We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIP OFF PRICES -AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorda Springs Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“RIP OFF PRICES -AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Like many people we stopped here for a break mid morning for a coffee and cake. Walked in and was looking at cakes in cabinet, they looked great. Waitress suggested cheesecake which I chose and my wife a slice of chocolate cafe and we had these with a coffee. Went to pay bill and was horrified to find one slice of cheesecake was $9.95. Total bill was $24.95 for 2 slices of cake and 2 small cups of coffee (Luke warm and no refill offered). Waitress saw my shock and said she did not set the prices. She should have at least mentioned the price if she is recommending products. The toilets were also shocking in their cleanliness. I would suggest driving straight on and give this business a miss unless you have won the lottery!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bren145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    45
    22
    30
    51
See reviews for
34
74
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After a very long drive with kids, we arrived at Gorda Springs, the welcoming party of winos was a bit unsettling and the guy in shop was very unfriendly. Our card had already been charged for 270 dollars!. We had pre booked the Rock House. The Rock House had bird droppings on the sad and dirty mat inside the closed porch. The house had 2 bedrooms, a kitchenette with no microwave, no tea or coffee making facilities or even MUGS. When we popped down to the shop to mention this we were told to use wine glasses. Having prepared a meal there was no where to sit and eat it. Despite it being a cottage for 4 everything seemed set up for 2. The Rock House depite it's wonderful location loses the sun before sunset so we ended up dragging a random selecton of charirs around to catpure the last rays of sun. The cottage was dated and smelt like an old persons house. With a bit of imagination it could been amazing, and with some simple basics that you would expect for top dollar like mugs and even a bar of soap, then this would have been a better rating. But when we spoke to the owner he was very angry and not interested in our feedback for future customers. He was rude and arrogant and very aggressive. We realised he preyed on people having no where else to go at that late point in their journey, that it was passing trade, most of whom would never return anyway. What a shame, what a strange way to conduct business, obviously the Mexican way is not the American way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RPBM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

OK, so we happened upon Gorda Springs by accident. It was getting very late and not wanting to plunge off the side of a cliff we knew we needed to find someplace fast. We were about 20 miles away from Gorda and called ahead. The hotel manager was getting ready to leave, but he agreed to stick around until we got there. I think he sympathized with the panic in my voice! Anyhow, room was not cheap (250+), but we were happy to have a place to stay the night. There was a general store downstairs where were stocked up on snacks (there was no place else to eat). The room was simple, homey, and very clean. No TV, internet or anything else to distract you from the beautiful scenery. The view of the pacific we woke up to the next morning was insane. What a surprise, as we had no idea how fabulous this place was until the next morning. There were some "interesting" drifters staying out back which added for some creepy eavesdropping and the friendliest stray cats ever. All-in-all we are so glad we found this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferNYC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is in a very unique location with a great view over the pacific. The place is not cheap, but we arrived it was already getting dark and we did not want to continue driving on the curvey road. We took the Rock House ($200+) which was nice and offered some space. The beds were old and rather uncomfortable.

However, the bad part was that the place the sewage in the place does not work. After using the toilet twice, everything (also the brown stuff) came out throught the shower again, floading the bath room. The sink in the kitchen also did not work. Due to the floading we were not able to shower in this place.
The owners are obviously well aware of the issue, but don't care. When we asked for partial refund they told us No!, but did not ask for details since they were well aware of the issue.

Keep driving .... if you are going south there are a number of (cheaper) hotels 20 minutes south.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tigermaus7978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed two nights in May in the Rock House. Best available accomodation and well worth it with two rooms, fireplace and kitchen. Read some bad reviews here before going and was expecting the worst but location perfect for our needs. Loved this place with incredible views, great funky property.... gazebo, goats, rusty anchors and fish nets. Eclectic to say the least, and yes, that includes the staff! But we loved it and wouldn't want Big Sur to feel any other way!

Room Tip: Didn't see regular rooms but cabins are adorable. Nephew checked us in early and upgraded our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed one night in a one-bedroom cabin with a Queen bed. The room was clean and decor basic but perfectly fine. The mattress unfortunately was terrible - it sank in the middle and was so soft that we sunk right into it. As a result we both slept very poorly, which is never a good thing but especially so before/after a long drive. The jacuzzi bath was lovely and big but a whole lot of muck came out into the bath when we turned on the jets. I'm glad I wasn't in it yet. There is no mobile telephone reception or 3G (we are both with AT&T) in the area - which of course is not the hotel's responsibility - but given that, we were disappointed to learn that there was no internet access. There was also no TV in the room, which with tax cost about $200 for the night. The food in the restaurant was satisfactory but pricey for what was on offer in my opinion. I was also (accidentally I'm sure) charged twice on my credit card for dinner, which I discovered today and need to rectify. The location is gorgeous and the staff amiable. Overall I was disappointed by what we got for the price we paid, compared with other places that we stayed at in Carmel and San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jev2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We priced a number of hotels in big sur and found extremely high prices. We found gorda springs on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. Glad we did.

The cabin we stayed in had two rooms and a spectacular view. There was a landing outside our room that faced the ocean. Room was clean and well suited for our family of four.

I was sceptical at first because it is connected to a gas station like mini mart. There is not much service but really what do you need on a drive down the coast. This is a great place to stay and break up the trip this is not a resort but it is a great overnight. The view is excellent the property quiet and it is on the pacific coast highway literally. You would have to be on a boat to be closer to the water.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowdyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
24.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,604 reviews
24.8 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
493 reviews
24.9 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,168 reviews
33.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
383 reviews
32.2 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorda Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorda Springs Resort

Property: Gorda Springs Resort
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gorda Springs Hotel Big Sur
Gorda Springs Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing