We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy staff - not helpful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorda Springs Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Reviewed 3 June 2008

My wife and I were camping to the north in Plaskett Creek when we had some car trouble. I put my family up here while getting towed and repaired. There are no phones in the room. There are no Tv's in the room. There is a payphone but they don't let it ring. If it rings, the staff answers and after much pestering I got them to at least take a message. The folks of Gorda seem like really nice people but they are a little "off" I think from spending their time in this secluded little outpost on HWY 1. It is literally in the middle of nowhere. about 40 minutes north of Cambria and an hour south of Big Sur.

On the plus side, the view of the ocean is incredible and they have regular whale sightings due to the irregular section of the coast on which they sit. It is very deep right next to the cliff so whales come quite close.

It's not a destination, it's a place to stopover. The restaurant is quite expensive and the room was a little over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epicbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Gorda Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2008

The "town" of Gorda, which consists of nothing more than a gas station, a hotel, and a restaurant, is located about 30 mins south of Big Sur, and about 30 mins north of Hearst Castle. The hotel itself is right by Highway 1, which in that particular region follows the coastal line pretty closely. My girlfriend and I stayed at one of their affordable studios (about $130), which are relatively small but stylish and rustic. A big plus was the beautiful view of the ocean from the studios themselves -- something that most Big Sur inns don't have, as they are flanked by the hills that surround Highway 1 further north from Gorda. We were not shooting for anything luxurious -- all we expected was cleanliness and privacy, and we were satisfied with what we got. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant, and although the food was a bit pricey, we enjoyed everything we had there. Overall, I definitely recommend the place for families and young couples!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dcscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Stopped here for no particular reason (getting dark while roadtripping highway 1), and got a room above the general store. Nice fireplace, nice bathtub with jets, and a beautiful view of the ocean. Would probably find a place in Big Sur next time (this is almost an hour south of the "centre" of Big Sur).

Very convenient with a gas station and general store there.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kaldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

I stayed at Gorda Springs Resort last weekend.
It was a wonderful expierance.
I stayed in the Palm House.
The innkeeper was very nice and helpful. The General store was great.
The ambiance was so wonderful. Once I stepped foot on the prperty.,, I did not want to leave.
The views and grounds were really special. The lovely farm animals were a real treat.
It is a great place to get away from it all.
The room was rustic, very clean and nice.
I would definetely stay again I just wish I had longer to stay. It truly was a retreat type atmosphere!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We stayed in the Redwood Cabin at Gorda Springs. We really enjoyed our stay: quaint, rustic, clean, quiet. Beautiful view of the ocean from the front of the buildings. It was quite a bit over-priced. We spent $200 for one night. My only complaint was that we were cold in the cabin. We were there in November and the heaters were either not working or just weren't effective enough to heat the whole cabin. Overall though, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WestLosAngelesStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

We went to the Whale Watcher Cafe in March of 2006. It was the best time to go because the whales were migrating south.
We had dinner there and the service was very intimate and friendly. The staff live at the hotel and the place is kind of like Cheers where everyone knows eachother and hangs out there. Our server was friendly and talked with us while our food was being prepared.
If you are not used to small town service it might seem creepy to you.
We recomend the Calamari. It was the Best Calamri Ever!
If you drive by this place you have to stop by.
We have been there twice and plan on going again.

The hotel was nice and cozy also. If you are looking for a place to party this isn't the place. Its a more romantic setting. No Tv or phone in the rooms

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

We really liked Gorda Springs. It is not a luxury resort, but if you enjoy old buildings and feeling like you're getting away to your family's vacation cottage from the 30s, then you'll have fun here. We were in the Rock House with our other friends, and were provided with great firewood and had a nice evening playing cards. There is no central heating but they provided quality space heaters for each room and we were toasty. The sheets and towels were clean and soft and felt like you were visiting your friend's house rather than a boring hotel. Dinner was good at the restaurant, overpriced but not compared to anywhere else in Big Sur! Our waiter was friendly and handled all the tables well, and the desserts were fantastic. We are recommending Gorda Springs to our friends who appreciate some unique charm and the beauty of old buildings. The proprietors were also exceedingly nice. Think of it as entering their world of a quieter, more rural life than expecting your world (the comforts money brings in the city?) to be superimposed on theirs.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekenderPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sur hotels
29.4 mi away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
31.5 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
509 reviews
32.2 mi away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
411 reviews
29.8 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorda Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorda Springs Resort

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gorda Springs Hotel Big Sur
Gorda Springs Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing