We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like grandma's feather bed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like grandma's feather bed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This Inn was like no other we have stayed in before, so pleased we managed to get a reservation.
The rooms/ cabins were filled with rustic furniture like my grandma had . The wood burner made it all cosy. it felt like you were in the Alps somewhere where Heidi lived. We loved this place and would have loved to stay longer. The staff were really friendly and despite the rooms having no locks we felt very safe. I left my Nikon camera on the bed when we went for our evening meal and it was still there when we returned. The food in the restaurant was excellent both for evening meal and breakfast. Before we left we went for a walk through the woods and had a great view of the sea. It was all really relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    113
    45
    18
    18
See reviews for
61
239
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mantoloking
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just left this Big Sur Inn after spending three nights while attending a destination wedding.. The charming , low tech rooms were terrifc.. The food in their restaurant was tasty and presented well... well above average. The DIFFICULT factor here was the overall unfriendly dealings with management staff... Hard to understand when there you are in a would-be laid back , healing centered locale in beautiful/magnificent California coastal territory... Hard to whole heartily recommend.... Maybe the resident staff was off on vacation!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the busy highway... There are a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed one night due to my early arrival for a reservation at the Post Ranch. I was actually pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very old, can be drafty, very small, but homey and funky in a good way. No TV, but books and notes to read from previous visitors referencing how Deetjen's affected their stay and lives (even some Jack Karouac entiresl). Each room actually has it's own name and personality. No other amenities, rather spartan, but interesting, small money as is appropriate for the space. The breakfast and dinner restaurant is also unique and offering tasty meals. Highly recommended for a short and an interesting rest along with some local charm and history.

Room Tip: View the rooms before you accept. They are all different with a variety of features. Don't let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Deetjen's is grouping of redwood plank cabins nestled in the redwoods of Castro Canyon on the north bound side of old Route 1 in Big Sur. When you make a reservation for the first time you will be warned that the cabins are rustic. And that they are.

The showers are an experience, especially if you are not petite: small, tight but excellent for getting in touch with yourself, literally. Elbows at your side, switching hands to scrub each side. Some rooms are not for tall people. I guess in the 30's, people were shorter. The beds are very cozy and comfortable, albeit if your are tall, you better plan to have your feet hang over the bed. Don't take these thing as a complaint. I have been to Deetjens many times over the years. It is a classic place in the heart of Big Sur.

Most rooms have some sort of heat system. Fire place, electric heating, gas heat, depending upon where your room is located. I does get chilly in Big Sur, even in the summer. So, you will need a little heat at night---or not.

For me, the lack of TVs, room phones, Wi-Fi, and cell service is a welcome break. Don't expect any of this service. If you, or your kids, ate totally addicted to electronic communications, this my be your place for rehab.

Room Tip: This trip was the second time we went with another couple. I you go with another couple I suggest yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I banged my head on the low beams of the Top Antique room more times than I could count (probably due to concussion) and the bed & shower combined to stretch my surgically-repaired spine to its limits, but if I ever make it back to Big Sur again you will find me at Deetjen's Big Sur Inn. This place is a Big Sur Classic - cute, romantic, relaxing, quaint. It's truly a place to disconnect, unwind and find yourself able to think...really think. Each room has its own uniqueness, the staff are friendly and knowledgable and the food is excellent. If you stay here, make sure to spend lots of quality time reading through the numerous journals of past guests and don't forget to say hi to Fabio the cat!...he's the one that really runs the show at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be forewarned!!! - there are NO tv's or phones in any of the rooms and there is NO cell phone or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

As the other reviewers stated...there are quirky things about this inn...paper thin walls, un-attached bathrooms, the smell of fireplace smoke (which I never tire of actually). But WHO CARES when the place is in the most beautiful setting in one of the most beautiful places in the US??? It was oozing with charm and beauty. We stayed in the lower creek cabin, and had a couple staying above us. Yes, you could here them walking around, but for some reason it sort of added to the character of the place. We loved, and used, the fireplace....and the kids thought it was great to snuggle up on the trundle bed in front of it to read. We hiked up to the the two different look outs which were stunning and a very easy 5-10 minute walk. There was a little kitchen with a sink in our cabin, but no fridge. There was a table though where you could eat or play cards etc...which was nice to have. We had dinner and breakfast at the Inn. The dining room alone is worth the trip...how cozy and cute can you get? The food was so-so...not bad at all, just nothing to write home about. Breakfast was great. The staff was also polite and helpful. Great location for doing day trips around Big Sur. Two nights would be sufficient here...though I could spend a whole summer escaping reality there!

Room Tip: We were a family of four and stayed in the Lower Creek Room. It did have a room upstairs (we were d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamasitaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in the Lower Creek House for two nights. It was very clean, and had a queen bed & two twin beds. The private bath was outside of the room, just a few steps across the hallway. It was nice that it wasn't part of the room. When we arrived, the room smelled of smoke from the fireplace, and when we left, all of my clothes smelled like a campfire. We did not attempt to make a fire while there.
I knew from the website and from the hotel staff that the walls are quite thin, and they're right! We were prepared with earplugs, but didn't need them. My cousin and his family were above us in the Upper Creek House room, and were very considerate of us & the noise. We did hear each time they walked on the floor, used the bathroom, etc., but it wasn't terrible.
The odd thing about these structures is that there's no way to lock the rooms from the outside, and there's a tiny little latch to lock them from the inside. It would be nice to have a real lock on the door that works from both outside and inside.
That said, it is a wonderful place in a beautiful setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Deetjen's.

Room Tip: The Creek House is away from the road and not attached to other rooms, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
1.5 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Property: Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9512
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing