We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Post Ranch Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$886
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
US$505
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$671
US$473
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lucia Lodge(Big Sur)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveller rating
981
101
49
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
101
49
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssierra martree housepacific suiteinfinity poolbutterfly roomupper coastglass of champagnethe cliffworth every pennymini barupper butterflyocean viewhot tubstocked fridgeheaven on earthbucket listcrackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you get a chance to spend at least one day at a Resort in California, this is the place. The views of the Pacific Ocean are perfection. Our room overlooked the Pacific Ocean with a view one would die for. We were in heaven. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was gracious and welcoming. A far cry from the disaster we experienced earlier visiting Santa Barbara (actually Goleta) and this visit literally saved our California visit. The northern California coastline is some of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen. Post Ranch captures that all. The restaurant is amazing, sitting high over the ocean with it's spectacular views. The service was top notch and food was excellent.

We were pampered every minute of our stay. We found ourselves staying in our room most the time just resting and relaxing while enjoying the breathtaking view. This place is peaceful and quiet and not like the big Resorts where you hear everything around the property. You can take great hikes while on the property that add to the experience. This is California at it's best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Incredibly quiet and serene, postcard views (while we were here the ocean was covered in fog, making the view in that direction look like flying in a plane over the clouds),and an exceptional staff. I'm writing this on the deck of one of their, I don't know what they call them, tree houses, looking out into the forest. They are generous with free wine, water, and snacks.

I don't know a better way to get away from the modern world. It's expensive, but if you can afford it, it's worth it.

Room Tip: They're all great, as far as I can tell. They either face the ocean or the forested mountains. It's Big Sur.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KenFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Truly one of the world's most lovely hotels. It's expensive but worth every penny. We had a fantastic meal at what must be one of the most romantic restaurants we've ever been to. Being surrounded by nature, perched on a cliff high about the ocean makes the location truly special. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Glap2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I have wanted to stay here for 20 years......and finally we splurged and did it.
Post Ranch Inn's location is simply stunning.
We were greeted with champagne upon checkin in main house. We stayed in the butterfly house and felt like we were staying in our own little romantic treehouse, rustic luxe. The beds were super comfy, especially with the fire crackling at night. Fabulous well stocked minibar with artisan snacks, cheese, wine,etc.
The breakfast spread at Sierra Mar includes just about anything you'd want....and if it wasn't on display, they'll make whatever you want. The homemade scones were delicious!
We spent our days hiking on and off property and relaxing by the gorgeous infinity edge pool with ocean views. It's very small and intimate.
Service, including all of the Lexus trips around Big Sur, were a nice plus.
Yoga classes were okay, intended for all levels. Spa treatments, especially the natural facials, were relaxing and quaint.

Sierra Mar is a beautiful restaurant and very romantic to watch sunset. Food was pretty good but not our favorite in Big Sur. I would highly recommend getting a reservation at Big Sur Bakery and restaurant. They have absolutely delicious food! We also liked our dinner at Deetjen's.

I will always remember our romantic stay here and look forward to returning some day (maybe we will splurge for an ocean front room).
Be ready to relax and enjoy the laid back Big Sur stunning setting!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank yogamom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We splurged on two nights here and I'm really glad we did. I won't spend ages repeating what others have said but I can confirm that the views are spectacular, the room (we had an upper coast house) was beautiful and the staff were lovely and helpful. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but we did have the breakfast and ordered some room service. We're not big cooked breakfast fans so it was great that the pastry, fruit and granola selection was brilliant, quite often that's an afterthought to the cooked breakfast even in good hotels. The room service ended up arriving a little late because the was some sort of confusion (that I still don't quite understand) but they were very apologetic when it got to us and it was still warm and tasted great. We spent loads of time walking round the grounds and saw deer and wild birds, and the infinity pools are beautiful.

The best thing for me was the attention to detail: at the time of booking they ask if it's special occasion and we said it was our honeymoon. When we arrived they gave us a little congratulation card, with a half bottle of champagne. But more importantly each time we spoke with a different member of staff in reception they mentioned it and said congratulations. They're only little things but it makes a real difference to a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews