We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUMP”
Review of Big Sur Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Sur Lodge
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We have stayed at the lodge two times in the past. The first time was as advertised, rustic. Then the second time we found the place had been re-done. This time we found the place very run down. We spent more for a room here than at an ocean front room in Monterey. To say the least we were disappointed. There are other motels in Big Sur (we have not stayed in them) a lot less money and they could not be any worse than this place.

The park is a special place and you should stop by if you have the time. Just don’t stay here. And the restaurant is not all that either. Too bad on both counts because the location is great and could be a great place if run correctly.

Next time we will stay in Monterey/Carmel as our home base and take day trips to Big Sur (maybe forty five to an hours drive, most of it along the coast anyway).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLATLINE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

Dislikes: There are no televisions or phones in the rooms. The rooms were very noisy and there were unauthorized swimmers in the pool area that kept us up till after 1:00 AM. Since there was no phone we had to drive down to the front desk to complain but the girl there was unable to get the people at the pool to leave. The walls are paper thin and our room was cold. The service at the lodge restaurant was very slow the three times we were there and it was a bit pricey, but had great food.

Liked: Great smell of the outdoors and a nice pool area with towels. Our room was also very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bignastysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We have enjoyed the Big Sur Lodge many times for years. I am going on 70 and back in the days when our kids were in diapers in the 60's we would always have dinner there on the day we arrived in the Park then again on our last night of camping. During our stay we would always stop for ice cream and stock up on provisions we forgot to bring.

Our last two visits also included our service dog, Gidget a 17 pound Australian Terrier. This visit was different. We went in to make reservations for our last night's dinner and stopped for the customary ice cream and were literally run out of the place on a rail by the "soda jerk who calls himself a barista" Seeing Eye Dogs Only he blurted out as my wife limped out with her face bright red. I immediately went into the reception area to have my documentation photocopied by the management and after much delay was told that the employee in question would be informed of the laws governing the handicapped. NO APOLOGY zip zero. We had just come from a delightful lunch with an excellant pinot noir for a tab of $115 including tip. Unfortunately in this time of economic upheaval in America, Big Sur Lodge will never be able to count on any dollars coming from my family again. An e-mail to Big Sur Lodge Management suggesting that they improve employee training as regards ADA regulations has been ignored so far.

If you look at my reviews in the past you will see that most are favorable and complimentary to staff when deserved. As they say.."when mama ain't happy, ain't nobody happy! We loved Big Sur and will miss the good times we have had over the years.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surfzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My wife and I satyed here 2 nights and thought the state park provided great accomendations and a well kept park. Our room was nicely furnished and had ample room for two. The deck on the backside, with chairs and table, was a nice suprise. If you enjoy being outdoors and what to get away to relax, this is your kind of place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djrmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Staff works hard. I love all the bad reviews only because I too wish people would stay away from Big Sur to make it less crowded. However, these people are running a hotel in a remote location which in itself is a challenge but additionally so as conditions vary greatly from day to day and season to season in Big Sur. Big Sur is expensive and worth it. The staff at Big Sur Lodge went out of their way to accomodate my family while we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mpls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed here in October last Fall, and were pleasantly surprised to see almost no after-effects from last Summer's big fires in the area. That concerned us on our way out to the Coast for our two-week vacation. We spent 2-days/3-nights here and were very satisfied with our accommodations. It's not like a big city Hilton, of course, but we didn't expect or want that. We wanted a nice rustic cabin in a state-park-like woodsey setting -- and these cabins fit the bill nicely. (They're actually duplexes, but we never knew anybody was even next to us -- except that we saw them go in the door once.)

Our cabin was an end unit (#50) on a long row, in the back part of the facility -- very quiet. The room was very spacious, with a comfy king bed, back deck facing the redwoods forest, and clean good-size bathroom. We did not have a fireplace (didn't want/reserve such a unit), and did not have a fridge. We would have liked the latter, since we basically had a simple breakfast out on our deck each morning.

There is no A/C here, but that was never a problem for us. By the time we got back from our day's activity, and dinner, it was very cool outside, and cooled down quickly inside as well. There's a small store and gift shop by the main lodge -- also a restaurant (which we did not use). It's very close to several good, well-known restaurants in the area (see our separate review for Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant).

We thought the whole complex was perfect for our needs -- certainly the perfect location for touring or hiking (or whatever) up and down Highway 1, both north and (mainly) south of here. I frankly did not see anyplace else that looked better to me along the Big Sur coast in-between Carmel and San Simeon -- and it was reasonable for the remote location too ......... less than $200 per night. I would recommend it to a friend, given the caveats mentioned above.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Big Sur Lodge is not for those looking for all the plush amenities of a real hotel. It is, after all, within a state park, and similar to camping, except with a roof, walls, a fireplace (in some rooms) and a skylight. We've stayed there 4 times, for the Big Sur Marathon, and if you know what to expect , it's fine. I usually book the rooms with fireplaces (6 mos in advance), which we find cozy and romantic. Others who have reviewed the lodge thought the fireplace rooms smelled like smoke. I personally like the "back to nature" experience, with no electronic noises to drown out the sounds of the creek, the birds and the wind. It's rustic, but in a great location, close to all the hiking, the beach, the great restaurants at Ventana Inn or Nepenthe's, or even the nice restaurant at the Lodge itself. Also, very close to the start of the Marathon.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marathonsaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
21.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
17.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
373 reviews
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
2.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.7 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sur Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Lodge

Address: 47225 Highway 1, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range: £152 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Sur Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pfeiffer State Park, Big Sur Lodge offers single, double, and family size rooms with fireplaces and kitchenettes and a myriad of wonderful outdoor activities for all travelers' needs including hiking and swimming. There is a restaurant, outdoor patio, gift store, and deli. Wedding and corporate group events/dining facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Big Sur Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sur Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing