We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total peace and relaxation”
Review of Big Sur Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Sur Lodge
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved our king fireplace room. The peace and quiet was welcomed after a busy few days in LA. There is no TV, radio or internet (it is possible to purchase wifi but we didn't). We slept so incredibly well here. The lodge did have a slight woody smell but that's to be expected with a fireplace in the room!! We sat outside on the balcony until the sun went down. There is a small button on the shower which was good to find as until we found this the shower was just a dribble but brilliant once we operated it correctly! We were very very happy with this choice but it wouldn't be for everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was particularly quiet as it was at the very end of the park away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Karen C- Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of Big Sur Lodge and that you slept incredibly well during your stay. We are delighted to know that you sat on your balcony and enjoyed the sunset hours. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 530 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Big Sur Lodge this past weekend and we were not impressed! I had read the other reviews and am not sure we stayed at the same place !!! We had to change rooms the first night as our first room was so badly kept! The couch was filthy, rugs in dire need of cleaning, etc! Our second room wasn't much better! We just had more beds in it. For the price we paid it was sorely lacking! Our keys didn't work each day and we thought the food in the lodge was highly overpriced and just not good
I know we were in a lodge in a state park but please renovate the rooms before you charge such ridiculous prices!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

TripAdvisor Member- Thank you for staying with us at Big Sur Lodge and taking the time to provide honest feedback. We are so sorry to hear that your room, our rates and our restaurant did not meet your expectations but we wanted to thank you for letting us know so that we can make the necessary corrections. In regards to renovations, because of our year-round popularity it is hard to find windows of time to accomplish upgrades. This year we renovated our kitchenette rooms and we have plans to continue these improvements to additional rooms in the near future. However, the conditions you describe in your review are not at all in line with the standards to which we hold ourselves and we will address them. Thank you again for your helpful review and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It's a "nice" place, spacious rooms, that smell like burnt wood. Good hiking from the Lodge, but service???? Don't expect any, and if you want internet, $20/day. Plan to disconnect when you are here, no TV, spotty cell service. Know what you are coming for, disconnecting, relaxing (elsewhere in this beautiful paradise), and a spartan room. This is the first step up from camping, but camping costs $50, this is $200. Big Sur is beautiful, but pricey. There won't be new alternatives, as you can't build here, so take it, pay for it, and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winefoodtraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Winefoodtraveler2008- Thank you for staying with us and enjoying Big Sur! Our staff loves the peace and quiet here with no TVs, phones and alarm clocks. However, we completely understand that it’s not for everyone and we would like to apologize if our facilities did not meet your expectations. Internet was only recently introduced to Big Sur Lodge and we currently offer it as an elective amenity because so many of our guests come here purposely to unplug and get away from technology. We hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Big Sur Lodge in April 2014 with our two daughters aged 4 and 7 over Spring Break. We were in a fireplace cabin that slept 5 and it was great. Our cabin overlooked the pool (#14) and it was a nice walk to the nature trail and lodge. It was very clean, had a great layout for space and a nice fireplace with fresh wood supplied each day. I could picture coming back each year and staying for a week. I loved having no tv/phone and just having family time. I could still access cell phone service (if I needed) from the back porch. The lodge had a nice breakfast that was reasonably priced for the area and had fresh ingredients and felt homemade vs food service. It was pretty amazing having the redwoods and mountains out your back door and waking up each morning to the gobbles of wild turkeys! Although it was pricey ($350 a night including taxes), I would do it again without hesitation. Big Sur was wonderful. Make sure to eat at the Big Sur Roadhouse for a great wine and "foodie" meal (they amazingly had a kids menu too) and Nepenthe for great views, wine list and solid food. Pfeiffer Beach was also a gem.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank bretami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

bretami- Thank you for coming to Big Sur Lodge for a family visit over Spring Break. We are glad you enjoyed your fireplace unit overlooking the pool and had fun with the hiking trails, redwood trees, mountains, and the sound of wild turkeys outside your door. Thank you for the compliments about the Restaurant breakfast having fresh ingredients and feeling homemade. We very much look forward to your next visit and hope that you will make visiting Big Sur Lodge an annual family event. Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Shared a cabin with a group of friends. This is a great location to stay right in the middle of the big sur drive with its amazing views and great beaches.

Cabin was nice and relaxing and had a open fire for the evening when it good a little chilly. We enjoyed a walk up to the summit of the hill where there was a great panoramic view and to the near by water wall.

Not cheap, but you're in the big sur.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

BPKM- Thank you so much for staying at Big Sur Lodge with your group of friends. We are delighted that you found your cabin and fireplace to be nice and relaxing and that you liked the location and the walk up to Pfeiffer Falls. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will plan another trip from London to Big Sur soon. Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The room was unique. We had a king bed, double and twin. The double was in its own room. There was no heat in the double room. The fire place was the best touch. The room was very clean. We loved waking up with the turkey gobbling outside. The best jewel is the Roadhouse restaurant down the street. ... The absolute best dining we had on all our travels down the coast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank 0268johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

0268johnson- Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad you found your room to be unique and that you enjoyed the fireplace and wildlife outdoors. Thank you for staying at Big Sur Lodge. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We rented one of the cottages and really enjoyed our stay. The fireplace is great (although something about the design of it causes a decent amount of smoke to come into the room), and we loved being able to take hikes right from the property. The meals were pricey, but we found that most meals in Big Sur were expensive so we weren't too shocked.

Room Tip: Take a cottage with a fireplace.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KatieMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service Representative at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

KatieMargaret- Thank you for staying with us and leaving such an excellent review and room tip for other travelers. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your cottage, your fireplace and the nearby hiking trails. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
21.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
17.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
373 reviews
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.7 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway 1, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range: £152 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Sur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing