We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable setting to relax and de-stress from the world.....”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable setting to relax and de-stress from the world.....”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I visited Glen Oaks Motel during the weekend of the U.S. Open (June 18th/19th) due in part because we could not find a room until Sunday, June 20th in Pebble Beach. BUT oh what a huge find in Big Sur, one amazing motor lodge: Glen Oaks. We stayed in the "Fireside Guest Suite - King" room five with a pvt patio. Our room did not have the two sided gas fireplace (where you could view the gas fire from either your pvt patio and/or your bedroom), no big deal to us since the room is so pvt (backing up against a hill, surrounded by trees, away from the parking lot/cars and Hwy 1, corner room) the room was superb, we kept our bedroom and bathroom windows open at night while the bedroom gas fireplace was on (Hwy 1 noise was not an issue to us). The room was beautiful, cozy and clean, king bed was very comfortable (blankets, sheets, pillows all wonderful) we esp. loved the heated bathroom floor. In other words, we loved our room. We had no complaints during our two day stay. Yes there are no cell phone "bars" but really when you visit Big Sur do you really need to talk on your cell phone? WiFi works great at Glen Oaks and/or drive up the hill four miles to get cell bars. There is an outdoor gas fireplace/benches to sit and chat with fellow guests while enjoying a night cap and taking in the view of the beautiful stars (Jake and I met a great couple from Long Beach Friday night who were also attending the U.S. Open, we could have talked all night with them). My husband and I drove from LA to Glen Oaks on Friday, Hwy 1 (six hr drive), checked-in (welcoming/friendly staff), unpacked and headed out for dinner at Nepenthe Restaurant (about five miles from Glen Oaks) for a beautiful sunset dinner. The view of the Pacific Ocean from the cliff top of Nepenthe will seriously take your breath away at its beauty of Big Sur. IF you miss the sunset, no worries, the beautiful interior restaurant with the wood burning fireplace, tall silver candelabra's/red candles noted on the dinner tables and pillows scattered around will do for a romantic dinner. We had brunch the next day at Big Sur Bakery -- GREAT (about three miles from Glen Oaks). The staff, food and outdoor patio was so perfect for brunch. Drove into Carmel for Saturday afternoon/evening and spent our day on Carmel Beach until dark, where I surprised my husband with a romantic bonfire at sunset (www.romanticroomdesigns.com). As my husband stated "I punk'd him", the bonfire setting was PERFECT!!! Overall, our trip to Glen Oaks was truly a little piece of heaven!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy_scott_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    330
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
94
897
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Pros - great location, heated bathroom floors were amazing, indoor fireplace, outside fire pit great for relaxation at night, clean

Cons - really itchy, uncomfortable sheets and pillow cases, staff wasn't big on hospitality

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed at Glen Oaks Big Sur to be close to Pfeiffer State Park and, overall, enjoyed our stay.
-Location: Big Sur is spread out along highway 1 among redwood trees and the California coast. The motel is right off of highway 1. Unfortunately, this means that there's noise from the highway pretty much constantly.
-Rooms. Beautifully designed to complement the natural surroundings. Our queen room had its own outdoor sitting area, a couple of chairs inside, a couple games (Jenga/scrabble) as there is no television (but free WiFi), a refrigerator, and bathroom with heated tile floors. Clean and very comfortable. Charming with a great sense of place.
-Amenities. A nice outdoor firepit. Coffee in the check-in area (since there is no in-room coffee).
-Advantages/disadvantages: This place has a lot of character. As mentioned earlier, the noise from Highway 1 might keep light sleepers awake. Big Sur is beautiful but the restaurant options are limited and expensive. Consider day hikes and staying and eating in Carmel, where, surprisingly, hotels and restaurants are a better value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwh_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley View Hot Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Not at all like a typical motel room except for the size. Definitely a "Zen cool", artsy kind of feeling, a beautiful bathroom, radiant heat, comfortable bed, very nice landscaping, a nice gas fireplace in the room and one outside to hang out by and share wine with other guests in the evening. Road noise was not an issue at all for us. Not cheap by any means but reasonably priced for Big Sur. I'd go back there in a heartbeat and certainly plan on staying there next time we are visiting Big Sur.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlorenz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

The best of both worlds, really. As for cell service - if you want it, do not stay in Big Sur (period). There is, however, free wifi if you want to catch up or skype. Locals are quite knowledgable about the "hot spots" for cell service - even specific to your carrier, and they worked like a charm for us. We stayed in Room 4, and the rustic chic furnishings were fabulous. Indoor/outdoor fireplace was just perfect for enjoying a bottle of Per Cazo Zing under the starlit forest after dinner. There's even a cozy outdoor fire pit where you can mingle with other guests. As an earlier review indicated, they do not have A/C, but surrounded by the trees and ocean breeze I'm not sure one would ever need it here.

Great location -- just cross the street to Big Sur Roadhouse for happy hour and dinner (SALSA!), and in the morning walk around the corner for breakfast at the Ripplewood Cafe (french toast & cappuccino were delish). Given all the property has to offer and the alternatives in the area, Glen Oaks is priced just right. Book ahead! We will definitely stay here again - really, really well done.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysocal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

After being in the car for most of the day this place was a sight for sore eyes. We bagged the last room by around 5 minutes! The room (#1) was well furnished and very comfortable. Not cheap ($250) but probably good value for Big Sur. No tv, great normally but less so with the World Cup on, at least if you are a footie fan. A voucher is available for the Roadhouse opposite but in all honesty, drive down then road for 5 minutes and grab yourselves a better meal with atmosphere at the Big Sur Riverside Inn. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_P_Guin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, MS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Glen Oaks was a pleasure to stay at this summer. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Cottage, which was furnished with a combination of antique type furniture, wicker and modern appliances. The heated bathroom floor was a nice touch on the cool mornings as was the fireplace. It's close to the heart of the "town" near some great hiking and beaches, and a short drive to great food at Nepenthe and Big Sur Bakery. There was some road noise from Hwy 1, but anywhere along here, with the exception of super-cool, super expensive Post Ranch Inn, or a campground by a stream off the highway, has to be expected. Wi-Fi was nice to have also in place of the lack of 3G.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,134 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
347 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing