We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place in Big Sur”
Review of Ripplewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ripplewood Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This is a nice place, a rustic cabin no frills, but that was fine with us. I agree with the other reviewers that some of the staff are not very friendly - I think one of them has been working their way too long and she has a cranky attitude. But who cares about that - it is a reasonably priced place to stay in an area with limited options. I would come back here for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayakercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

These cabins are basic, but they are so nice and pleasant to stay in. We booked a river cabin, which was beautiful. There are even chairs outside just for relaxation. The room is clean and comfortable. The heater works well. The only possible complaint is that the curtains are a little sheer, which potentially allows someone to see inside under certain lighting conditions. Given the quiet location, however, that opportunity seems unlikely. We would stay there again anytime. The location is in the heart of Big Sur, and the quality of the cabin surpasses the value of the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Ripplewood cabins have quaint attractive exteriors. The full service kitchen was clean and comfortable. However, upon entering cabin 10, we detected smoke damage smell which was faintly evident throughout our stay. Either wood burning stove needs servicing, or smoke is lingering from past past fires. Even more disappointing was the Zero Flow/Water Pressure in our shower. To be fair, maintenance did replace a shower head, but to no avail. Repeated repair requests to management went unanswered with no apparent sincere concern for customer satisfaction. A response upon a repeated request to grocery staff was "Well, you can leave." I Might recommend Ripplewood, but would caution about maintenance and attitude. Cabin 10 is noisy in daytime, but not so bad at night when Hwy 1 traffic dies down. If you're going to stay here, try for the riverside or upper hillside cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcallenwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Ripplewood Resort is a beautiful place to stay! We had a wooden house in the middle of nature with our own terrace, 1 bedroom, other bed in the livingroom, big kitchen, big diningtable, enough space for 4 people. Also a nice bathroom. Everything was from wood so beautiful. The restaurant was only open for breakfast, but the breakfast was very good! Not many restaurants in the neighbourhood, so bring your own ingredients and cook by yourself in the kitchen. The environment is beautiful, go to the near beach by a smal smal road and see the sunset, very beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaDimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

You need to book accomodation well in advance as Ripplewood is very popular. Our cabins had no self catering but we found a good meal and drink down the road, The cabins are clean and well maintained, although ours had a bit of a plumbing problem and they will cool down considerably by early morning, but an efficient heater and thermostat are available. One other tip, the reception shuts at 8pm, which we did not know beforehand. Fortunately we arrived at 7.50pm.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank StanleySurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed in Cabin #5. It was everything we were expecting from a cabin....rustic, cozy, remote, nestled in the woods, and near a river/stream. We arrived at Ripplewood after the store had already closed. They left us a note on the door with instructions on how to get to ourcabin and where to locate the key. Once we got in the cabin, we found it to be very clean and well stocked with cooking supplies. There was firewood for the fireplace and kindling was already placed by their staff in the fireplace. We grilled steaks every night in the fire pit directly outside the cabin and ate dinner outside on the picnic table surrounded by large redwood trees.

Be aware that there is no phone, radio, alarm, TV or wi-fi in the cabins. Cell service is also unavailable. Luckily, we were able to listen to our favorite classical and jazz music via itunes on our laptop. Next time we plan on taking a portable stereo system with an IPod docking station and a portable DVD player to watch movies after dinner.

The best part of the cabin is its location. You are very close to all the activities available in and around Big Sur (i.e. hiking, horse back riding, sightseeing along the coast line, etc...). Monterrey and Carmel are also very accessible. We were able to go into Monterrey, go kayaking, have a lunch at Fisherman's Wharf and then drive back to Ripplewood before dinner time. Another day we went sightseeing in Carmel.

We definitely plan on coming back. The only thing I would do different is book a cabin with a deck. While Cabin #5 is by the river, it is not on the river like some of the other cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mail1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

stayed in cabin #3 rustic but comfortable & clean. we picked #3 becausse of the SHOWER WINDOW & the WATER SOUNDS well! it was cold outside , so when we put on the hot water in the shower - - - you guessed it - - - the window steemed up so much & so fast we never did get a look at the trees or moon. as for the water sounds - the window facing the water was glooed shut - the kitchen was too far away - & the other window was directly above the head of the bed - remember it was COLD outside. not complaining at all - we still laugh about it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
374 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
1.2 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripplewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripplewood Resort

Address: 47047 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9556
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range: £72 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripplewood Resort features a grocery store, gas station, Cafe open for breakfast and lunch, and 17 Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ripplewood Hotel Big Sur
Ripplewood Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing