was only two coat hangers on a wall rail-just not adequate for two travellers with clothes for a three weeks vacation in California.
The cabin was quiet and the presence of deer and wild turkey added to the ambience.But watch the turkeys as they attack their own reflection on the car door panels.
The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check for roof lights.I have marked the room down because of the gloominess and lack of hanging spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
emmanbee- Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the size of your room, the “roomy and comfortable” beds, the room heater, and the room rate. We are disappointed to know that the lighting in your room was not to your liking. Thank you for letting us know. We are planning some renovations and improvements in the near future. Thank you for the insight about the turkeys seeing their reflections in the car windows. Concerning the coat hangers, we are so sorry the hangers were inadequate for your traveling needs and we wish you had reached out to the Front Desk as we would be happy to have housekeeping bring you more hangers. We thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed her one night in room 46 on 11/15. Room is spacious, heater works, everything is clean, bed comfortable, and if I complained about anything then I should be categorized as a "whiner". We liked the fact the units are set back from the highway so no road noise to speak of - really super quiet at night even we had neighbors all around us. As mentioned, lots of hiking, nice lodge with fireplace to sit by and read. Didn't try the restaurant, gift shops, etc. as we are locals ( 1 1/2 hour south) and just used the lodge as a place to shower and sleep. Highly recommend and plan to return in the spring after the winter rains (hopefully) fill up the creeks and river.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorroRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSLMarketingManager, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
MorroRock- Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your recommending us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the quiet nights, the Lodge with the fireplace, and the hiking. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,134 reviews
21.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
17.3 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Property: Big Sur Lodge
Address: 47225 Highway 1, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Sur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing