We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place for a "Big Sur experience"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a "Big Sur experience"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Staying the night in Cabin #8, we enjoyed the spectacular view out over the coast. We arrived around 5 PM, which gave us ample time to settle in and enjoy the spectacular surroundings. Check the weather report and monitor that "marine layer". I felt bad for those who arrived late that evening, because thick fog rolled in just before sunset around 9 PM, totally obstructing the view, and not lifting by the time we left the following morning at 9:30 AM.
Nonetheless, we loved the little cabin with it's vaulted ceiling, nice living area and small bathroom. No modern hotel here, but we liked the serenity of the area and appreciated not having TV or phone to interrupt the calm. Some couples also staying the night walked down to a meadow below, yet still quite high above the beach, where they lounged in the sun while reading or picnicking. We chose to join the friendly squirrel outside our room who happily snacked on tidbits left from the previous guests while we sat peacefully in the old adirondack chairs provided. We admired the gorgeous outlook while listening to the waves crash far below.
Just off Highway 1, and a bit of a walk from the store and restaurant, the separate cabins were far enough away from the road so that I don't recall hearing much traffice noise at all while in the cabin. We enjoyed peaceful and uninterrupted sleep. The adjoining rooms were much closer and just below the road. Theirs may have been a noisier experience but I can't say for sure
Next morning, breakfast was more than adequate; we also appreciated the coffee and tea available to us whenever the store and office were open that morning as well as the evening before.
Because of location, location, location, this prime real estate and view cost a pretty penny. Even though spartan and quaint, I am glad we splurged and stayed here instead of in a cheaper but predictable chain hotel room up the road in Monterey somewhere. I have wanted to stay along the coast of Big Sur for YEARS and am so glad I finally was able to do so.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabins, rathert han the adjoining room closer to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcbill58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    143
    48
    26
    22
See reviews for
39
278
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The location is perfect for an overnight stop on the drive from San Francisco. We were lucky to find availability, with a few exceptions the rooms were sold out for weeks, .

Our mountain view room was clean an big enough for two persons. The bathroom had a tub and shower. Overall the place was well maintained and clean. The bed was very comfortable. As there are plenty of places to linger and watch the scenery around the cabins, I wouldn't see the need to pay extra for the ocean view room.

There's an restaurant on the premise serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu was varied and priced as most other restaurants along Hwy 1. Food was good, but it's not the highlight at this place.

There's also a small convenient store on site, from which got items to make a picnic lunch.

Contrary to what the advertising says, there actually is a guest wifi. Because the wifi connects through a satelite link, speed is limited but we found it reliable and fast enough for web browsing and catching up on news and e-mail. There are no TV's and we didn't get cellphone reception.

Lucia Lodge may be off the grid, we didn't feel we lacked anything. We would definetely stop here again.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms will still give you access to the same great view as the more expensive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages. It was charming - decorated very nicely. Comfortable bed and sofa with a gas fireplace. The only slight inconvenience was the size of the bathroom. Although it was adequate, there wasn't space to put your toiletry bags down on any surface except the closed toilet. This is a place to enjoy nature - so put away your computer here - no TV, and the internet was spotty, but who needs it! Outside of our door, there were 2 Adirondack chairs just inviting you to sit a spell and enjoy the nearby view of the flower covered hill or the rocky coves of the Pacific Ocean. A great place to sit and sip your morning tea. Breakfast was included at the restaurant, and it was very good. Fresh fruit and baked goods, not prepackaged goods, with plenty of choices of hot beverages- coffee, tea, hot cider, hot chocolate. The breakfast area was clean and tidy and they kept it stocked.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEMfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Drive North on Hwy 1 and you can miss the lodge. Pictures are deceiving because the rooms are a walk along the highway from the restaurant and store. The staff is helpful. They advertise free wireless internet but it's not reliable because they get it via satellite. It is shared as well so if you need reliable access this won't work for you. The view is breathtaking from the 4 cottages closest to the cliff edge. The restaurant is expensive but the dinner was delicious. (crab cakes and salmon) The included breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. There is nothing around as far as restaurants and activities go.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to stay in the cabins #7-10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkhamON0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Lucia Lodge is one of the most magical hotels on the planet. The historic rooms and cabins have been impeccably maintained over the years, the staff is humble and extremely hard-working, and the property grounds offer multiple uncrowded views (low guest occupancy often = private benches and chairs for couples) as well as some amazing landscape and lawns (the summer wildflowers and herbs are endless).
HOWEVER, while the dining area is equally spectacular (indoor and outdoor seating), the dinner menu is very overpriced and unfortunately, below average. Breakfast and lunch are definitely safe - breakfast is free for guests and I hear their fish n' chips for lunch are delicious.
I highly recommend having dinner(s) close by at Nepenthe (18 miles north). They have something for everyone http://www.nepenthebigsur.com/

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

With a superb location on a cliff looking over the Pacific Ocean, we tend to forget civilization in this peaceful and cozy place (as well as the price of accommodation). The sunset overlooking the sea seated in front of the cabins is a must.
On my second visit to California I tried to book in advance but Lucia Lodge was fully booked, because there are so few cabins available. Cozy, clean, a bit old-fashioned but charming. We also enjoyed having dinner there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We've stayed several times at Lucia Lodge and will continue to do so while driving slowly along Hwy 1. Love the cliff-side rooms which capture 1930's California. Rustic, and appropriately so, rooms are comfortable. Romantic and peaceful, we linger each morning, leaning on the fence, before reluctantly moseying along.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merryole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
19.1 mi away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
22.5 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
20.7 mi away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Property: Lucia Lodge
Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing