We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch stop”

Big Sur Coast Gallery & Cafe
Ranked #15 of 22 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brunch stop”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We enjoyed a late brunch here out on the deck. You could call this a 10million dollar view. This building has a bit of a nautical vibe, unique woodsy look. Beautiful landscaping, a restaurant upstairs and an art gallery downstairs make this a great stop. Like everywhere in Big Sur, this menu is quite pricey. Food was great. Enjoyed chatting with the people in the gallery about the area and travel suggestions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quite a Combo - Food & Art with a View”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stopped into this VERY nice gallery to check out the local artisan presentations. What really got our attention were the buildings - these are 3 wooden holding tanks artfully turned into buildings. The interiors are extremely modern with smooth transitions from one 'barrel' to the next - what a great idea.

There were plenty of beautiful items on display - Miller art, glass, wood and a little bit of everything else in between. We bought some 'sweets' and coffee and sat out on the deck overlooking the Pacific - stunning view! Lemon bars and coffee were very good!

If you need a break - this is a good place to pull over and take a breather.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service saved our trip!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Sabrina and the staff at the Big Sur Coast Gallery and Cafe saved our trip! My wife forgot her purse at the cafe and they shipped it to us enroute. They were very professional and great, and not a penny was missing from her purse. The place is great place to stop for a snack and the views too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Follansbee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only stopped for a snack, but go through the shop and up the back scenic route to the upper deck. Get a table by the rail and look out over the ocean. This place is worth a stop just for photo ops. Very Kitchey

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Decent.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ok sandwich and tea. Good pate plate. Nice spot. Pricey like most of Big Sur, but not pretentious. Nice patio above the road, with a good view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvlatitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Sur Coast Gallery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Coast Gallery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing