We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but not overly rustic”
Review of Big Sur Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Sur Lodge
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I went to visit an old friend and took him along on our travels up the coast. I really wasn't expecting much from Big Sur Lodge because it's among the cheaper accommodations in the area. However, we got a roomy, clean (no bugs) cabin with plenty of room for the 3 of us to spread out. Plenty of electrical outlets and surfaces for unpacking, eating, and making coffee or tea. I actually loved that it didn't have a tv. Due to my special diet, we required a fridge, and they sent one over very quickly after we arrived. The dining area in the lodge is nice, but service was better in the evening than at breakfast. The gift shop offers quite a lot, esp. If you forget to pack a hat or warm clothes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InnsbruckSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Innsbruck- Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your spacious room with lots of counter space, outlets, and a portable refrigerator. Thank you for dining in our restaurant and visiting our gift shop. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the restaurant staff and will be sure to let our Restaurant Manager know. Thank you again for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Big Sur Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are not a lot of choices in Big Sur and we had high hopes for this one - the reviews looked good, the price was reasonable compared to the other places and it was in a good location in relationship to the places we wanted to see. However, I would NOT recommend this hotel to my friends. Here's why:

1. When we checked in to our room - the coffee pot was not clean. It had the previous person's coffee muck in it. So did that mean that the coffee mugs were not cleaned either? What about the glasses? YUK!!! What else didn't they clean???
2. They left a dead spider squished in the shower.
3. We went for a hike and came back a little after 3:30 and our room was still not clean. That means we needed a shower, but did not have clean towels to use. When we called the front desk they simply said it would be cleaned 'shortly'. No offer to bring towels or anything.
4. It was super hot when we were there, which was unusual and no fault of the hotel - however, we could not leave our doors open for air because they do not have screens on them and there were TONS of bugs. If you don't have A/C, the least you can do is have screens on your doors.
5. The staff is nice, but they do not go the extra mile to make you feel like a welcomed guest. They could use some training. Especially the two women that work at the front desk.
6. The food in the restaurant is good, but quite pricey compared to other places.
7. I shared my concerns with the front desk when we left and they said they would have a manager call me - but it's been almost a week and no call yet. I guess they don't really care.

Here's the thing -we paid $189 per night and they wanted to charge us $5 an hour for internet service. Yes, that's right $5 PER HOUR, not per day. We stayed in seven different hotels on the California coast and this is the ONLY one that charged for WIFI and it was the most expensive.

The good things:
1. They have a pool and it was a nice relief from the heat.
2. The restaurant staff is phenomenal. They should be the ones working at the front desk.

Next time we pass through that area we will definitely choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

MCT- Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Thank you for your excellent suggestion about screen doors for the rooms. We will look into that idea. We are happy to hear that you liked our location, pool and restaurant staff. However we are very sorry that you were disappointed by the service you received at the front desk and the cleanliness of your room. We deeply apologize and will discuss your comments with our staff. Because so many of our guests come here specifically to unplug from technology, we do not offer complimentary Wi-Fi but we’re very sorry if the cost inconvenienced you or caught you by surprise! If you would like to provide additional details about your stay, please feel free to contact us directly at talktous@guestservices.com. Thank you again and we sincerely hope you give us another try the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Big Sur Lodge is a true retreat. There are no phones or TVs in the room. Cell phone coverage is intermittent. We stayed in a fireplace cabin that had a separate bedroom with a Queen sized bed and a large living area with another queen bed and two single beds. There was also room for a table and two chairs as well as a small desk area with another chair. These rooms would be great for a family. We also had a deck with two chairs facing the pool area. The lodge is located off Highway 1 near the entrance to Julia Pfieffer Burns State Park. The setting is tall redwoods and other trees. There is a creek and river in the park. Gorgeous coastline is within a few mile in either direction. We stayed one night while attend a wedding nearby, but could have stayed much longer and unwound. The lodge restaurant is a mixed bag. Our lunch when we arrived was forgettable. I had the burger which consisted of a half pound of overcooked meat with lots of toppings. My wife had the fish and chips, which were mediocre at best. We fared much better at breakfast. My Eggs Benedict were excellent as were the French toast and bacon and eggs. There are better restaurants within a short drive and I would recommend the Big Sur Bakery, which sells excellent meals at a reasonable price. It is packed with locals so it may be hard to get a table. The drive down the coast is fantastic and the lodge is very rustic and relaxing.

Room Tip: The fireplace rooms with decks are worth the small extra cost.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

DrDadrwp- Thank you for your excellent review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your fireplace room and that you found our rustic setting to be relaxing. Thank you for sharing with other travelers what you liked about the setting including the trees, creek, river and coastline. We are sorry that the food in our restaurant varied from breakfast to lunch and we will discuss your feedback with our chef and restaurant manager for correction. We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved our king fireplace room. The peace and quiet was welcomed after a busy few days in LA. There is no TV, radio or internet (it is possible to purchase wifi but we didn't). We slept so incredibly well here. The lodge did have a slight woody smell but that's to be expected with a fireplace in the room!! We sat outside on the balcony until the sun went down. There is a small button on the shower which was good to find as until we found this the shower was just a dribble but brilliant once we operated it correctly! We were very very happy with this choice but it wouldn't be for everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was particularly quiet as it was at the very end of the park away from the pool
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Karen C- Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of Big Sur Lodge and that you slept incredibly well during your stay. We are delighted to know that you sat on your balcony and enjoyed the sunset hours. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Big Sur Lodge this past weekend and we were not impressed! I had read the other reviews and am not sure we stayed at the same place !!! We had to change rooms the first night as our first room was so badly kept! The couch was filthy, rugs in dire need of cleaning, etc! Our second room wasn't much better! We just had more beds in it. For the price we paid it was sorely lacking! Our keys didn't work each day and we thought the food in the lodge was highly overpriced and just not good
I know we were in a lodge in a state park but please renovate the rooms before you charge such ridiculous prices!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

TripAdvisor Member- Thank you for staying with us at Big Sur Lodge and taking the time to provide honest feedback. We are so sorry to hear that your room, our rates and our restaurant did not meet your expectations but we wanted to thank you for letting us know so that we can make the necessary corrections. In regards to renovations, because of our year-round popularity it is hard to find windows of time to accomplish upgrades. This year we renovated our kitchenette rooms and we have plans to continue these improvements to additional rooms in the near future. However, the conditions you describe in your review are not at all in line with the standards to which we hold ourselves and we will address them. Thank you again for your helpful review and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It's a "nice" place, spacious rooms, that smell like burnt wood. Good hiking from the Lodge, but service???? Don't expect any, and if you want internet, $20/day. Plan to disconnect when you are here, no TV, spotty cell service. Know what you are coming for, disconnecting, relaxing (elsewhere in this beautiful paradise), and a spartan room. This is the first step up from camping, but camping costs $50, this is $200. Big Sur is beautiful, but pricey. There won't be new alternatives, as you can't build here, so take it, pay for it, and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winefoodtraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Winefoodtraveler2008- Thank you for staying with us and enjoying Big Sur! Our staff loves the peace and quiet here with no TVs, phones and alarm clocks. However, we completely understand that it’s not for everyone and we would like to apologize if our facilities did not meet your expectations. Internet was only recently introduced to Big Sur Lodge and we currently offer it as an elective amenity because so many of our guests come here purposely to unplug and get away from technology. We hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Big Sur Lodge in April 2014 with our two daughters aged 4 and 7 over Spring Break. We were in a fireplace cabin that slept 5 and it was great. Our cabin overlooked the pool (#14) and it was a nice walk to the nature trail and lodge. It was very clean, had a great layout for space and a nice fireplace with fresh wood supplied each day. I could picture coming back each year and staying for a week. I loved having no tv/phone and just having family time. I could still access cell phone service (if I needed) from the back porch. The lodge had a nice breakfast that was reasonably priced for the area and had fresh ingredients and felt homemade vs food service. It was pretty amazing having the redwoods and mountains out your back door and waking up each morning to the gobbles of wild turkeys! Although it was pricey ($350 a night including taxes), I would do it again without hesitation. Big Sur was wonderful. Make sure to eat at the Big Sur Roadhouse for a great wine and "foodie" meal (they amazingly had a kids menu too) and Nepenthe for great views, wine list and solid food. Pfeiffer Beach was also a gem.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank bretami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

bretami- Thank you for coming to Big Sur Lodge for a family visit over Spring Break. We are glad you enjoyed your fireplace unit overlooking the pool and had fun with the hiking trails, redwood trees, mountains, and the sound of wild turkeys outside your door. Thank you for the compliments about the Restaurant breakfast having fresh ingredients and feeling homemade. We very much look forward to your next visit and hope that you will make visiting Big Sur Lodge an annual family event. Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
21.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
680 reviews
17.3 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
895 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
0.7 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway 1, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range: £181 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Big Sur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing