We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect contemporary 'shack'!”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at Glen Oaks for 2 nights as part of a road trip honeymoon and of all the 9 hotels we stayed at on our trip, Glen Oaks wins as our favourite. We stayed in the Archie lodge, which is a separate accommodation to the back of the site. From the outside, it's cute and unassuming, but inside is a surprisingly sharp, contemporary and comfortable space. The room is not massive and expensive, but the isolation and comfort of the lodge more than makes up for this. We look forward to returning for an anniversary visit!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendwanderer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

What a wonderful place to visit and stay. We stayed in one of the duplex cabins, #5, in mid August. It's a very quiet spot under a grove of redwoods near the river. Though the cabins are a bit cozy, they were just fine for the two of us. We used the fire pit every evening and really appreciated that the fire was laid out every day and all we had to do was light a match. The cabin had organic coffees, teas and soaps provided in it. We brought in good breads, veggies and cheeses and had yummy breakfasts there every morning. Enjoyed discovering the restaurants of the Big Sur area too. The only drawback of the entire area is the lack of cell phone service but this didn't bother us. We were able to get it at the Glen Oaks along with free WiFi. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I just stayed here for three nights to celebrate our anniversary. We had "King" Room No. 5, which was far from the road and felt isolated/romantic. The rooms are beautifully appointed, comfortable and warm -- heated by a gas fireplace. The location of this hotel is fantastic -- it is on the Northern end of Big Sur, super close to Big Sur Bakery, Andrew Molera State Park, Ventana Inn and Post Ranch Inn. It is right next door to Ripplewood, so there is a convenient breakfast place and market just steps away - and the Big Sur Roadhouse is right across the street (sadly, we never made it there).

We did not hear our neighbors at all (although the hotel was fully booked) and we also found the front desk people to be helpful and friendly, if somewhat daffy. All in all, I did not experience any of the disappointments that others have written about on this site. The stay was perfect.

I would highly recommend this hotel as the place to stay in Big Sur, especially if you plan to visit PRI or Ventana Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Glen Oaks was a fantastic place to stay. My wife and I enjoyed our honeymoon here at the end of July. We stayed in the Duplex cabins - number 6 - it looked like number 8 had the best camp fire spot. They were all very isolated from one another by way of the trees. The cabins are off Hwy1 on the other side of the road from the main 'motor lodge'. The cabins are very modern, tastefully decorated and sit in the middle of a Redwood forest close enough to a river that you can hear it soon as you step outside - about 40 or 50 feet away. You can tell instantly that a lot of trouble was taken so as not to disturb the giant trees and the peaceful atmosphere they create. The temperatures were a bit of a shock for us coming from North Carolina - they were in the low 50's in the morning and lower 70's during the day. Each evening we would build a camp fire in the fire ring just outside of the cabin. Most mornings we would do the same enjoying the complimentary gourmet coffee while we read by the fire. The fire wood was also complementary and an endless supply. The heated bathroom floors were one of my favorite luxuries - very nice on the chilly mornings. This is an excellent place to go if you enjoy the great outdoors but have an appreciation for the convenience of modern luxury!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phatboyboogaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

This was just lovely. Our cabin was beautifully equipped, with under floor heating, cooking facilities and lovely coffee. We also had a fire pit and private terrace, from which we could hear the sound of the river just yards away. The cabin was well soundproofed so we couldn't hear any other guests, it was like a private hideaway. Romantic and the best place to get the magic of Big Sur without extraterrestial prices. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexiflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I found the hotel based on reviews here. And I have to say I'm very happy. As some of the other reviewers have said or ready, the exterior of the hotel is just like any other road side hotel/motel. But the interior is very nice. We were in "cabin" number 7. Private little courtyard with a fireplace. The kids were very happy with their little private play area. The interior is decorated in the danish modern style, with a fiberglass shell chair.... The fireplace in the room makes the room very cozy at night (temperatures can be cold even in July!). The bathrooms were nicely done, with radiant heating on the floor. Sweet! There were even yoga mats in the room and a small fridge. There were plenty of clean soft towels in the room when we arrived. The room was very clean. There is hot coffee and hot water in the reception area. Our whole family loved this place. It is a bit expensive but very well worth it. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaanjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stopped here for one night on our way down the pacific coast highway to LA. we stopped in one of the log cabins down by the river. it was excellent and had everything we needed. the real highlight for me was the fire pit which came complete with everything you need to create a fire.

the cabin was comfortable, with heated flooring in the bathroom. it had a kitchenette and coffee making facilities.

the owner was more than helpful and would certainly recommend the place to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
20.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
693 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.0 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £169 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing