We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 Star Roadside Motel”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

There are much more expensive places to stay in Big Sur with views of the coast and swanky restaurants but, for a fraction (seriously, like 80% less money) you can stay here among the big oak trees and enjoy what cruising around Big Sur back in the 50's must have been like... but with modern amenities like an electronically timed communal fire-pit, air conditioning and what I'm sure are much, much, nicer rooms. Great place to stay - did not get to check out the cabins but I heard good things about them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at Glen Oaks for my husband's birthday. We loved it! We had stayed at Post Ranch Inn previously, but it is a bit out of our current price range. Glen Oaks definitely doesn't have the same amenities as Post Ranch (no spa, no restaurant, no hot tubs on a cliff), but it is a beautiful, relaxing, comfortable and quiet place to stay. We stayed in one of the redwood cabins which are situated near the river. I would highly recommend splurging for one of the cabins. Lovely huge soaking tubs in the bathroom, we both fit easily! Each cabin has a fire pit, and there are s'mores kits in the rooms. Nice touch. All in all, it was lovely and we would go back. Definitely plan dinner and brunch at the Big Sur Bakery and Restaurant. Just down the road a bit, and they have excellent food and service. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camicentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I absolutely loved this place! I made my reservations rather late, so the Motor Lodge was the only thing available, but it was wonderful. They show you to your room when you check in and will make dinner reservations for you, if needed. I wish I had been there more than one night!

Room Tip: I would have loved to have stayed in one of the cabins if they had been available, but the motor lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We stopped at Glen Oaks for one night on our tour of highway one. We won't go into details but it is a must to stop here. Make sure you visit Pfieffer Beach for sunset and take advantage of the fire pit for marshmallow toasting. Would definatly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed at the Big Sur cabin for our anniversary while traveling down hwy 1. The room was amazing. The bedroom had a glass wall looking out to a private court yard with two claw foot tubs and a fire pit. We soaked in the tubs next to the fire underneath the redwood trees while we listened to the Big Sur river in the distance. It was magical! Helped ourselves to the s'mores kit and played some Jenga that was left with other board games. Bathroom was nice with heated floors and kitchen had a nook for both of us to sit at. This hotel is now my #1 hit jam. Would come back again all the way from Alabama. Front desk was great and can't say that I met anyone that was unfriendly during my stay at the Big Sur. thanks to everyone

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocknrolla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in a Little Sur Cabin (#8) and loved the property. The patio area was private and the fire pit was always well prepared. The cabin was cozy but had everything we needed including a very nice shower and a comfortable bed. The staff was very welcoming, and although we did not have any special requests for them, based on our treatment at check in and check out, they were clearly eager to make sure we had a good stay.

The location is right in the heart of Big Sur and was a short drive to the major parks and all the restaurants we wanted to visit. The cabins are across the street from the motel and in a private grove of Redwoods along the river. I do not know how the price compares to other properties nearby, but we were very pleased with what we got for our money and will definitely be staying here again if we return to Big Sur.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We enjoyed our 3 nights at Glen oaks. Motel with modernized rooms, has gas fireplaces, small fridg., safes,nice size bathrooms, heated floors,with large tiled shower for 2, & clean. Rooms don't have televisions (we didn't miss), they supply games if you really get too bored. Even though we were happy with our accommodations,we felt rates were a bit high. We enjoyed our hikes in Big Sur, did an 8 mile loop at Andrew Molera State Park, (recommended by the staff)took 4 hours, lovely views of the mountains & ocean......would do it again! Also, did some shorter hikes at Pfeiffer State Park, the falls, & Buzzard trail. Staff was also helpful, on restaurant recommendations, enjoyed Ventana for lunch, Ripplewood for breakfast (next store), drinks Nepenthe, & Post Ranch Inn. We also had great massages at Namaste body works, wonderful, really nice couple. Big Sur is a special place, would love to come back, & would stay at Glen Oaks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaWoodlandHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,156 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
382 reviews
18.9 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £163 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing