We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just loved this place.”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We just loved this place.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We had a cabin in the back. Totally private. The place looked small as we walked in but it wasn't. Just right for 2. The electrically run pot-bellied stove was so charming to sit next to but even better when you'd wake up in the night and see its warm and toasty flames. They had really thought out the kitchen. Lots of plates, silverware, cups, glasses, etc. Didn't even need my own wine opener-there was a good one. And wine you could buy if you wanted to. The orange Smeg fridge was cheerful. Loved the Pendelton wool blankets and comfy bed. The heated bathroom floors were great too. Perfect location in Big Sur and pretty reasonable for what you get. I guess you can tell, my husband and I were happy we chose this place and highly recommend for others. The staff were great and have put a lot of thought into making guests happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    327
    72
    19
    11
See reviews for
92
880
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I just spent a few days at the little cabin. the surroundings are amazingly beautiful. The cabin was a little smaller than I was expecting but was very nice and modern. The resort is in a great location very close to anything you would want to do in Big Sur.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The property and grounds are lovely. Too bad the reception and staff are not. We called to let reception know we would be arriving after 9pm. There is NO staff or service after 9pm. When you arrive they tape your info to the door of the reception building, leave the door to your room unlocked with the key inside.

The lack of hospitality and service is shocking given the price of the rooms. If you don't want people from out of town or the City to come stay at your property don't rent them rooms. Especially when your group rents 80% of your property for the weekend.

Bottom line the property is nice, a little unsettling to have bug traps in every corner of every room, no cell coverage, no tv, spotty wifi, and very few electrical outlets in very odd places.

Would hope a property this beautiful could match staff with similar attitudes towards it's revenue generating guests.

Room Tip: Get a riverside cabin so you can enjoy the views and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent a week traveling through California's central coast visiting wineries and sight seeing in Monterey. The goal was to spend some time together before meeting up with a couple of our good friends and eloping in the Big Sur area.The redwoods had been an important spiritual part of our love story since the beginning and it was almost mandatory that we say our vows in this magical environment. We booked Glen Oaks based on TripAdvisor reviews and photographs that were posted online. We knew this was the place we wanted however we were anxious having never seen it and told each other when we got to Big Sur we would scout out other locations if Glen Oaks was not everything we had hoped. As soon as we arrived we ask to see our cottage (No. 8) and as soon as we did we both just smiled. It was perfect, Better than we dared dream. Our own redwood grove with a fire pit, a couple Adirondack chairs sitting idyllically in a well groomed space in front of our little cottage. The staff could not have been more helpful and our ceremony was every thing we dreamed. Do not miss an opportunity to stay here enjoy the cottage, beautiful creek and scenic walk through the forest to the Roadhouse for a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Little Sur Cabin No. 8, Land lines only but wifi is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrymcballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My friend and I were very impressed when we first arrived...the room was very nicely decorated, with details like a heated stone floor in the bathroom and a private patio. Unfortunately, it didn't meet its most basic purpose...giving us a place to sleep. There was a very loud party going on outside that seemed to be coming from several rooms - it sounded like a frat party. At about 1:00 am, I finally gave up on it ending and called the after hours number. The man who answered the number apologized and promised to take care of it. When it was still going strong another half hour later, I called again. He said that he had come down and told them to quiet down, that he was surprised they were still going, and that he'd come down again. Still no improvement. We laid there awake for probably another hour or so, until maybe 2:30, and eventually got so tired after a long day of driving that we got to sleep despite the continuing noise.

So...if your goal is to party until dawn, this apparently is the place to do it. If you want to enjoy a quiet night in peaceful, natural surroundings, like we did, you'd probably be better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davest010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Big Sur Cabin for our anniversary weekend.

What we liked:
* The cabin was farthest away from other guests we felt like we had the whole area to ourselves
* We liked the fireplace
* Room was comfortable and warm

We wished:
* There was a hot plate in the kitchen. We wanted to stay in and enjoy the cabin but it was hard to make a meal without at least a hotplate. We weren't sure if we could cook in the fire pit outside. . . FOr the price of the cabin we would at least expect some sort of stove. We would have LOVED to make some eggs for breakfast and enjoy outside.

Overall, we recommend Glen Oaks, just make sure the cabin you choose fits your cooking needs. And plan to eat out, or bring cold food otherwise. . . .

Room Tip: If you plan to cook make sure you get a cabin with appropriate equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay in one of the Fireside Lodge Queen rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful from booking through check-out. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable, clean and well-equipped with everything you need for a pleasant stay. The fire pit outside of our room was a wonderful touch. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the affiliated restaurant across the road the next morning. I can't wait to return for a longer stay in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownstone777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
15.3 mi away
Blue Sky Lodge
Blue Sky Lodge
#3 of 5 in Carmel Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Glen Oaks Big Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing