We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely nest in the woods”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I really enjoyed the cozy cabin, personal fire pit, and Big Sur river setting. Plus, local watering holes like the Fernwood Resort, with its great bar and deck, were just up the road. The price isn't cheap, but it's a nice slice of serenity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sullystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I took my girlfriend up the coast through Big Sur January 15th-19th, the first two nights we stayed at Glen Oaks Little Sur cabins.
The cabin was very tiny, however it was perfect for us! We absolutely loved the heated floors in the bathroom. The amenities provided made for a cozy stay, although I would not recommend sleeping with the windows open if your sensitive to smoke ( as I am ) because as we experienced, many other guests were out late with the fire pit going.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We only stayed here 1 night, but we wished we could have stayed longer! We were delighted to find we had been upgraded to a Fireside King suite, which was absolutely gorgeous! The combination of wooden and modern decor was beautiful, and the fire was amazing! There is no TV here, but there are board games and yoga mats provided in room. The bathroom's heated floor was soooooo wonderful, and the shower was really great, with good pressure. We purchased a s'mores kit from the front desk, and enjoyed this out by the fire pit. There's also a water feature close by, and it's lovely to spend time out there by the fire and listening to the water. Breakfast isn't included, but you can get this at the roadhouse over the highway. A fantastic stay in a gorgeous part of the world!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeonVenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My fiancé and I stayed in the Big Sur Cabin. Very romantic and SO relaxing.

Our cabin was off on the side by itself. You literally just need to walk a few feet from the cabin and the river was right there. It was like having our own private river! I enjoyed opening up the windows and listening to the sound of the water.

The cabin was clean and it had everything we needed...plus more. We really enjoyed the two tubs in the backyard with a fire pit. There were two separate firepits for this cabin. One by the tubs and one in the front of the cabin. We didn't need to start a fire from scratch. They had everything ready for us....all we had to do was throw a match in the fire pit and we had a fire

We agree with the other reviews....the heated floors were awesome!

This cabin had a mini kitchen. It was equipped with silverware, cups, bowls, wine opener, tea, oatmeal, and much more.

In the bedroom, in one of the cabinets, they had a few board games and yoga mats. I thought that was a nice touch, just in case it got "boring" at night. It was far from boring for the two of us. We didnt want to leave! We had a great time and my fiancé and I would like to go back.

I had to reserve the Big Sur Cabin almost two months in advance. It's obviously the BEST cabin (I thought so, and even the girl at the front desk said the same thing.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Loved our time at Glen Oaks. It was very cozy and romantic. We stayed here for two nights during the week from Christmas to New Years on our drive up the coast. It was very close to Pfeiffer State Park and we were able to do a morning hike, then grab some fish tacos for lunch and relax in the afternoon. This was a splurge for us, but worth every penny! The heated floors in the bathroom and fireplace were awesome, not to mention delicious food at the roadhouse was within walking distance! I would recommend this place if you want to treat yourself and splurge a bit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emgroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in a Fireside Queen room for 1 night. The room was reasonably small with little in the way of facilities. The bathroom was modern with a good shower. We ate well for dinner and breakfast at the Big Sur Roadhouse across the highway. I guess it might be supply and demand, but we paid more for this room before Xmas than we did at high quality resort hotels on our trip, such as Tenaya at Yosemite at New Year that included breakfast! For $100 less it would be reasonable value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We loved it. Spent two nights here over Christmas Eve and Day, was really perfect!
Kingsize room in the motor lodge - big and stylish and everything felt really clean and new. We were half way through a road trip down the California coast - and this was a real find.
Not cheap, but nothing in California seems to be, and there aren't many choices in the area and I think this was probably the best mid-range option. It had real style.

Also ate our Christmas dinner at their restaurant - highly recommended and surprisingly classy

We stayed in room 8

Room Tip: I only saw ours (room 8, kingsize motor lodge room, near the fire pit) No noise there and only neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
20.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.0 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £171 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing