We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the completely no frills person”
Review of Ripplewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ripplewood Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only for the completely no frills person”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 3 night stay at Ripplewood Resort. We stayed in Cabin #14 which was behind the gas station and quite near the highway. We arrived after dark and when we entered the cabin it was quite disappointing. Very small room with very old dirty love seat , two hard chairs and a table. Most of the windows were painted shut. Overhead lighting was good, but not placed where you could read a book. As others have mentioned, there is no cellular reception or wi-fi or television. No games in the room either, so there was nothing to do after dark. Shower stall was so small that my husband kept banging against the sides, and the shower head was not adjustable so I couldn't shower at all without getting my hair wet which I chose not to do as there was no hair dryer provided.
The location is beautiful and the food at the diner was very good as was the service. Perhaps cabin 14 is the only cabin that is undesirable, but for nearly $200.00 a night it was very over-priced.
We'll look for something not quite so bare-bones next time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    134
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
80
184
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in Cabin 1. It felt very old school and almost felt like it was our own cabin. Had the fireplace going most of the night and woke up to the creek. To me, nothing was better than that. If you ever dreamed of staying in a very nice but also very old-school cabin, this is your spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife, toddler and I stayed at Ripplewood recently on our way back to LA from a holiday road trip up the coast and were really pleased. First thing to mention is that our cabin was spotlessly clean. The appliances were so immaculate that they were either brand new or the cleaning folks at this place should get an award. Really incredible. Also, the hot water in the shower was strong and plentiful and the fireplace just terrific to come home to after dinner. My only semi-complaint is that they didn't leave enough wood and the office was closed so we couldn't get more. Otherwise, this place was tremendous in every way. Great location down by the river.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin closest to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Enjoy all the natural splendors of Big Sur, without the price and luxury that the stars pay to "enjoy" it. Ripplewood provides the "off the grid" experience that is really what Big Sur is all about. And, you are 3-5 minutes from the dining and shops at Nepenthe, Post Ranch, Ventana, bakery cafe, and the various beaches & hikes. Our cabin #7 was set under the redwood trees and we could hear the creek at our doorstep gurgling in the night. Room was rustic with lots of exposed wood, fireplace, and very clean kitchen. Cell phones & iPads don't work well there, forcing you to get away from it all until you drive down the road. Two restaurants next door within walking distance. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at Ripplewood on our way from LA to San Francisco. It was top on our list of places to stay and we're really glad we went with it. The cabin we had (17) wasn't down by the river sadly but we did book late so that was to be expected. The room was clean and warm, the area idyllic and the services in the store and cafe great.
Two small issues - we had a refrigerator in our cabin which was quite loud and the shower was either too hot or too cold but with perseverance it was fine.
There is gas on site, gorgeous walks near by, the store stocks all necessities and the cafe (only open for breakfast and lunch) is great and really reasonable.
The new restaurant across the road (Roadhouse) has fantastic staff, great beer and wine but the food was pretty pricey...
This was one of our favourite stays on our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin down by the river if there is one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My niece and I stayed in cabin #6, which was down by the creek amongst the redwoods, with no big views over the ocean. We decided on the creek rather than the hillside because we figured we'd have lots of opportunity to stop and admire the views while driving the coastal road. The nightly cost, including taxes, was a shade under $200.

The one-room cabin was comfortable, clean and cosy. We particularly enjoyed the quiet privacy of the porch facing the creek, although I don't think all the cabins were occupied while we were there and perhaps it would have been noisier if it had been peak occupancy. Particularly impressive were the helpfulness, friendliness and courtesy of the general store staff. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but instead had breakfast on our cabin porch.

Overall, a great experience. Definitely rustic compared to other overnight options in Big Sur, but great value for the area. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelwingJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After staying many times at Deetjen's for our almost-annual trip to Big Sur, we decided to give Ripplewood a shot this time. What a great decision that was.

Our cabin (#2) was perfect. One large-ish room with a queen bed, small table and two chairs, faux fireplace (for ambiance rather than heat) and a big window that looks out on the Big Sur River. Small but clean bathroom (you have to squat down a bit to get your head under the faucet). Small but VERY clean kitchen.

We'd planned to make pasta one night, and I wasn't sure the cabin would have everything we needed. It did, and then some. Plates, cups, glasses (including wine glasses), colander, a big soup pot, multiple frying pans, utensils, etc. They also give you a little bottle of dish soap and a sponge for clean up (there's a $25 fee if you don't do your dishes). Couldn't find a cookie sheet, but they'd put fresh foil down on the two racks in the oven. So we just put our garlic bread directly on the foil.

Nice towels and toiletries were provided. The deck, off the kitchen, was the perfect place for morning coffee and cocktail hour. You can hear the river at night, and it's a very soothing sound. Plus, unlike Deetjen's, there are no common walls here. The next cabin (#3) isn't very far from you, but the way the decks are situated makes it feel like you have a lot of privacy.

Can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabin 2 is on one end of the row of cabins by the river. Highly recommended. We peeked into other ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
2.9 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,125 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
19.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Glen Oaks Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,174 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplewood Resort

Property: Ripplewood Resort
Address: 47047 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9556
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripplewood Resort features a grocery store, gas station, Cafe open for breakfast and lunch, and 17 Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripplewood Hotel Big Sur
Ripplewood Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing