We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, and some extras company you didn't pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ripplewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ripplewood Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Rustic, and some extras company you didn't pay for!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I was very happy to pull into our little cabin, down by the river on the other side of check in. Great time by the fire pit, wood is extra and I paid for two bundles. No TV or WiFi but that's what the gathering by the fire is all about.
My daughter 17 woke me up to tell me that she felt someone was in the room who picked up her pony tail and held it upright for a few seconds. She said she heard footsteps and someone at the door before this occurred. I believe her but no such incidents happened to my son and I.
On checking out my son told the story and then relayed that in the morning he tried to take a pic of a hollowed out tree in front of our cabin and his phone completely died from full charge.
She said ah yes I have heard a few stories about activity "down by the River" your not the first!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaRockiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    134
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
80
184
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in these well-equipped cabins located right off of the main road. It was very quiet and peaceful but you could hear noise from the road. It did not bother us but it is a consideration for some. They provide you with maid service and a wood daily for a fire. There is a nice picnic table and chairs to enjoy the outside. It is located close to many of the attractions and fine restaurants in Big Sur but we enjoyed staying in and making our own meals in our very functional kitchen. I can highly recommend these accommodations for those who are looking for a no frills stay in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klpatric43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed one night at Ripplewood en route from SF to LA. What a great place. Peaceful, charming and quaint, my wife, two teenagers and I had a really enjoyable time here. The cabin is really cool and, just five minutes walk further into the woods, we were able to swinm in the creek. There is an absolutely excellent restaurant and bar, The Big Sur Roadhouse, next door and a breakfast cafe over the road. Only slight downside was that our cabin was 10 metres from the PCH but it was fine. A really, really good spot that costs very little.

Room Tip: Try and stay as far from the road as possible.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at the RippleWood two different times now, and had a wonderful time on each occasion. There are around 16 cabins that are on the property, and each one is unique with their layouts, rooms, how many people can fit in, and ambiance.

There is a store (where you also check in at), a small gas station, a cafe with outdoor seating and good home made food. A gourmet restaurant next door (another review) that was awesome, and you can drink and just walk back to your cabin. The people that work at the store/check in were very friendly and helpful.

The cabins get booked early during the summer vacation season, and from what we observed the cabins numbered 1 through 9 are in some of the nicest spots, down below the hwy 1 and next to a river. They are very quint, with big redwood trees around, the sound of Big Sur river, with plenty of parking, and barbeque stands...

We have stayed in the hillside cabins (#12 through #16) and it was still enchanting. The Ripplewood website will give good info on the number of rooms/people for each cabin. With lots of wildlife...

We booked at the last minute this go around, and took the cabin next to the hwy (#10 or #11). We were a little apprehensive but all was good. The noise from the hwy was not a problem, for at night there was little traffic.

From the Ripplewood, just north a few minutes drive, you are close to a state park (Andrew Molera) that has paths right to the ocean, and is a very easy walk of about a mile each way.
And if you go South from the Ripplewood, then you have the huge Pfeiffer State park with many different trails to choose from among some beautiful redwoods forest.

Then down the road on a cliff is the restaurant called Nepenthe (spelling might be off?). This sits on top of a cliff looking up and down the coast with spectacular views. You can sit here for hours taking in the sights and fresh air.

Plan some time, for it is very relaxing in this area, and the natural beauty is incredible.

Room Tip: Best cabins in our opinions would be cabins #1 - 9, but any cabin in this resort would be a wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HQComics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed one night here on our way south on the PCH. We stayed in cabin 12A. It sits off the highway and we heard no road noise. It has outside seating available and there is beautiful landscaping around the property. The cabin is cozy and there is no TV. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant on sight is only open for breakfast and lunch. We had breakfast and it was excellent! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wabeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had the pleasure to stay in Cabin #9 on our honeymoon. It was everything we expected and more, the bed was comfortable, clean and well fitted with extra sheets for the cold mornings. Bring slippers to walk in the cabin as it does get cold at night and in the AM. The mornings were great with home made breakfast, prepacking our lunches/ snacks made days adventures easy, and coming home to cook dinner at night was great since we ate on the deck next to the river. We had daily animal visitors that we gazed at thru the window. All you need to bring is proteins, fruits, veggies, maybe extra coffee/ tea, condiments and drinking water.
The view of the river is great but hearing it before falling asleep and while waking up is calming and sweet. I would come back to Big Sur anytime it is beautiful and amazing. We traveled April 2013, sorry the review is late, we've had a busy year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in Cabin # 4 for one night and really wish I could have stayed longer. The river was gorgeous and so peaceful. The cabin is basic and reasonably priced for Big Sur. The kitchen had everything we needed; the heater and fireplace both worked well. Even though we visited in June, the property is in the woods and shady so it's not very warm. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

I would have given this an "Excellent" rating except for the odd smell in parts of the cabin. The information in the cabin stated that it's propane; it smelled like bug spray to me. Neither of us had any ill effects though, so it probably was just the propane.

The bathroom was basic, with nice amenities, lots of hot water and the clear top to the shower was delightful. All in all, a truly lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Definitely get a cabin by the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTrav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
295 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,611 reviews
19.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
820 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplewood Resort

Property: Ripplewood Resort
Address: 47047 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9556
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripplewood Resort features a grocery store, gas station, Cafe open for breakfast and lunch, and 17 Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripplewood Hotel Big Sur
Ripplewood Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing