We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty, but very windy! Not good for swimming.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pfeiffer Beach

Pfeiffer Beach
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northern CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pretty, but very windy! Not good for swimming.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We loved the views from this beach, but it was very windy and there were signs all around telling us not to swim due to strong currents.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    186
    45
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went to Pfeiffer Beach on our anniversary weekend and it is definitely one of the best beaches I've been too. There is purple sand intermixed around the beach, and the rock formations are very interesting. It wasn't horribly crowded ever. We climbed a sand dune, which was warmer than the general beach area and enjoyed the views. It was a little windy, but not horrible.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelByLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“2 Michiganders loved it...but very windy”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stopped here on a roadtrip from Cali to Michigan. He had heard aout this beach on a website called "top places to watch the sunset" as many photographers flock here to capture the sunset through the natural holes in the rock. We were there from about 4-6 so we did not see the sunset. It was QUITE difficult to get to. There was no large sign saying PFEIFFER BEACH so we had to rely on our phone GPS which was hard because we had no service in the mountains. The road down to the beach is a one way, gravel, windy, 2 mile long obstacle course. There are pull-offs to let other cars pass. You would be courageous to try and get a small camper down that thing, large camper: don't even try. There was plenty of parking and a $5 fee. There were bathrooms vailable as well. The beach was STUNNING and if it wasn't windy I would have hopped right in the ocean. We climbed up a big rock to see better and the wind almost blew us right off!! Not a long beach but such a hidden gem with some good sized waves.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too touristy”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was crowded and very windy. We only stayed a few minutes because of the sand being whipped at us from the wild winds. It is beautiful, but check on the wind conditions before going in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lap4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see in Big Sur”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a great place to visit if you are a photographer or you just want to experience the beauty of lilac sand and majestic sunsets. This was one of my stops when visiting Big Sur. I visited 2 times in hopes of capturing the perfect light and although I didn't have the dynamic photos I was hoping for, I thoroughly enjoyed the serene beauty at this beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewSerenitySpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pfeiffer Beach also viewed

 

Been to Pfeiffer Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing