We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, great restaurant, rooms with character!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Northern CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great restaurant, rooms with character!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in the Lower Creek House for two nights. It was very clean, and had a queen bed & two twin beds. The private bath was outside of the room, just a few steps across the hallway. It was nice that it wasn't part of the room. When we arrived, the room smelled of smoke from the fireplace, and when we left, all of my clothes smelled like a campfire. We did not attempt to make a fire while there.
I knew from the website and from the hotel staff that the walls are quite thin, and they're right! We were prepared with earplugs, but didn't need them. My cousin and his family were above us in the Upper Creek House room, and were very considerate of us & the noise. We did hear each time they walked on the floor, used the bathroom, etc., but it wasn't terrible.
The odd thing about these structures is that there's no way to lock the rooms from the outside, and there's a tiny little latch to lock them from the inside. It would be nice to have a real lock on the door that works from both outside and inside.
That said, it is a wonderful place in a beautiful setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Deetjen's.

Room Tip: The Creek House is away from the road and not attached to other rooms, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    114
    45
    18
    18
See reviews for
61
240
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stopped at Deetjen's on a whim not having a reservation. The only room available was Fireplace which has a shared bath with another unit. I was reluctant to stay but my husband insisted. I'm so glad he did! By the end of our stay I was absolutely in love with the place. Despite not having its own bath, our room was large, with a working fireplace, a private deck and large windows that looked out into the trees. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in with a down pillowtop and lots of super comfy down pillows. The bathroom was across the hall. We never saw the other couple sharing it with us. The restaurant was warm and cozy with incredible food. If you are someone who likes modern and fancy, this is not the place for you. If you are someone who appreciates character and charm this hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfdiva8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raven27
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a rustic place like a step back in time. There are some nice large rooms but no frills. No air conditioning but remember the climate is very mild in Big Sur so this is not a real issue. The shower head in the tub was really low and I had to get on my knees to rinse off. In spite of these potential negatives, we still loved the place and want to go back. All of the workers were dedicated to helping everyone enjoy themselves. The restaurant was great too. It would have been nice to get coffee a little earlier than 7:15 but Big Sur gets a slow start to the day. Again no problem.

Room Tip: Road noise could be a problem if your room is close to the road and your windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raven27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was my 5th visit to Deejen's over a 30 year span. Some things were as nice as ever_ the location, the quaint rooms, the gardens. Since we were there during a holiday weekend (Memorial Day) and the Inn was busy it didn't have a quiet "feel" about it. You must be prepared because the walls are paper thin. We endured a very noisy sex scene next door (which sounded like it was in our room). Then at 3AM we all were awakened by our "neighbors" snoring that was so loud we couldn't possibly ignore it.
We were very disappointed by the management's overt annoyance, bordering on outright hostility, by our complaint of sewer gas smell. The management was angry that we didn't move to another location which was offered to us in a casual "go check it out" by a sweet wait staff person. We chose not to move because of the inconvenience of moving all of our unpacked belongings. Of course no one volunteered to help us move to the smaller accommodation which was down the road a bit. We were all surprised at the manager and assistant manager's attitude which was to blame us for not moving. They did eventually agree to compensate us for one night's stay. But the unpleasant interactions with both persons in management certainly spoiled out stay. It was a sad ending to what could have been handled so differently. So, do we recommend this place? I guess_ if you go knowing the pitfalls and you accept the possible problems. Oh, make sure if you stay in the lower Antique room that there is no sewer gas smell. It can be very noxious.

Room Tip: Don't go during a busy time to avoid possible noisy neighbors. Walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGWboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place was recommended to me and I decided to stay for 1 night, which I wish had been longer... I stayed in Petite Cuisine which as a solo traveller was perfect. It is a natural historic site and is comfortable with fresh linen, and furnished with antiques and the journals of former guests for your perusal. It is a little retreat from the hubbub of everyday life and a welcome opportunity to switch off with no internet, tv or phone. Switch off, relax, unwind & enjoy. Make time to eat in their award winning yummy restaurant while you are there too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

You won't be disappointed if you pick this hotel. The location easy, the food was great and the accommodations were comfortable. We loved the little fireplace in our room, and taking a hike up to the vista point behind the hotel was a great way to spend the extra hour we had before dinner. The staff was extremely friendly as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Deetjen's for 2 nights while celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the "Little Room". This was her first and my second time staying at Deetjen's within a year.

The room itself was very nice, furnished with antiques and a comfy bed. Clean towels and toiletries were provided. It was just right for us. In the two days we were there we only saw another guest in our building once.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the young girl who works the check in counter on the afternoon shift and the woman who served us breakfast. The breakfast is awesome as anyone in the area will tell you. I got the eggs benedict and my wife had the pancakes, both very filling and very good. They have complimentary (and high quality) coffee and tea in the early AM which was really nice.

Be sure to walk up the road to the top of the hill where there is an old bench overlooking the coast. You'll see horses grazing along the shore and amazing sunrises and sunsets. The grounds are covered in ancient vines and shrubs, and massive redwoods line the canyon.

For under $110 a night, with complimentary coffee and tea in the am, in the heart of Big Sur with helpful, friendly staff....and Fabio the cat, who is like a resident staff member himself...this is a huge bargain. Thanks Deetjen's for a second great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston0212202122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Property: Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9512
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing