We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
260
119
45
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
119
45
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranklin roomnon profitthin wallseggs benedictwood stovestayed two nightsdeetjensfiascoredwoodscabinlatchhighwaynorwegiangrandmacelllibrarynature
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at Deetjen's after it was recommended by several friends. We loved it. Set back in the redwoods, its location is stunning. We stayed in the Chalet room. It was cozy, warm (important since it poured both days we were there) and overlooked the creek running through the property. We watched bluejays hopping all around our window on both mornings. The grounds are beautiful.

Deetjen's is rustic--it's part of their overall philosophy. Come, sit, relax and ponder. Our room was very comfortable and clean but basic. Don't expect a multitude of amenities. The bathrooms are small and the walls thin. Some people have mentioned that Deetjen's expensive considering its overall rustic nature. That's very true--it is expensive. However, every inn in Big Sur is pricey. Deetjen's is unique and well worth the visit. Also, it is run as a non-profit and registered on the National Historic Landmark list.

The inn's restaurant is amazing but again expensive. They will cater to vegetarians and vegans. All the meals we had there were delicious. My only suggestion for Deetjen's is this: considering the price of accommodations, a complimentary continental breakfast in addition to the free tea and coffee currently offered, would be nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed in Deetjens on the 3rd March 2010. It is like escaping to another world. Away from cell phones, WiFi, flat screen TVs etc, you step back in time to wood burning stoves, time and space to read, have conversation or just have down time. We stayed in the 'New Room', it was wonderful. We appreciated the wood burning stove as the night was chilly, and we sat in our rocking chairs peacefully reading. We enjoyed an excellent dinner and recommend the steak and rack of lamb. Breakfast was really good with wonderful service. The location in a redwood glade is amazing. All in all it was a real treat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBelleDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This hotel isn't for everyone. It's rustic- read unchanged in structure, decor and amenities from the early 20th century. The board-plank walls offer no sound proofing, no privacy. The room we stayed in was heated by a wood burning stove. There is little space to park. If none of these are major dealbreakers, then consider the rest. Deep coastal forest, serene and beautiful setting, peaceful surroundings, and a chance to stay in it's midst. Steps away is some of the best food in the entire Big Sur/Los Padres coast, breakfast and dinner. Walk up the steep dirt road to the look out perched high atop, for a sweeping view of the forest and coast. Relax and enjoy yourself- from the library, the small, homely comfort of the unique rooms, and more. The staff are some of the most laid back, and welcoming I've met. This is a magical place, out of time, and hard to classify or describe. Rough serenity is close.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suncia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Gorgeous restful and calming ... The whole experience was so soothing.
as night fell we could see the misty woods through the slats in our wood cabin...smell the pine trees and hear the stream. This was after a lovely meal in the restaurant. Magical and meditational ....

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freakboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My wife and I spent three nights here based on a friend's recommendation. The food in their restaurant was consistently delicious and satisfying. Deetjen's service was excellent! They have a nicely chosen wine list with reasonable prices. Besides looking forward to the meals we loved our accommodations. It wasn't fancy but it was comfortable and unique. Our room, The Faraway Room, had it's own wood burning fireplace and enough space to sit around, read and relax. We felt "faraway" from the busy life of a city. The rooms are like little cabins nestled in a small canyon with ample parking and easy access. Deetjens is located just a few miles from several state parks and a couple of much fancier resorts. Those are fun to visit to compare and to take in their view(s) of the foothills and ocean. Those places are hundreds to over a thousand dollars more per night and aren't that much different than other resorts in that category. Deetjens and The Big Sur Inn is totally a one of a kind experience. The locals seemed to go there for breakfast or to meet for a glass of wine in the evening. It feels like a bit of history is being preserved and it's not about to change. We also laughed at the comments written in the journals/diaries left for that purpose in our room. Every room has eight to ten diaries going back about ten years. Guests may write about their experience and they vary from being philosophical to "naughty". I highly recommend staying here if you're willing to look for perfection in imperfection. It was a wonderful stay and we look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank topazhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews