We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
262
120
45
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
120
45
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews franklin room non profit thin walls eggs benedict wood stove stayed two nights deetjens fiasco redwoods cabin latch highway norwegian grandma cell library nature
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I liked the concept of Deetjean's, but not the reality. For nearly $200/night, the carpet should not be stained, the curtains and window screen should not be torn, the bedspread should not be dirty, and the mattress should not be lumpy and without a box spring. None of these things would cost very much to repair or replace, but have been neglected.

Those looking for peace and quiet should also look elsewhere--Deetjean's is located right on the highway and you will hear traffic from Hwy 1 all night long.

I grew up on the coast of Northern California and understand the concept of quaint country living, but this this hotel is not worth more than $100/night max.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natasha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here with husband and 12 yr old daughter in the Antique apartment cabin and we loved it.
I liked the fact that all of the cabins are different, each with individual style-some small and cosy for couples, others like little houses suitable for larger families or groups.

The place was spotless, the service was good, and the food was absolutely excellant, both at dinner and at breakfast. Be aware that you can't add meals onto your room bill and have to pay for them all at the time they are taken.

I loved thewood burning stove ( although we didn't get the chance to use it in August), and loved falling asleep to the sound of the creek flowing in the nearby canyon.

It is in a great location on the coast with amazing views from a lookout on the hillside above the cabins.

My only criticism is that we could hear traffic on the road at night (other cabins may be quieter), and the walls were very thin so your neighbours can hear everything and vice versa!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We travelled to the Big Sur Inn from camping in Yosemite Parknand some of us were expecting a bit of slick modern luxury but that isn't what the Big Sur Inn about. It's a wonderful place where everything and every member of staff is individual. The rooms are lovely and the restaurant is unquestionably one of the best in the World. It is expensive but certainly not overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had two great nights at this incredible place and really enjoyed the peace and beauty. I would recommend it with this reservation - the accommodation will not be everyone's idea of heaven and it is a bit on the pricey side - so read the reviews carefully before deciding if it's for you. We had an idea of what to expect and it did not disappoint. The Champagne room was comfortable with a tiny WC / shower room and a wonderful wood burning stove (a necessity in May!). The restaurant was incredibly good with locally sourced food and great local wines. Best of all though was the feeling of tranquility, and of being part of a very special and magical place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David56W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Positive:
Rooms:lovely old room full of character and antiques. We stayed in Grandpa's room. It is really big, has a fire place and an old record player. It looks very cosy and romantic

Restaurant: Nice cosy restaurant with good food.

Not so good:
Staff: they think they are too cool for school. They do their job while on another cloud. They all look and act spaced out. Dont ask them for too much, I asked for an iron and it was like I had asked for a free nights stay

Rooms: OK you hear every single sound your neighbour makes and I mean EVERY single sound. There is NO privacy and I would NOT recommend this place for a romantic getaway with a lover if you know what I mean.

Price: Overall food and rooms are pricey

All in all it is OK but not too excited about Deetjens

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews