We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!! Beautiful loved it!”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My Husband and I went here in May 2012 and this is were we stayed for 2 nights on our vacation to California it was beautiful and private. My husband asked me to marry him in big sur and it was just perfect we loved Glen Oaks we stayed in one of the little sur cabins it was so nice and we loved having camp fires and making smores every night!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and Federica,from Italy ,decided to extend our business with an extra tour to S.Francisco,crossing the Big Sur.
We spent only one night in Glen Oaks and had a meal in Nephete
Everything was perfect,in the cottage we slept : wide room,little amazing garden,fireplace lit ,comfortable bed,and a pleasant silence.....
Sure it 's worth stopping!
And then I reccomend to have a meal on the terrace of the nearby Nephete to enjoy an incredible view!

Room Tip: We slept in the 14 th cottage : perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Glen Oaks is absolutely wonderful! My daughter and I recently stayed in a Little Sur cabin. We absolutely loved our perfect little cabin set amongst towering redwoods and alongside a beautiful river. The cabin was perfect in every way, very comfortable bed, heated floors in the bathroom complimentary oatmeal, coffee and hot chocolate. The cabin was also stocked with wine and a s'mores kit. Our private fire pit under the redwoods was a perfect way to end a day spent hiking and whale watching. We spent two nights in a Little Sur cabin then moved across the road to The Adobe Motor Lodge and spent one wonderful night there. The Lodge's room and bath were a good bit bigger and while we did not have a private outdoor fire pit there was a fireplace in the bedroom and a community fire pit…fun. We did not have an opportunity to eat at the Big Sur Roadhouse but heard many great things about the restaurant. We did have the good fortune of having a great burger at the Big Sur Taphouse and an amazing breakfast and latte at the Big Sur Bakery. We can't wait to go back. Thank you for such an amazing visit!

Room Tip: Little Sur cabin number 7 is ideal. It is located close to the river and has an amazing private fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ct562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about Glen Oaks Big Sur! We stayed in the Big Sur Cabin which was amazing. The cabin was clean, decorated really cool, cozy, and had all the amenities we could want (including heated bathroom floors and two claw foot tubs on a private patio!). Our cabin was tucked away amongst the redwoods and made us feel like we were way out in nature. Our cabin sat just off of a little river which was so nice to sit at and read and have breakfast. There are chairs and picnic benches placed around the property so there are plenty of places to sit and relax or eat and enjoy the gorgeous scenery. Just a short hike up the hill was the Big Sur Roadhouse which we got espressos from in the morning and take-out lunch to bring with us on our hikes. The ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful and recommended hikes and provided maps so we always had something to see and knew exactly how to get there. The cherry-on-top was that we got engaged here and the manager was so sweet and let us keep the keychain to our cabin keys and let us take home some mugs to celebrate!

Glen Oaks is a magical lodge nestled in the most gorgeous California landscape. Absolutely a must-stay!

Room Tip: Big Sur Cabin if you want a romantic couples getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The overall feeling of Glen Oaks is that of a small, family-run motor inn that followed the good advice and fine eye of a hip interior designer. Natural materials are combined with a modernist aesthetic to create a fine ambience including gas fireplace, heated stone floor bathroom, very comfortable classic modern furniture, and fresh ice water in the frig. Highly recommended. Clean, quiet, and affordable.

Room Tip: 1A is a King Room near the office; quiet and private with security gate and small garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Electra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Big Sur is beautiful and Glen Oaks is a great place to stay at. To be honest I feel it's hard to come by good and functional design in CA, but this place got it all. The rooms are rather small (we stayed at "Fireside Queen"), but it does not matter at all. The gas fire places are awesome! The prices are still ok. The only downside was the music from their restaurant accross the street - it's not too loud, but we stayed for 5 nights and listening constantly to the music instead of the sound of the surrounding nature was not so nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H01092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Little Sur Cabins and absolutely loved it. The hotel is an easy find immediately off of Highway 1, but the cabins are actually located about a quarter mile up the road from the main lodge which you enter through your own private gate. The small cabin was stocked with wine and a s'mores kit (for a fee), mini fridge, microwave, sink, and a European modern/ rustic decor was lovely. We too, enjoyed the heated bathroom floors! We could lay in bed and hear the Little Sur River rushing through the red woods and had it not been pouring the day we got there, we would of loved to use our fire pit which had a "throw-in-a-match" ready fire already built for us. We really enjoyed not having T.V.s, I felt having one would of taken away from the quiet and ambiance of the whole experience. The Big Sur Roadhouse was also DELICIOUS! Huge recommendation for their breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We went to Nepenthe and for the view it's great, but the price and quality of food, go to Big Sur Roadhouse. We went once and came back twice the next day, it was that good! Over-all, it was the perfect outdoors - indoors get away and as a young couple, it was one of our most luxurious (and romantic) hotel experiences together.

There are only two things that could of easily made our experience a 5... We were a little disappointed in our bed. It was a little flat and stiff and the down pillows were so mushy we could of slept a bit better... Second, in our bathroom, when you flushed the toilet you got this kind of sewage smell that seemed like it was coming from the shower drain. Not sure what that was about. Not enough to totally disgust anyone, but enough that you noticed it. We just kept the bathroom door closed.

Don't let any of these minor flaws deter you from visiting Glen Oaks Big Sur. The whole experience was wonderful and I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone I know.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
20.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
374 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.0 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
530 reviews
17.4 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#5 of 25 in Carmel
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £169 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing