We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation”
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2014

One of the best vacations ever, we were surprised to find how great the cabin was and everything is available in it, electricity, all the kitchen accessories and air condition, TV with a DVD player (although you don't need them), even a torch light if you wanted to wonder at night in the woods. Just an amazing stay, we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Fernwood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Fernwood was a last min spring break trip camping trip I our trailer and turned out to be a hidden gem. The sites are rustic and the hook ups can be a little oddly placed, but the views of the river are well worth it. Many of the sites are right on the river and it is a nice place for corralling the kids. My kids fished and played around the shore. A little cold for swimming but a lot of people tubed down stream. Incredibly relaxing and very laid back management. The store is very convenient for all the last min odds and ends you might need, but of course you pay a little extra :) Camping is a little expensive , but at least you can get a reservation unlike many of the state parks. This might become an annual trip. Oh and nice bathrooms and showers, bring your quarters.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were at Fernwood with our RV. Big plus is the location. We camped next to the river and you are surrounded by amazing trees. Moreover you can't hear the traffic on the 101. However this camp ground is very expensive, especially as there are very few facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ReReAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First off Big Sur and the drive down the coast is simply spectacular. The setting where Fernwood is located is nice enough. You have the campground, cabins, motel, restaurant and store. It is rustic, cozy and the redwood trees provide a very memorable area. My husband, adult daughter and I stayed in one of the cabins not long ago and did enjoy our stay. The cabins although small were clean and comfortable with a nice fire pit area outside. They were however located right beside of the campground which seems to take in mostly young people prepared to party all night. Don't get me wrong I have enjoyed my share of these events but if you stay here don't expect a quiet relaxing time. And I would definitely not recommend for children. I would never take my grandchildren here but for the right crowd it is ok. For us it was definitely not an opportunity to have a cozy meal and night by the fire. The store on grounds is handy and has a decent selection of beer, wine and simple foods, however shop before you get here. Very overpriced. The restaurant I wouldn't recommend. Food is fair, service for us horrible. Probably the best thing to say about that is the live music. Again however loud. And again a party place. I do have to praise the guy who ran the campground. he seems to be struggling to make this a family place and was very helpful to us when complained about the cursing and loud noise. He stopped it. Overall we enjoyed our stay regardless, but pick another place if you are a family or a couple looking for a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: No information on the motel. It is away from campground so may be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Love Love Love this place. Dave from camp check in was incredible and gracious. The young lady that was working with him was pretty Awesome too. Just wish this place would stay secret..♥️We have already booked for July...can't wait!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank All7go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Yes, fifty dollars to sleep on the cold hard earth in your own tent and be kept awake until 2.00 a.m. by drunken morons because the camp doesn't enforce its post-10 p.m. quiet time. Welcome to Big Sur, folks, where you can pay more for less!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
6  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I will say we very much enjoyed our two night stay here. Honestly it is a small motel RIGHT on the highway. (See my photo). We stayed in L, the next to the last room closest to road. So be aware there is road noise that dies down around ten o'clock. On the plus side: 1)Great location if you are visiting Big Sur State park and don't miss the hard to find Pfiffer State Beach. Both park entrances are just down the road from the motel. 2) The restaurant is great. I will be reviewing it also. 3) you can take a short walk down to the campground to a pretty little stream. 4) the Mini Mart has friendly staff and great coffee and pastries in the morning. 5) cozy room and bed with gas fireplace (see photo). 6) affordable rates compared to nearby fancier lodges and resorts. Biggest Drawback: Cold Showers. I think the family full of girls next door kept beating us to the limited hot water. Get in early or freeze!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank krisveil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
20.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
676 reviews
20.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
16.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
411 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9542
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range: £127 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Fernwood Hotel Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing