We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Kevah

Cafe Kevah
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

On a long scenic drive with plenty of jaw dropping scenery to stop for, this is a great place to refuel. On site there is a restaurant and a cafe, we chose the latter. Whilst busy as you would expect, we were still able to get a seat and admire the mist free view, just stunning

The food is all freshly prepared so takes a little longer to arrive but tastes all the better for it. Can recommend the paninis

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinAnne499484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    64
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Reuben Sandwhich I Ever Ate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are traveling through Big Sur, this small scenic restaurant is a great place to eat ate. Whether it is lunch or breakfast, all the dishes coming out looked delicious at Café Kevah. I opted for an early lunch (at 11am) and was so surprised when my Reuben arrived. It was just oozing with corned beef, sauerkraut and cheese and oh so delicious. There are not that many tables on the edge of the patio where you can get an unobstructed view; I think arriving at that in- between time helped us to get one. But don't be bummed if you do not get one, simply stand up walk over and peer over the railing for fantastic views. If driving down the coast line you are in store for several beautiful natural sites, but it is nice to feast your eyes on nature while you dine. Went upstairs to the rest rooms of Nepenthe, a sister restaurant on the same grounds, and it also had awesome views. So if you can't get into Cafe Kevah, you might want to try Nepenthe which is larger and also serves dinner. Overall, this was a fantastic stop!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judybudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Tasty breakfast and very good coffee, not to mention the unimaginable ocean views (or rather the clouds below covering the ocean)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mischi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great food and ambiance. Eat outdoors and if the fog isn't rolling in, get a view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calitraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were driving from San Luis Obispo up to San Jose and doing some hiking along the way. By the time we got here we were STARVING and not about to wait for a table at Nepenthe, so we ate downstairs at Cafe Kevah...which was perfect for what we wanted! This is brunch style food, but very delicious. My husband had the crab eggs benedict and I had a fancy grilled cheese that came with a very nice salad. YUMMY!! It is one of the best meals we had on our trip to California!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Kevah also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Kevah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing