We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

The Restaurant at Ventana
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Restaurant at Ventana is situated 1200 feet above the rugged Big Sur coast with views of the Pacific Ocean. The culinary team is lead by Executive Chef Paul Corsentino, who uses only the freshest, organic ingredients to create simple cuisine with vibrant flavors. His menus are driven by his commitment to supporting the local farming community. Chef Corsentino's experience is brought to life in each daily menu he creates. Chef and his team are known for daring and diverse foods with inventive recipes both comforting and decadent, offering something for every palate. A locally inspired, sommelier selected wine list offers many options for food and wine pairings. Seasonal cocktails and California craft beers are available to enjoy in the cozy lounge area or outdoors next to the grand fireplace.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the resort, so out of convenience figured we'd just eat at the hotel. Given the resort, we should have known the restaurant would be just as nice. It was one of my most memorable meals. We sat on the patio - this is a must. The views are amazing and the area was mosquito free! Unless it is raining, please sit outside. The service was wonderful and the food was fabulous. We had the four course dinner which is too much food - I'd suggest the three courses or a la carte. The food was fresh and flavorful. The pace of the meal was delightful. The wait staff was very attentive. Just perfect!

I'd skip the bread pudding, but I only say that because I have high expectations when it comes to dessert and I was full. You'll enjoy your experience and meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lap4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We appreciate the kind words regarding your experience while dining with us. So glad you were able to enjoy the outdoor venue and take in the beautiful sights and sounds of Ventana. Our team looks forward to your next visit!

Sincerely

Ron Boehm
Director of Bars and Restaurants
Ventana Big Sur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    134
    61
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Select Seasonal Resort Dining.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A spacious, gracious dining venue providing excellent in-resort dining offering a seasonal 4-course Tasting Menu for $70, which you really should order (but whose selections may also be ordered a la carte.), especially after whipping up a hearty appetite from your discovery nature walk of the resort's expansive secluded, arboreal premises, inhaling the brisk air breezing in from the adjacent ocean.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rajamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventana M, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, 29 November 2016
Thank you for joining us for Lunch, we are glad to read that our food and service was of your liking, we look forward to host you again.

Best Regards
MF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The service was a little iffy, waiters kept forgetting things and we had to ask for things like water and bread, but it was still very good, and the food was fresh and tasty. Lovely views across the pacific.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello

We thank you for your kind feedback. Our apology for the unfortunate circumstances regarding missing some of the service points. We will use this as a way to improve ourselves for the future. Glad to hear you enjoyed the food prepared by our culinary team. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards- Ron Boehm, Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Four Thumbs Up”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

As we (two couples on a CA vacation) were staying across the road at the Post Ranch Inn, we decided that dinner for night number two should be here. (Dined at Sierra Mar on night number one with mixed reviews.) We chose to dine on the outdoor patio and surprising to us all (not quite sure why the surprise) we had one of the best meals of the vacation. Perhaps the selections matched our tastebuds that night, but we found dinner to be an all around delight. Service was just attentive enough and the Amish pork entree will remain in my entree memory collection as a contender. We did not come for the view as much as the food - as nothing could surpass the view from Sierra Mar. While the patio was highly populated (but not densely so), the dining room had one active table. However, it was attractive and likely a haven in colder weather.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Our team appreciates the wonderful feedback that you provided regarding your recent dining experience. Glad you got to experience the ambiance of the outdoor terrace. Even better to hear the menu choices were enjoyed by all. We look forward to your next visit upon your return to Big Sur!
Kind Regards- Ron Boehm, Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Visiting Carmel we decided to take a drive to Big Sur. The Restaurant at Ventana Inn was recommended. As we drove down the Pacific Coast Highway South from Carmel, we missed the entrance. It winds high up in the cliffs above Big Sur. We went for lunch and split the Big Sur Burger. It was delicious. We also had wine, what else? The service was quite slow. Grace had many tables to attend to and it was quite busy, but she did a great job. Definitely worth the trip. It was also cool so would recommend a light sweater or jacket.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shayne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Manager at The Restaurant at Ventana, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for the kind words about our team member, Grace. We are glad to hear she was able to manage your experience and provide the best service possible. We are currently working with our team in the hopes to expedite more timely service. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards - Ron Boehm, Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Ventana also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing