We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Serene, Quiet”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Serene, Quiet”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Little Sur Cabins and absolutely loved it. The hotel is an easy find immediately off of Highway 1, but the cabins are actually located about a quarter mile up the road from the main lodge which you enter through your own private gate. The small cabin was stocked with wine and a s'mores kit (for a fee), mini fridge, microwave, sink, and a European modern/ rustic decor was lovely. We too, enjoyed the heated bathroom floors! We could lay in bed and hear the Little Sur River rushing through the red woods and had it not been pouring the day we got there, we would of loved to use our fire pit which had a "throw-in-a-match" ready fire already built for us. We really enjoyed not having T.V.s, I felt having one would of taken away from the quiet and ambiance of the whole experience. The Big Sur Roadhouse was also DELICIOUS! Huge recommendation for their breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We went to Nepenthe and for the view it's great, but the price and quality of food, go to Big Sur Roadhouse. We went once and came back twice the next day, it was that good! Over-all, it was the perfect outdoors - indoors get away and as a young couple, it was one of our most luxurious (and romantic) hotel experiences together.

There are only two things that could of easily made our experience a 5... We were a little disappointed in our bed. It was a little flat and stiff and the down pillows were so mushy we could of slept a bit better... Second, in our bathroom, when you flushed the toilet you got this kind of sewage smell that seemed like it was coming from the shower drain. Not sure what that was about. Not enough to totally disgust anyone, but enough that you noticed it. We just kept the bathroom door closed.

Don't let any of these minor flaws deter you from visiting Glen Oaks Big Sur. The whole experience was wonderful and I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone I know.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    330
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
94
897
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed just a night on our drive down the Coast on our honeymoon. We stayed in the lodge, and loved how simplistic, modern and Eco the room was. Bathroom was gorgeous with heated floor tiles. Actually loved that there was no TV in the room and just a game of Scrabble, which we had a lot of fun playing. A welcome break from ESPN I must say! Was fun staying right in the Big Sur, but try not to get in too late as it gets very dark, and there can be wildlife on the road, though its not hard to find the place. Was great waking up and going for a hike in such a beautiful part of California.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I really wanted to stay in Big Sur and found it challenging to find a decent hotel at a reasonable price. We were happy with this choice. I too loved the heated bathroom floors and comfy bed. The patio outside of the room was great and I loved the gardens and fire pit. I appreciate the idea of a retreat, but I think TVs should be available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Loved the small private courtyard, perfect location along big sur. The room is rustic looking but very clean and well laid out. Heated bathroom floors were a really nice touch and the shower was fantastic! The grounds were also very well taken care of.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2trvlfrmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This place is super cute and quaint and extremely well run. We checked in a little early since were driving past on our motorcycle on our way to ride the coast for the day. Hoping to unload some luggage but weren't able to since our room was not ready. However, we were given the key since we'd be back later than the main desk is manned. We were in room 9 which is right next to the fire pit (a little disappointing if you have people out there late talking) since we could hear them from the room.

Our room was an adobe king with a fireplace. The placement of the fireplace is odd right in front of the bed (which is great) but its double-sided and you can totally see the bed from the other side of the fireplace outside. Thankfully, there are locking doors and a cute little courtyard for the room with table and chairs.

The room was spacious and well appointed. The heated bathroom floors were amazing. Only two things that were off - noisy creeky bed and creeky floors - hard to hit the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking anyone up.

Other than that, stay was great and we will be back but hopefully will be able to try a different style room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had seen Glen Oaks in Sunset Magazine at one point and cut it out hoping one day I would get to stay here. Well, I recently spent 2 nights at Glen Oaks and only wish I could stay longer! It is one of the top hotels I have stayed at in my years of travel. It lives up to its great reviews. Comfiest of beds, beautiful decor, warm fireplace, heated bathroom floors, divine shower. Having a refrigerator is a must for us so it was great to have that here. The location is great. While the noise from Route 1 might be more annoying during peak season (we stayed in winter), it was not distracting. We had quiet, restful slumber both nights. We ate at the Roadhouse Grill across the street for one dinner and one breakfast. I would give the restaurant only 3.5 stars. Food was good, solid fare, but we experienced some challenges with service and item availability and quality. I absolutely must come back to this property!

Room Tip: Consider an upgrade to king size. It is absolutely wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We are in the midst of spending 3 days and nights at this most tranquil, restful motel in Big Sur. The room is large, clean, comfortable ( even has heated bathroom floors) And fairly quiet although alongside Hwy 1. The front desk person gave great advice about day hikes in the area. We ate all 3 dinners at their restaurant across the hwy and we're not disappointed. We even got chocolates in or room on Valentine's Day! Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luvToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,134 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
347 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing