We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
260
119
45
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
119
45
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranklin roomnon profitthin wallseggs benedictwood stovestayed two nightsdeetjensfiascoredwoodscabinlatchhighwaynorwegiangrandmacelllibrarynature
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Lots of holes - ways they could make the rooms more reflective of the price - but this is a unique stop-off. Breakfast not included (but worth having...). Walk up the track to get amazing ocean views.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked Deetjens over the phone some 4 months before our intended visit. There was no way to book online so we called the reservations line. The staff were really nice and very helpful. We received our booking confirmation by international post after 2 weeks. We arrived at Deetjens having been traveling for several days touring Sonoma and Nappa and we were looking forward to a few car-free days. We booked Castro's Cabin, and on arrival we were guided up through the woods to the back of Deetjens where the cabin nestles amongst some Californian Redwoods. Our cabin was small with a double bed, chest of drawers with a separate shower. It was all very comfortable and cosy.

Breakfasts at Deetjens really set you up for a days exploring Big Sur. Great choice and good value. The stack of blueberry pancakes were amazing. There's not much in the way of shops near Deetjens so I'd suggest getting provisions in en-route. We were very sorry to be leaving Deetjens having spent three nights in the relative isolation of our cabin.

The Cabins are relatively expensive, however staying at Deetjens is a fairly unique experience. There are no locks on the doors so we kept our valuables in our rental car overnight. Despite this, we felt very safe and encountered no problems whatsoever.

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Deeetjens, it's not only a great place to explore the Big Sur area, but a wonderful place to unwind with some good books and a few bottles of Sonoma's finest.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmsubscriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I liked the concept of Deetjean's, but not the reality. For nearly $200/night, the carpet should not be stained, the curtains and window screen should not be torn, the bedspread should not be dirty, and the mattress should not be lumpy and without a box spring. None of these things would cost very much to repair or replace, but have been neglected.

Those looking for peace and quiet should also look elsewhere--Deetjean's is located right on the highway and you will hear traffic from Hwy 1 all night long.

I grew up on the coast of Northern California and understand the concept of quaint country living, but this this hotel is not worth more than $100/night max.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natasha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here with husband and 12 yr old daughter in the Antique apartment cabin and we loved it.
I liked the fact that all of the cabins are different, each with individual style-some small and cosy for couples, others like little houses suitable for larger families or groups.

The place was spotless, the service was good, and the food was absolutely excellant, both at dinner and at breakfast. Be aware that you can't add meals onto your room bill and have to pay for them all at the time they are taken.

I loved thewood burning stove ( although we didn't get the chance to use it in August), and loved falling asleep to the sound of the creek flowing in the nearby canyon.

It is in a great location on the coast with amazing views from a lookout on the hillside above the cabins.

My only criticism is that we could hear traffic on the road at night (other cabins may be quieter), and the walls were very thin so your neighbours can hear everything and vice versa!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We travelled to the Big Sur Inn from camping in Yosemite Parknand some of us were expecting a bit of slick modern luxury but that isn't what the Big Sur Inn about. It's a wonderful place where everything and every member of staff is individual. The rooms are lovely and the restaurant is unquestionably one of the best in the World. It is expensive but certainly not overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews