We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ripplewood Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Big Sur
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
158
139
32
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
139
32
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverfire pitgas stationbooked cabinrustic cabingeneral storecooking utensilsfully equipped kitchennice deckthese cabinstall redwoodscoffee makertwo nightsqueen bedstayed here for one nightsan franciscothe pacific coast highway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Yes, these are old, wood cabins, pretty rustic. Windows and doors had some small gaps, but nothing crazy. We stayed in Cabin 7, overlooking the river. If you are okay with rustic, and reasonably priced for Big Sur area, this would be the place to go! If you like fancy and perfect, don't go, its not for you. But, know this, they keep these cabins SUPER CLEAN. I was very impressed! And the atmosphere and location is really quiet if you are in a cabin off the road and down by the river. Cabins are separate from each other, so no shared walls, you have some distance. Kitchens to make your food. Balcony/Patio to sit and listen to the river, drink your wine, whatever! Each day they give you a new batch of firewood for the fireplace in the cabin. Very nice staff. This was a fantastic experience, I would go again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get a cabin that is overlooking the river. I think any cabins 4-10.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned from our 3 night stay at Ripplewood Resort. We stayed in Cabin #14 which was behind the gas station and quite near the highway. We arrived after dark and when we entered the cabin it was quite disappointing. Very small room with very old dirty love seat , two hard chairs and a table. Most of the windows were painted shut. Overhead lighting was good, but not placed where you could read a book. As others have mentioned, there is no cellular reception or wi-fi or television. No games in the room either, so there was nothing to do after dark. Shower stall was so small that my husband kept banging against the sides, and the shower head was not adjustable so I couldn't shower at all without getting my hair wet which I chose not to do as there was no hair dryer provided.
The location is beautiful and the food at the diner was very good as was the service. Perhaps cabin 14 is the only cabin that is undesirable, but for nearly $200.00 a night it was very over-priced.
We'll look for something not quite so bare-bones next time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in Cabin 1. It felt very old school and almost felt like it was our own cabin. Had the fireplace going most of the night and woke up to the creek. To me, nothing was better than that. If you ever dreamed of staying in a very nice but also very old-school cabin, this is your spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife, toddler and I stayed at Ripplewood recently on our way back to LA from a holiday road trip up the coast and were really pleased. First thing to mention is that our cabin was spotlessly clean. The appliances were so immaculate that they were either brand new or the cleaning folks at this place should get an award. Really incredible. Also, the hot water in the shower was strong and plentiful and the fireplace just terrific to come home to after dinner. My only semi-complaint is that they didn't leave enough wood and the office was closed so we couldn't get more. Otherwise, this place was tremendous in every way. Great location down by the river.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin closest to the river.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Enjoy all the natural splendors of Big Sur, without the price and luxury that the stars pay to "enjoy" it. Ripplewood provides the "off the grid" experience that is really what Big Sur is all about. And, you are 3-5 minutes from the dining and shops at Nepenthe, Post Ranch, Ventana, bakery cafe, and the various beaches & hikes. Our cabin #7 was set under the redwood trees and we could hear the creek at our doorstep gurgling in the night. Room was rustic with lots of exposed wood, fireplace, and very clean kitchen. Cell phones & iPads don't work well there, forcing you to get away from it all until you drive down the road. Two restaurants next door within walking distance. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErnDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews