We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly as described in other reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exactly as described in other reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you read the reviews before booking your room here, then you know what to expect.
First of all, we had to reserve via the phone because they don't do reservations online (and you can't call 24 hours a day, you have to call when they are open local California time.)
We stayed in cabin or room letter J. It was nice. It was not closest to the road, fortunately, because some of the road traffic could have been loud. But, there wasn't too much traffic on the road that night anyway. We also did not have any noisy neighbors and there was no music/band playing from the restaurant/grill that night (it was a Sunday night.)
We only stayed one night, which was perfect. We did not need a shower, fortunately. It was hard to say how long it would take the water to warm up (if there was warm water at all.) In the sink, we ran the water for a minute or two and it did not get warm.
The room is rustic, but cozy. There was a great gas heater that worked really well, and warmed up the room fast (this was November.) Very soft and warm bed. The grill is nice with good food and service, too. Cute little country store located with the check-in desk that has some food items and souvenirs.
Tip - bring an extension cord (or two) with you if you want to charge your phone near your bed. There was only 1 or 2 available outlets in the whole room.
I liked staying here, and probably would again. It's a great location on Route 1/Big Sur. But would not like to stay for more than one night.

Room Tip: Room J was nice. Although the bedside lamp on my side of bed was rickety. If you want further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    98
    68
    38
    15
See reviews for
78
114
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband's company booked a room for the week for him since he was doing work on hwy 1. He works out of town a lot and is usually what I call a weekend husband. Once in a while depending on my work schedule I will drive to the hotel he is staying at to spend some time with him. I could not believe that his company paid $140 a night for this room. The only thing it had going for it was that it was very clean. No TV, no phone, no table, no coffee, no microwave, no refrigerator...The bathroom was so small that you felt like the sink was in a closet and the shower was so small that you couldn't get away from the water to soap up and the shower head was way to high up. The walls were so thin that it seemed like there was only a sheet hanging up to separate the rooms. You could hear EVERYTHING in the rooms next to you. Had to get ice at the general store to put in his cooler to keep his food cold. My husband will be getting a different room at a different hotel in Carmel next week. Unless you're desperate and need a place to sleep for the night I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChappiesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in the Adventure Tent, which was like a tent with a bed, lamp, and space heater. Linens were included. We had our own private bathroom, only for use with people in Adventure Tents. This was perfect to have a little camping experience in the middle of a road trip down the coast. The area is absolutely beautiful. And you are camping right in the middle of redwoods. It was pretty expensive (around $120) for what the accommodation were, but everything in the Big Sur area was very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w4126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for one night on motorcycle trip. As other reviews state, there aren't many plush places to stay around Big Sur. My accommodation was a basic wooden shack.The room was clean but really basic. Shower was ok but the rooms weren't really that secure so left items on the bikes. There is some noise from the road just outside and there can be noise from other guests too. The restaurant was really good with a varied menu, efficient service and decent food. It is what it is....a bed for the night. No breakfast was available and for the price charged ....not really on. Fine for one night but don't expect much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Location is great.First lodging north of Pfieffer Big Sur state park. It is clean. The camp ground may be nice, perhaps the cabins.
The motel. Well. Bed, teeny shower, a roof and 4 walls. That's it. No table, no frig, no coffee maker. Perhaps because coffee, after 8 a.m., thank you, is $2.50 a cup. The wi fi touted on the sign kinda exists, but don't try too hard to get your email, and abandon Netflix completely. It wouldn't cost more than 1 or 2 night's rent to make this better, although the shower is a challenge. This may be par for the course in Big Sur, it was the worst I've stayed at in years, even lacking the amenities of Grand Canyon North Rim's rustic 60 year old cabins. But, if you don't want coffee, a way to cool the groceries you had to bring with you, a place to sit, or reliable wi fi, go for it. Really, this had a good rating, but for noise, which, when the nights are cool is not a problem. If it's hot, no air conditioning, no cross breeze, that would be a problem. At least the nights were cool when I was there. The reason it gets a two rating is cleanliness and location. I've never posted a negative review before.

Room Tip: Try another property if you want more than a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karstenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

Truro
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had one night in the motel section, but also explored the campsite - which was spacious, really in the woods near the river, and quiet. The motel room, whilst small, had all we needed, was clean and, despite being very close to the main road, very quiet. The shop had all one could need, and the restaurant/bar had a dining area separate from the bar. This made it quieter - no TV! - and the food was excellent - large portions, well cooked and cheerful service. Overall, highly recommended - not cheap, but considerably less expensive than most Big Sur places. Owner also directed us to great (unsignposted) beach.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms, all facing road, so presume all are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108carolh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The four of us absolutely fell in love with Fernwood Resort.
We didn't arrive till late however the kitchen stayed open to cook us some Nachos and Pizzas which were all beautiful!
The log cabin with the open fire and bar is so cozy and has a fabulous ambiance about it.
The rooms are basic and small but just what you need and for the price you cant beat them!
Would DEFINATELY recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in Big Sur.
The cosiest rustic log cabin accommodation you could ask for!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
20.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
21.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Property: Fernwood Resort
Address: 47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Fernwood Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing