We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Nearby Hotels
US$1,439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$2,461
US$2,225
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
US$635
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$489
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lucia Lodge(Big Sur)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,237 results
Traveller rating
793
339
74
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
339
74
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated floorsmotor lodgelittle sur cabinfire pitbathroom floormid centurydonutsthe riverprivate patios'mores kitroad houseking roomview cabinboard gamesfiltered watermini fridgeandrew molera state park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 1,237 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We had a cabin in the back. Totally private. The place looked small as we walked in but it wasn't. Just right for 2. The electrically run pot-bellied stove was so charming to sit next to but even better when you'd wake up in the night and see its warm and toasty flames. They had really thought out the kitchen. Lots of plates, silverware, cups, glasses, etc. Didn't even need my own wine opener-there was a good one. And wine you could buy if you wanted to. The orange Smeg fridge was cheerful. Loved the Pendelton wool blankets and comfy bed. The heated bathroom floors were great too. Perfect location in Big Sur and pretty reasonable for what you get. I guess you can tell, my husband and I were happy we chose this place and highly recommend for others. The staff were great and have put a lot of thought into making guests happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I just spent a few days at the little cabin. the surroundings are amazingly beautiful. The cabin was a little smaller than I was expecting but was very nice and modern. The resort is in a great location very close to anything you would want to do in Big Sur.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The property and grounds are lovely. Too bad the reception and staff are not. We called to let reception know we would be arriving after 9pm. There is NO staff or service after 9pm. When you arrive they tape your info to the door of the reception building, leave the door to your room unlocked with the key inside.

The lack of hospitality and service is shocking given the price of the rooms. If you don't want people from out of town or the City to come stay at your property don't rent them rooms. Especially when your group rents 80% of your property for the weekend.

Bottom line the property is nice, a little unsettling to have bug traps in every corner of every room, no cell coverage, no tv, spotty wifi, and very few electrical outlets in very odd places.

Would hope a property this beautiful could match staff with similar attitudes towards it's revenue generating guests.

Room Tip: Get a riverside cabin so you can enjoy the views and grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent a week traveling through California's central coast visiting wineries and sight seeing in Monterey. The goal was to spend some time together before meeting up with a couple of our good friends and eloping in the Big Sur area.The redwoods had been an important spiritual part of our love story since the beginning and it was almost mandatory that we say our vows in this magical environment. We booked Glen Oaks based on TripAdvisor reviews and photographs that were posted online. We knew this was the place we wanted however we were anxious having never seen it and told each other when we got to Big Sur we would scout out other locations if Glen Oaks was not everything we had hoped. As soon as we arrived we ask to see our cottage (No. 8) and as soon as we did we both just smiled. It was perfect, Better than we dared dream. Our own redwood grove with a fire pit, a couple Adirondack chairs sitting idyllically in a well groomed space in front of our little cottage. The staff could not have been more helpful and our ceremony was every thing we dreamed. Do not miss an opportunity to stay here enjoy the cottage, beautiful creek and scenic walk through the forest to the Roadhouse for a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Little Sur Cabin No. 8, Land lines only but wifi is available.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrymcballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My friend and I were very impressed when we first arrived...the room was very nicely decorated, with details like a heated stone floor in the bathroom and a private patio. Unfortunately, it didn't meet its most basic purpose...giving us a place to sleep. There was a very loud party going on outside that seemed to be coming from several rooms - it sounded like a frat party. At about 1:00 am, I finally gave up on it ending and called the after hours number. The man who answered the number apologized and promised to take care of it. When it was still going strong another half hour later, I called again. He said that he had come down and told them to quiet down, that he was surprised they were still going, and that he'd come down again. Still no improvement. We laid there awake for probably another hour or so, until maybe 2:30, and eventually got so tired after a long day of driving that we got to sleep despite the continuing noise.

So...if your goal is to party until dawn, this apparently is the place to do it. If you want to enjoy a quiet night in peaceful, natural surroundings, like we did, you'd probably be better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davest010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews