We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Ripplewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ripplewood Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ripplewood gets three stars by virtue of the beautiful location. Otherwise we were disappointed. The cabins are charming, certainly, but very cold at night and with very basic amenities considering the price. Service - our room wasn't cleaned, although housekeeping arrived mid-afternoon by which time our baby was taking a nap so we didn't want him disturbed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just the one night.
The place is adorable, with cute little log cabins.
It was so lovely & quite even though the main road was close by.
We sat outside under the stars drinking wine.
I had the best nights sleep.
Would recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The location of Ripplewood is excellent for exploring the area and hikes. It is also handy as it is just off the main road. We stayed in the cheapest cabin, 12A, which was perfect for us! Although the décor is dated, the basic cabins were cosy and rustic. They were clean and tidy and had everything we needed. The cabin was tucked away in the trees although close to the little shop for supplies. The staff were not as chatty and friendly as other places we visited in America but were helpful. This is a super little resort!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELLTravels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for two night first weekend july2013
This place is fantastic could not recommend highly enough.
We rented cabin 9. It had a deck over looking river(very little water due to warm weather)
It is so peaceful and quiet underneath the canopy of trees.we used the fire pit out front both nights to do a little barbecuing it was real back to nature stuff. A skunk even came for a walk by the first night we watched it running round our cabin and the next door one but it came to close .no tv or radio which we actually enjoyed. if you want wifi go up to the store restaurant across road or go to the Big Sur Roadhouse at entrance to resort
This really is a back to nature resort and all the better for it

Room Tip: Ask for lodge that overlooks river as this is farthest back from road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael209959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ripplewood for one night in mid-July, 2013. We had Cabin 4, by the river. It was a small, but clean and comfortable, and roomy enough for the two of us (no pets, no kids). It had a comfy queen bed, a lovely, stocked kitchen (including coffee maker, with a coffee pod), a deck, and a fantastic location mere steps from the Big Sur River. Our personal fire pit outside, stocked with wood, was a great way for us to end the evening. We wish we had booked more nights and just stayed here. Bring some food to cook if you stay. There are fine restaurants around, but the opportunity to stay by the cabin and near the river is fantastic. Bring a book or six, and hang out at your river-side cabin. (Note, that not all cabins are down near the river, so make sure you get a river cabin when you book.)

This is not the luxury spa resort situation, so if that's what you want, this isn't the place for you, but if you want simple, comfortable, and clean, you can't go wrong with Ripplewood Resorts. Ripplewood also had helpful staff, and a decently stocked "general store" and gas station.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a river-side cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Ripplewood Resort was great! Very cute cabins that were super clean and in good shape. The staff at the office were very nice and helpful (We forgot our corkscrew, and they opened a new one for us to use during our stay, no charge).

We spent two nights in 12a, the half cabin. It was nice and worked perfect for us on this trip. It was just a "place to sleep" as we spent all day out and about hiking sight seeing. That being said, when we come back (Because we will be back!), we would spend the extra $$ and get one of the cabins under the redwoods. Less road nose, and they looked super nice!

The restaurant is good too. Went there for breakfast one day. Large portions of yummy traditional breakfast food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The campground just across the river generated a bit of noise as people were pitching their tents, but that was a very minor point. Secluded (even though you can hear some highway noise during the day) with giant trees all around.

We were in cabin #9, right beside the Big Sur River (actually more like a stream than a river).
Quite spacious. Well appointed kitchen (they ask that you wash your dishes before you leave or they’ll charge you $25). Bath with a skylight over the shower so you can admire the trees overhead.

If we could afford $200+ per night, we just might move in permanently.

Room Tip: We were on the "down hill side" of the highway. Anything in that area is likely to be jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.9 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,155 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
382 reviews
19.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.2 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplewood Resort

Address: 47047 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9556
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £69 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripplewood Resort features a grocery store, gas station, Cafe open for breakfast and lunch, and 17 Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripplewood Hotel Big Sur
Ripplewood Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing