We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Big Sur Cabin”
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Wow, thanks once again Trip Advisor for a fab recommendation!

We had originally looked to stay at Deetjens but with their strange no email/online reservation policy and rudeness over the phone when i called( ok it was 7:45am but I got the times wrong as I was calling from London), I decided to book Glen Oaks. I am so glad we did!

We stayed in the Big Sur Cabin 13-15th February and it was just perfect. The cabins are located off highway 1 on the otherside from the motel and down a private road. There is no noise at all apart from birds, the river and the rustle of the leafs. Big Sur Cabin is the last cabin on the road but they all seemed very private. It has the river running right by it and a picnic area next to it. The wooden log cabin looked lovely from the outside but it was the interior which was impressive. The attention to detail is faultless, from the organic sheets and soft towels, super comfy bed to the organic soaps, heated bathroom floor ( divine in winter), the high tech fridge, coffee maker with delicious coffee, board games ( jenga and scrabble), magazines( dwell and a conde nast traveller i think), free wifi, amazing shower and the outside fire which had been prepared for us ready to use. This place is superb. As soon as you enter you feel rested and on holidays. We travelled with our 22 month son who loved the place and even with a toddler in tow we still had a relaxing and enjoyable stay here.

The area and drive is stunning, the people/community very friendly and food and wine superb. The cabin has a microwave, toaster and fridge, so you wont be having your major meals but there are plenty of places in close proximity. We had a cold beer at the village pub and a pizza at the general store one night and a amazing dinner at the Big Sur River Inn, a delicious meal topped off with great wine and service, This place would be great in summer with its outdoor terrace area.

All in all, its not cheap to stay at Glen Oaks but we were there for a special occasion and its worth the money if you want a relaxing, luxurious and private retreat. This really is the place.

Ps if you are not from the area and driving from Monterey but you want to drive the 17 mile drive as well as Highway 1, dont try to drive the 17 mile drive during the Pebble Beach golf tournament, it is closed to tourists for the entire week.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotelrmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at Glen Oaks several years ago. We stayed in one of the King Fireside Lodge rooms and we loved it (especially the heated bathroom floors). We decided to split our stay in Archie's and the Big Sur cabin this time. We loved Archie's and the fact that there was a gas fireplace in the room. When we booked the room, two new cabins weren't available yet. So we asked about the new cabins when we switching rooms. The woman at the front desk actually let us take a peek at them and decide between the three cabins. We ended up going with the Redwood Cabin: River View Suite. But you couldn't go wrong with any of the choices!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The rooms are reasonably priced and nicely renovated. My fav touch was the warmed floors. The bathroom was really modern and the location is right off the 1 so no scary drive through dirt paths in the middle of the night. Good place for couples and people who want to experience nature but at the comforts of a nice modern style home. There is also a restaurant across the street that gives you a free drink if you give them a coupon provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TackyTouristAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

I was so impressed with this place! It looks like nothing from the road but just wait until you go in. The decorating was modern and well done.We stayed in the big sur river cabin and I was shocked at how great it was. The privacy, wireless internet, coffee maker, toaster, oatmeal packets and heated bathroom floors were all unexpected surprises. They had a campfire pit all set for us with the wood, starter log and matches.The big sur roadhouse restaurant at the top of the street even delivered our dinner to us, it was a fabulous place.Great view and very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandOhioSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed at the river cabin and it was everything that was advertised or written about. Expensive? Yes, but it was a special occasion so worth it. The layout and decor were great. The living room cast iron stove quickly heated the place up. The heated floor in the bathroom doesn't sound that big a deal... until you stand on it. No TV, but i guess that's the point and the internet access makes up for the media junkies out there, although connection can be a bit spotty. Just a great place to stay. In fact, I would say the cabin is just a comfy loveseat away from being perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhakut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed in the Archies, it was spacious, the king size bed was so comfortable! The kitchenette was nice to have for snacks and the bathroom heated and floors and 2 person shower felt so luxurious. We ate across the street at the Big Sur Roadhouse and had some great Mexican food. The rooms do not have TVs, but the cozy deck and fireplace were so nice that I didn't miss it. A great value for the Big Sur area and in the morning we saw deer outside the manager's office and got some great pictures of them feeding in the woods.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Glen Oaks is now my #1 favorite place to stay. Their website fascinated me when I began to research our Christmas Big Sur getaway from Los Angeles. I looked at the river cabin and thought it would be nice to listen to the nearby stream. Then I looked at one of the rooms with a fireplace and it looked really nice also. Christmas Eve we arrived around 3PM and met a cheerful and helpful Theresa at the front desk. A little weary from driving on the winding gorgeous HWY 1, Theresa described the cabins and then said one of her favorite rooms was just 20 feet from the office. The golden afternoon sunlight illuminated the eucalyptus and red berry branches decorating the outside door. Theresa opened the door and the room was ours for the evening. The room had so many great details: the Pendleton striped blanket, the adorable fireplace with river stones, the perfect magazine selection (Dwell and Healthy Living), Britta purified water in a mini glass door refrigerator, organic oatmeal lavender soap from Middlebury, VT. I already knew from the website about the Coyuchi organic sheets. I have to admit I subsequently ordered an organic duvet cover and love it. When I put my head on the pillow it was the softest pillow I have ever experienced! So the room was unlike any other room, and perhaps the show stopper was the heated recycled stone floor that has to be experienced to be believed. Glen Oaks did everything right. It's a real winner and a must visit lodging experience. The only downside was that we had to move on...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.7 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,156 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
382 reviews
18.9 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
20.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £162 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing