We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensitively Designed Gem on the Pacific Coast”
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at Post Ranch Inn (PRI) recently and was quite bowled over by the envronmentally friendly design, location, rooms, views, infinity hot tub and service. While this is a very expensive property, it is worth every penny of the experience. I was upgraded to an ocean view room the first night and stayed in a treehouse the last two nights. Both were great with amazing, but different views. The resort is very quiet, nestled on a cliff above the pacific ocean. The infinity hot tub overlooking the coast is a beautiful place to enjoy the views and relax and read. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable and had ready to light log fireplaces. The resort is high enough that even when fog is clinging to the coastline you can enjoy the sun above the fog. Great yoga classes and hiking trails are on the property...and there is even better hiking at the parks nearby. I am already planning my next trip to PRI! The only downside was the PRI bottled (in glass containers) water. It tasted like clorine, even when put in the PRI supplied metal water bottles. There was a stocked refrigerator with complimentary snacks that were yummy. And the breakfast, which is included, is extensive and fabulous. Dinner at Sierra Mar, the restaurant on the property was good as well.

Room Tip: The ocean rooms are to die for, but the treehouses are very cool as well. The tree houses not direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Junebughiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

PRI was exactly what we were looking for on our first visit to the CA coast. Room view was our main criteria, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the ocean house room we had, cliff side, on the Pacific with a balcony. My wife loved the window seat overlooking the ocean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were excellent and the setting is just beautiful. At nearly $2K a night for a primo view room it is very pricey, but it is truly an exceptional place. Watched whales spout from the deck off our room. If we're ever back in this part of CA, this is where I'd want to stay again - it is worth the high price.

Room Tip: The ocean house or ocean view room is great. Free-standing room and balcony, totally private, right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at Post Ranch Inn for a belated birthday. What a treat! Spectacular in every way. The property is so unique consisting of multiple award winning architecture. Site placement of all buildings is impeccable.
We had a villa overlooking the Pacific Ocean several buildings up from the Dining Area. Our view was breath taking and mesmerizing! The villas a nice, a bit rustic in a sophisticated way and private.
Staff did a great job making our special stay even more special. Food was superb in a Ding Area perched over the pacific cliffs. There is also a small outdoor patio that was perfect for breakfast.
Overall, it is a treat that is so worth it. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

For our 20th anniversary my wife and I drove to Big Sur. Same route we took when we were dating, but now we can afford to reward ourselves a little.

Post Ranch Inn was ideal. the rooms felt so private and connected to the environment. It almost felt like we were camping. There is abundant wildlife . You can see wild turkeys, coastal birds, and if you forget binoculars there are some in your room! We could see the stars each night through the spacious glass in our "tree-house" style room.

The food was delicious, inventive and featured local sourcing. The service was exemplary. From the guys at the bell desk who can advise you on hikes around the property or Big Sur, to the restaurant staff, they were really attentive and friendly.The small number of guest rooms for the size of the property is what makes it feel so private and uncrowded.

If I had to find fault, the spa was small...No separate shower facilities for men and women, no whirlpool or steam rooms, but the massages were great. You have to walk a little to get to the larger pool or gym, but the grounds are so beautiful and there are small pools very near the rooms.
Expensive? we're no longer starving students, and I felt like the luxury we we treated to was worth every penny. This is the perfect retreat for a couple to appreciate each other in a spectacular natural setting.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: the treehouse rooms are as good as the ocean view...The forest is beautiful and we sat on the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MalibuNano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Everything is anticipated for any whim. While ocean views are wonderful, the tree house is a master suite 650 sq ft with cornerless windows, bringing the outdoors in. The real treat is the ' moon roof' over your bed --- windows in the ceiling to bring in the night sky. Up 1,500 feet from the ocean, the view from the salt water 'warming' pool with the invisible edge is exquisite. House made snacks in the frig were perfect after the day's hike to reduce the hunger pains before feasting at sunset. Included breakfast offered house-cured salmon with chive cream cheese with gluten free bages (which were tasteless).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you get a chance to spend at least one day at a Resort in California, this is the place. The views of the Pacific Ocean are perfection. Our room overlooked the Pacific Ocean with a view one would die for. We were in heaven. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was gracious and welcoming. A far cry from the disaster we experienced earlier visiting Santa Barbara (actually Goleta) and this visit literally saved our California visit. The northern California coastline is some of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen. Post Ranch captures that all. The restaurant is amazing, sitting high over the ocean with it's spectacular views. The service was top notch and food was excellent.

We were pampered every minute of our stay. We found ourselves staying in our room most the time just resting and relaxing while enjoying the breathtaking view. This place is peaceful and quiet and not like the big Resorts where you hear everything around the property. You can take great hikes while on the property that add to the experience. This is California at it's best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Incredibly quiet and serene, postcard views (while we were here the ocean was covered in fog, making the view in that direction look like flying in a plane over the clouds),and an exceptional staff. I'm writing this on the deck of one of their, I don't know what they call them, tree houses, looking out into the forest. They are generous with free wine, water, and snacks.

I don't know a better way to get away from the modern world. It's expensive, but if you can afford it, it's worth it.

Room Tip: They're all great, as far as I can tell. They either face the ocean or the forested mountains. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KenFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
374 reviews
22.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
22.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £692 - £1,559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Preferred Hotels and Cancelon so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing