We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base to explore Big Sur”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
San Everywhere
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great home base to explore Big Sur”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The rooms are reasonably priced and nicely renovated. My fav touch was the warmed floors. The bathroom was really modern and the location is right off the 1 so no scary drive through dirt paths in the middle of the night. Good place for couples and people who want to experience nature but at the comforts of a nice modern style home. There is also a restaurant across the street that gives you a free drink if you give them a coupon provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TackyTouristAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    330
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
94
897
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I was so impressed with this place! It looks like nothing from the road but just wait until you go in. The decorating was modern and well done.We stayed in the big sur river cabin and I was shocked at how great it was. The privacy, wireless internet, coffee maker, toaster, oatmeal packets and heated bathroom floors were all unexpected surprises. They had a campfire pit all set for us with the wood, starter log and matches.The big sur roadhouse restaurant at the top of the street even delivered our dinner to us, it was a fabulous place.Great view and very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandOhioSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed at the river cabin and it was everything that was advertised or written about. Expensive? Yes, but it was a special occasion so worth it. The layout and decor were great. The living room cast iron stove quickly heated the place up. The heated floor in the bathroom doesn't sound that big a deal... until you stand on it. No TV, but i guess that's the point and the internet access makes up for the media junkies out there, although connection can be a bit spotty. Just a great place to stay. In fact, I would say the cabin is just a comfy loveseat away from being perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhakut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed in the Archies, it was spacious, the king size bed was so comfortable! The kitchenette was nice to have for snacks and the bathroom heated and floors and 2 person shower felt so luxurious. We ate across the street at the Big Sur Roadhouse and had some great Mexican food. The rooms do not have TVs, but the cozy deck and fireplace were so nice that I didn't miss it. A great value for the Big Sur area and in the morning we saw deer outside the manager's office and got some great pictures of them feeding in the woods.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Glen Oaks is now my #1 favorite place to stay. Their website fascinated me when I began to research our Christmas Big Sur getaway from Los Angeles. I looked at the river cabin and thought it would be nice to listen to the nearby stream. Then I looked at one of the rooms with a fireplace and it looked really nice also. Christmas Eve we arrived around 3PM and met a cheerful and helpful Theresa at the front desk. A little weary from driving on the winding gorgeous HWY 1, Theresa described the cabins and then said one of her favorite rooms was just 20 feet from the office. The golden afternoon sunlight illuminated the eucalyptus and red berry branches decorating the outside door. Theresa opened the door and the room was ours for the evening. The room had so many great details: the Pendleton striped blanket, the adorable fireplace with river stones, the perfect magazine selection (Dwell and Healthy Living), Britta purified water in a mini glass door refrigerator, organic oatmeal lavender soap from Middlebury, VT. I already knew from the website about the Coyuchi organic sheets. I have to admit I subsequently ordered an organic duvet cover and love it. When I put my head on the pillow it was the softest pillow I have ever experienced! So the room was unlike any other room, and perhaps the show stopper was the heated recycled stone floor that has to be experienced to be believed. Glen Oaks did everything right. It's a real winner and a must visit lodging experience. The only downside was that we had to move on...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed in the river cottages. The cottage is small but cozy and the finish is to a high standard. The heated bathroom floor is a nice touch and worth a mention. Each cottage has a fire pit that's ready to go on arrival, the perfect place to have a glass of wine and relax after a day out in the nearby parks and walks that Big Sur has to offer. There is a small kitchenette but we made use of the wide selection of restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralfvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Lodging in Big Sur is limited to extremely high end (Post Ranch Inn) or family run of the mill places. Glen Oaks is neither and that's the best part. Pick up a Dwell magazine and that's the decor of the place. The design is clever, comfy, homey, and most importantly clean. It appears to be a renovated, alas gutted, motor lodge and it absolutely works. Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a king size room at no extra charge and when I learned the markets were closed, the front desk had a bottle of wine, glasses, and opener. It is a small property; no frills, but all the right trimmings. Laid back, casual.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CACMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,134 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
347 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur
Ventana Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Property: Glen Oaks Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing