We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabuloso Deetjen's”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Deetjen's is one of the miracles on this planet, a divine experience with some minor annoyances that are CONSIDERABLY overshadowed by its perfections. Great food, great staff. I live about thirty miles away, go often for superb breakfast, sometimes dinner (also exquisite), and have stayed overnight a number of times. What is important to understand is that the original owner, somewhere in the 1920's I believe, built this scrappy heroic spot out of nothing in the nowhere, and just kept building little bits of houses to accomodate family, friends, and an army of cats. Tres bohemian. It hasn't changed much. Very well cared for gorgeous flowering landscaping and cabins. And no, it's not a luxury hotel, it's more like a shelter from the storm with great lighting and fluffy beds and running water indoors as well as the musical stream outdoors that heads down the mountain through montrously huge redwoods and ferns. It's spectacular. But you have to love the roughing it. It's tucked inside Big Sur's famous redwoods on land that rises soon and steeply unphill. The ocean is across the small winding Highway One, you can walk into wonderful woody places so rich in earth and plant aroma you nearly pass out. Swank cocktails at Ventana is a hop skip jump away if that's what you want, and a gorgeous view. But Deetjen's holds the promise of returning you to an uncluttered wilderness experience within driving distance of galleries and stores, and within walking distance of their beyond-perfect ambiance in Deetjen's restaurant. Maybe you can hear guests through the walls as others suggest, and maybe the hand hewn wood isn't your cup of tea, but it's a miracle to me they haven't sold out long ago and gone to plastic beds and marble tubs. It's beautiful there, and a bit primitive. Your spirit, your sense of freedom, your re-discovery of what matters in the coast of Big Sur is worth any adventuring required by the accomodations, which I think are beautifully done and a delight. Deetjen's is what the pioneers to early California built with their own hands, bringing in supplies on unimaginably steep narrow dirt roads with horse and wagon, from very far away, and they were in it for the adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Buccaneer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

If you enjoy visiting Big Sur but are not willing to spend upwards of $500/night on a room, it can be difficult to find accomodations. We stayed at Glen Oaks on our last trip because Deetjen's was boooked, but we stayed at Deetjen's this time around. Advantages - affordable, has the rustic, genuine Big Sur charm, cozy accomodations with tasteful, ecclectic decor, the restaurant on site serves good hearty food, lots of options for room types and ability to select the specific room that you want, location - not too far south, but on the southern end of town.

Disadvatages - walls are paper thin, you can hear alomst everything your neighbor says/does (thankfully you spend most of your time out enjoying the scenery), not all rooms have private bathroom and shared bathrooms are very small and can make the experience feel a little like camping.

If you want a place that feels like Big Sur and you're willing to accept accomodations that are a little rough around the edges in exchange for an affordable room, then this is probably the place for you. Resident cat(s) are cute and curious and some guests may let them into their rooms , so beware if you are highly allergic to cats - potential problem.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weekend_getaways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Very cute and romantic place along the beautiful coast of California. We visited during that HUGE rain storm and even then the place was still great, despite working on gasoline powered generators and losing electricity after midnight. We stayed in Lower Creek which had an amazing bed, small nook area and a great fireplace that we used during our stay. There was a little creek that was running next to our cabin that just made the stay more pleasant. Staff was nice as well, but we really didn't bother them that much. Location was perfect, in the middle of it all. Recommend eating at Big Sur Bakery and checking out Esalen at night (that is amazing as well)

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ECMedbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Despite the dreadful weather we had a fantastic overnight stay as part of our round the world trip from the UK. The accommodation has a rustic charm whilst maintaining high quality. The wood burning stove was well appreciated and enhanced the whole experience. Our dinner at Deetjens was excellent, though the quantities were a trifle too much for us. We breakfasted on wonderful eggs benedict and found the staff really helpful when advising us about driving the Big Sur in such awful weather. We are going to advise all other English visitors to consider staying there. Thank you Deetjens for a unique experience. We will return!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

There are people that don't realize just how short it has been since we as humans lived without things that would be defined as "basic necessities". Those that complain, should have done their homework. Enough said.

My wife and I came to Deetjen's, riding a wave of austere views all the way down Hwy. 1. Our first anniversary, and we picked the PERFECT place to enjoy it. Nothing could have been better, from the EXCELLENT staff, wonderful food, and Mario, the cat.
We stayed in the Chateau Fiasco, and it had an amazing balcony that overlooked the main area, yet had enough foilage to provide privacy. I liked the way that they worked AROUND the existing plantlife; their is a tree branch blocking the entrance, and instead of cutting it, it is merely painted it(only to avert lawsuits, I'm sure).

We have decided to return to Deetjen's for our 10th, and wait on baited breath.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baileycat0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

We stayed here on our way back from New Zealand. My cousin, an American, booked it for us. A charming place with individual log cabins. We stayed in Edies room. Very comfortable, very quirky and individual. Do look at the written statements from previous guests in Edies room - 5 volumes of compelling reading! Look for the one where a woman talked him out of commiting suicide many years ago and when he happened to stay in Edies room the woman he had seen many years ago was Edie!
A must to visit and stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripper100England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2007

I stayed at Deetjens 30 years ago -- my fond farewell as I moved from California. And it kept tugging at my heart to come back. 30 years ago it was kind of a hippy hang-out -- now it's on the register of National Historic Landmarks! I warned my hubby it was REAL rustic but he fell in love with it too. We stayed in Stokes cabin, a pleasant walk across the bridge & through the little compound. I loved the restaurant -- fireplace, baroque music, great food, rickety kind of archecture. But the best part of the day is always back at the room at the end of the day -- lighting the fire, having nightcaps, reading guest journals from fellow travelers & then
jumping into the great beds to watch the embers die. Then waking up to the redwoods & Big Sur. There was a little gold framed picture on the wall of our cabin --Michaelangelo's Hand of God & it sure was fitting at Big Sur & Stokes cabin at Deetjens.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tuck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
23.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
3.2 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
530 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9512
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £83 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing